Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lost sound

Default Lost sound

Tumbleweed. System updated within the last week. PC is new. Sound comes from PC sound output to Logitech sound system--when it comes! Was listening to songs on YouTube when one would not play, and now nothing
    from YouTube plays. Tried rebooting, but no help. Is this possibly a Pule Audio problem? Do I need to install some PA app or file to get this back, and if so, what? (I'm new to OpenSUSE, but not to Linux, and I know
    that PA is kind of funky.) All assistance gratefully accepted!
    --doug

Default Re: Lost sound

Quote Originally Posted by dougmack View Post
    Tumbleweed. System updated within the last week. PC is new. Sound comes from PC sound output to Logitech sound system--when it comes! Was listening to songs on YouTube when one would not play, and now nothing
    from YouTube plays. Tried rebooting, but no help. Is this possibly a Pule Audio problem? Do I need to install some PA app or file to get this back, and if so, what? (I'm new to OpenSUSE, but not to Linux, and I know
    that PA is kind of funky.) All assistance gratefully accepted!
    --doug
    Followup: YouTube still no sound, but I put a CD in the CD drive and it plays fine. Now I'm really confused!

Blog Entries

Which browser? The relevant codecs installed?
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

Blog Entries

Further to deano_ferrari's response .... Note that Pulse Audio provides the capability to control sound on a per application basis. So its entirely feasible one can tune their pulse audio such that sound plays from a CD, but will not play from a browser.

The application that many of us use to control sound on a per application basis, is "pulse audio volume control" (pavucontrol). Try installing pulse audio volume control and see if that may be your issue.