Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

  1. #1

    Default Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Hey guys,

    couple questions about the network services with SUSE 13.2. My understanding is that there's wicked, network service, and NetworkManager and the three of these don't play nicely with each other ... after looking around on various threads I think I may have done more damage than good on trying to get my computer to connect to the internet. The background is that i'm trying to get this thing online so that I can run team viewer so a hardware vendor can login to the computer and update a software.

    I feel like every time I try to connect a linux computer to the internet it's a huge hassle and takes half a day ... today is no different ... last time I got this box online I ran the following after messing around with YAST and making sure that the system was setup for DHCP.

    Note that for today's battle the best I was able to do was successfully ping my router, but whenever i tried to ping 8.8.8.8 or other outside ip it would either timeout with nothing or say "host unreachable"

    Code:
    sudo su
    netconfig -f update
    rm /etc/resolv.conf
    rcnetwork restart
    This sequence of updating the network removing the resolv.conf file, and restarting the network got me online. But today when I moved my PC to a different building and tried to plug it in things kind of fell apart. I was reading that wicket was interfering with things and to disable it by checking the status of network.service, and wicked.service, then disabling them and starting NetworkManager:

    Code:
    systemctl is-active network.service && systemctl stop network.service
     systemctl is-active wickedd.service && systemctl stop wickedd.service
     systemctl disable wicked.service
     systemctl --force enable NetworkManager.service
     systemctl start network.service
    Having done this, Network Manager has not helped making connection and I can't seem to go back to getting network.service started:

    Code:
    systemctl start network service
    >Failed to start network.service: Unit network.service failed to load: No Such file or directory 
    rcnetwork restart
    >Failed to restart network.target: Operation refused, unit network.target may be request by dependency only
    doesn't seem good to me.

    Going into Yast -> network devices -> Network Settings I get the following message and am unable to edit any of the network devices:

    WARNING: Network is currently handled by NetworkManager or completely disabled. YaST is unable to configure some options

    also not looking very good ...

    here's some quick info for current ip setup:

    Code:
    ip a
    1: lo: <loopback, up, lower_up> mtu ... unknown group default
         link/looopback 00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
            valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever ...
    
    2: eth0: <BROADCAST, MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 100
           link/ether 00:14:d4:.. brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    ip r
    <no output>


    any thoughts on getting back to square one? from there maybe I can start up with trying to reach the outside network.

    Also - in case you're wondering "why am I running a 3 year old SUSE distro?!" the answer is because this computer lives to run a piece of machinery and the tool company installed a custom and expensive software package on this computer. It typically does just fine not being online and running the tool but we just moved the tool and for whatever reason moving the computer to a new building inadvertently messed up everything (possibly a bad HD) but that's besides the point. Yes we are looking into getting a new computer from the tool manufacturer but for some reason they're telling us they need to get access (through team viewer) to the original software they made otherwise it will cost 3x as much to get a "from scratch" software made. c'est la vie.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,513
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Hi
    So the cable is ok...?

    Just use YaST and wicked and it should be fine with DHCP...

    You need to check the ethernet driver is loaded;

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Network
    Also check the output from the command dmesg and see it's not asking for the likes of firmware.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,927
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    "Host unreachable" means that your configured IP address isn't compatible with the network it's connected to.
    This wouldn't be surprising if you moved between networks and only suspended the machine during your move, you should shutdown the machine completely and power up again in the new network.

    Else, for your machine to pick up new network settings in your new network, you'd have to restart your network service
    Code:
    systemctl restart network.service
    When you open YaST > Network Settings and see the warning that your machine is configured to use Network Manager, that's fine.
    You should know that there are two ways to configure network settings... Wicked (traditional ifup/ifdown) configured using YaST or Network Manager.
    Whichever way you're managing your networking, you should know the Global Options tab in your YaST Network Settings module... to the far left. With that, you can switch between Wicked, Network Manager or no networking and should not be done using the command lines you posted. Usually not important, but the Hostnames tab can sometimes be important but not in the situation you're describing.

    Once you've set up Network Manager to manage your networking,
    You should then look for the Network Manager applet in the "tray" of your Desktop, typically to the far right if your Desktop panel is positioned along the bottom of your screen (most common configuration).
    Click on that to display and configure network connections,
    You probably have at least one and is configured as a DHCP client.

