Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Latte panel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Latte panel

    I like the look of Latte because of the parabolic effect when you mouse over the icons in the panel. This is the second time I've downloaded it and still cannot get it to work. Not only does the parabolic effect not work, but the transparency effect fails as well. Some options are greyed out, so I can't attempt to use those to change the look. I've looked at a couple of youtube videos for instruction, but they are pitiful and offer no help.

    Has anyone gotten this to work? I'm using the Plasma desktop and that is one of the options in configuring the panel. But it doesn't get me where I want to go.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,293
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Can't say about the parabolic effect,
    But effects like transparency/opaqueness typically rely on capabilities and textures provided by the capabilities of your GPU (The rule of thumb is that the CPU provides the polygon framework and the GPU provides the textures that fill in the polygons).

    You might want to consider the proprietary vs community driver if your GPU is an ATI or nVidia...
    Or, take a look at the tools available for managing whatever driver you're using, enable the effects you want and verify those effects are available (maybe run benchmark tests or other apps that might use that same effect?) Verify OpenGL and perhaps 3D effects.

    Is this the first time you're trying to implement on this system or has it worked before?

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: Latte panel

    I've tried Latte once before. It didn't work and I uninstalled it. I saw a video showing an install of Latte and I thought I would try again. Without the parabolic and transparency effects, there is not much to recommend it. If I can get my old dock back, I will probably uninstall it again.

    My video is Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller. The driver is i915. OpenGL is up to date and I see nowhere to check on the status of 3D. Of course, my skills are limited!
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,852
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Latte panel

    I have it working. I set the basics to Plasma5. Then used the Dock's settings advanced mode to tweak things. F.e. Appearance - Applets where the hover setting resides.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    I have it working. I set the basics to Plasma5. Then used the Dock's settings advanced mode to tweak things. F.e. Appearance - Applets where the hover setting resides.
    