    HTH,
    tsu
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Thanks for the input.

    To answer malcolmlewis' question about the ethernet cable: It should be OK, I literally took the cable out of my other windows desktop (which was getting internet access no problem) and plugged it into the SUSE computer.

    When I run
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Network
    I don't get anything: I'm guessing this means that my ethernet driver is not loaded? Running that without the "grep A3 -Network" query shows a list of the devices and controllers, the only one mentioning ethernet is:

    Code:
    02:08.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corperation NM10/ICH7 Family LAN controller [8066:27dc] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [1-3c:2a22]
    kernel driver in use: e100
    kernel modules: e100
    for the dmesg command - there's a lot of information put out, looking through it the following seem like they might be related but I don't really know, what should I be looking for?

    Code:
    ACPI Exception: AE_NOT_FOUND, While evaluating sleep state [\_S2_] (20140424/hwxface-500)
    ...
    
    acpi PNP0A0b:00: [Firmware Info]: MMCONFIG for domain 0000 [bus 00-3f] only partially covers this bridge 
    ...
    
    pc1 0000:02:08.0: Firmware left e100 interrupts enabled; disabling 
    ...
    That's as much as I could find that seemed related to firmware from the dmesg command.


    Regarding YaST and wicket - when I open YaST I get that error I mentioned (This error was new after I ran the systemctl Force enable NetworkManerger command) on the global options tab for Network setup method I have the following options in the dropdown:

    • Network Services Disabled
    • Wicked Service
    • NetworkManager Service

    I have Enable IPv6 checked

    Under overview I have two devices:

    Code:
    Ethernet Network Card | 170.168.10.66| eth0-save
    NM10/ICH7 Family LAN Controller | DHCP | eth0
    I have no options here to add, edit, or delete the settings of these - it also says "(Not connected)" on the NM10 LAN controller

    I feel like I shot myself in the foot when I ran this set of code:

    Code:
    systemctl is-active network.service && systemctl stop network.service
     systemctl is-active wicked.service && systemctl stop wickedd.service
     systemctl disable wicked.service
     systemctl --force enable NetworkManager.service
     systemctl start network.service
    before I ran this I still could edit stuff under YaST and had network.service, after I ran that I now have NetworkManager.service and network.service seems to be deleted.

    When I run

    Code:
    systemctl restart network.service
    I get
    Code:
    Failed to restart network.service: Unit network.service failed to load: No such file or directory

    @Tsu2

    I did have the machine powered down during the move between buildings but thanks for the info regarding IP address compatibility with my network, I do have a network registration service on my campus which I have to register the device with, maybe that's one piece of the puzzle but I need to fix network.service first. based on the stuff malcolmlewis mentioned I think there's something up with my firmware and eth0 driver which probably needs to be fixed before moving forward.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,513
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by mr4nders0n View Post
    Thanks for the input.

    To answer malcolmlewis' question about the ethernet cable: It should be OK, I literally took the cable out of my other windows desktop (which was getting internet access no problem) and plugged it into the SUSE computer.

    When I run
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Network
    I don't get anything: I'm guessing this means that my ethernet driver is not loaded? Running that without the "grep A3 -Network" query shows a list of the devices and controllers, the only one mentioning ethernet is:

    Code:
    02:08.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corperation NM10/ICH7 Family LAN controller [8066:27dc] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [1-3c:2a22]
    kernel driver in use: e100
    kernel modules: e100
    for the dmesg command - there's a lot of information put out, looking through it the following seem like they might be related but I don't really know, what should I be looking for?

    Code:
    ACPI Exception: AE_NOT_FOUND, While evaluating sleep state [\_S2_] (20140424/hwxface-500)
    ...
    
    acpi PNP0A0b:00: [Firmware Info]: MMCONFIG for domain 0000 [bus 00-3f] only partially covers this bridge 
    ...
    
    pc1 0000:02:08.0: Firmware left e100 interrupts enabled; disabling 
    ...
    That's as much as I could find that seemed related to firmware from the dmesg command.


    Regarding YaST and wicket - when I open YaST I get that error I mentioned (This error was new after I ran the systemctl Force enable NetworkManerger command) on the global options tab for Network setup method I have the following options in the dropdown:

    • Network Services Disabled
    • Wicked Service
    • NetworkManager Service

    I have Enable IPv6 checked

    Under overview I have two devices:

    Code:
    Ethernet Network Card | 170.168.10.66| eth0-save
    NM10/ICH7 Family LAN Controller | DHCP | eth0
    I have no options here to add, edit, or delete the settings of these - it also says "(Not connected)" on the NM10 LAN controller

    I feel like I shot myself in the foot when I ran this set of code:

    Code:
    systemctl is-active network.service && systemctl stop network.service
     systemctl is-active wicked.service && systemctl stop wickedd.service
     systemctl disable wicked.service
     systemctl --force enable NetworkManager.service
     systemctl start network.service
    before I ran this I still could edit stuff under YaST and had network.service, after I ran that I now have NetworkManager.service and network.service seems to be deleted.

    When I run

    Code:
    systemctl restart network.service
    I get
    Code:
    Failed to restart network.service: Unit network.service failed to load: No such file or directory
    Hi
    So it does need firmware;

    Code:
    /sbin/modinfo e100 | egrep "27DC|firmware"
    
    firmware:       e100/d102e_ucode.bin
    firmware:       e100/d101s_ucode.bin
    firmware:       e100/d101m_ucode.bin
    alias:          pci:v00008086d000027DCsv*sd*bc02sc00i*
    Can you check the files exist in the firmware directory;

    Code:
    ls /lib/firmware/e100/
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,927
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Frankly,
    I doubt that you have a firmware issue, if your NIC worked in your original network, then your firmware works.
    Changing to a new network doesn't have anything to do with the basic functionality firmware provides, it's purely a configuration problem.


    Quote Originally Posted by mr4nders0n View Post

    Code:
    sudo su
    netconfig -f update
    rm /etc/resolv.conf
    rcnetwork restart
    The above should be replaced with the following
    Code:
    systemctl restart network.service


    Quote Originally Posted by mr4nders0n View Post

    Code:
    systemctl is-active network.service && systemctl stop network.service
     systemctl is-active wickedd.service && systemctl stop wickedd.service
     systemctl disable wicked.service
     systemctl --force enable NetworkManager.service
     systemctl start network.service
    The above should be replaced by going into YaST > Network Settings,
    Then in the left-most "Global Options" tab select your Choice of Wicked, Network Manager or Network Disabled.


    Quote Originally Posted by mr4nders0n View Post

    Code:
    systemctl start network service
    >Failed to start network.service: Unit network.service failed to load: No Such file or directory 
    rcnetwork restart
    >Failed to restart network.target: Operation refused, unit network.target may be request by dependency only
    Unknown reason for the above error, at least what you posted should not have removed your network.service but if it's missing I'm pretty sure you won't have any kind of networking at all... "network.service" is kind of like a master configuration over several other services.
    Try the following
    Code:
    systemctl status network.service
    and if the above still fails, then run the following command which displays the dependency chain starting with network.service
    Code:
    systemd-analyze critical-chain network.service
    It should resemble the following
    Code:
    # systemd-analyze critical-chain network.target
    The time after the unit is active or started is printed after the "@" character.
    The time the unit takes to start is printed after the "+" character.
    
    
    network.target @31.481s
    └─NetworkManager.service @30.768s +712ms
      └─network-pre.target @30.768s
        └─firewalld.service @17.112s +13.655s
          └─polkit.service @18.674s +5.473s
            └─basic.target @14.884s
              └─paths.target @14.884s
                └─btrfsmaintenance-refresh.path @14.884s
                  └─sysinit.target @14.845s
                    └─sys-fs-fuse-connections.mount @20.579s +9ms
                      └─systemd-modules-load.service @3.006s +867ms
                        └─systemd-journald.socket
                          └─-.slice
    I would also recommend going into the YaST > Network Settings > Global Options tab again as I described above and set Network Manager that way (if necessary, change to something else and then back again to Network Manager) on the chance that your command line attempt to switch from Wicked to NetworkManager might he broken and be reset this way.




    Quote Originally Posted by mr4nders0n View Post

    Code:
    ip a
    1: lo: <loopback, up, lower_up> mtu ... unknown group default
         link/looopback 00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
            valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever ...
    
    2: eth0: <BROADCAST, MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 100
           link/ether 00:14:d4:.. brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    ip r
    <no output>
    The above verifies that your eth networking interface is down which is no surprise.
    Hopefully something I suggested above should have fixed your problem, possibly with a reboot.

    Otherwise,
    At least for the moment I'm almost certain that at least temporarily you can run the following which would bring up your interface... Although it's a Wicked command, it will work even if you're configured to use Network Manager.
    Code:
    ifup eth0
    HTH,
    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,927
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    An additional try which should re-install your networking components and configuration...

    First, make sure you have your OSS and Update repos are configured...
    I assume that you don't have either configured for online sources.
    If you have any questions about configuring your repos, ASK FIRST... Configuring your repos incorrectly can really mess up your machine.
    First disable your existing OSS and OSS-Update repos, they're probably pointing to repos that don't exist anymore... You can do this using YaST or zypper.
    Next,
    Enable the archive online repos for 13.2 by running the following commands (assuming you're running 64bit), and accept the GPG keys
    Code:
    zypper ar https://ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/opensuse/di...d/update/13.2/ archive_13.2_OSS_Update
    Followed by a refresh to verify your repos are configured properly and working
    Code:
    zypper ref
    Note that the repos are not configured to auto-refresh, there is no point to updating your system regularly since 13.2 is past EOL.

    When your repos are working,
    Now you can re-install your networking components with the following
    Code:
    zypper in -f yast2-network
    If successful, your networking will now be re-installed with the 13.2 default settings, which means it's set to use Wicked for managing Networking. If you're going to continue using eth0, then you may want to keep using Wicked, it's simpler to use than Network Manager, you just go into YaST and instead of the Global Settings tab, edit your Device to have a DHCP configuration... and you're done.

    Else,
    If you want to go back to using Network Manager,
    Then you'll want to use Network Manager, then as described above use the Global Settings tab to switch over instead of the command lines you tried.
    Then, exit YaST and find the Network Manager applet in your panel tray, click on it and create a Network Connection, make sure it's configured as a DHCP client and perhaps set it to connect as a system (bootup) service instead of connecting when you logon, and you'll be working.

    HTH,
    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    So it does need firmware;

    Code:
    /sbin/modinfo e100 | egrep "27DC|firmware"
    
    firmware:       e100/d102e_ucode.bin
    firmware:       e100/d101s_ucode.bin
    firmware:       e100/d101m_ucode.bin
    alias:          pci:v00008086d000027DCsv*sd*bc02sc00i*
    Can you check the files exist in the firmware directory;

    Code:
    
    ls /lib/firmware/e100/

    Here is what I found:

    Code:
    modinfo e100 | egrep "27DC|firmware"
    
    >firmware: e100/d102e_ucode.bin
    >firmware: e100/d101s_ucode.bin
    >firmware: e100/d101m_ucode.bin
    >alias:          pci:v00008086d000027DCsv*sd*bc02sc00i*
    However, to your point I don't think the firmware files are actually there:

    Code:
    ls /lib/firmware/e100
    <no result>
    Where can I get the firmware files? seems like I need those three d102, d101, etc?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,513
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by mr4nders0n View Post
    Here is what I found:

    Code:
    modinfo e100 | egrep "27DC|firmware"
    
    >firmware: e100/d102e_ucode.bin
    >firmware: e100/d101s_ucode.bin
    >firmware: e100/d101m_ucode.bin
    >alias:          pci:v00008086d000027DCsv*sd*bc02sc00i*
    However, to your point I don't think the firmware files are actually there:

    Code:
    ls /lib/firmware/e100
    <no result>
    Where can I get the firmware files? seems like I need those three d102, d101, etc?
    Hi
    They may be in a different directory in the 13.2 kernel.

    Try;

    Code:
    find /lib/firmware/ -name "d10*.bin"
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10

    Default Re: Need some help with network setup and internet access SUSE 13.2

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    They may be in a different directory in the 13.2 kernel.

    Try;

    Code:
    find /lib/firmware/ -name "d10*.bin"

    You are right - I found the d101m, d101s, and d102e files in:

    Code:
    /lib/firmware/3.16.7-42-default/e100
    and

    the remaining d10XX_ucode.bin files in:

    Code:
    /lib/firmware/3.16.2-default/e100
    So since they're not missing are they in the wrong location?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •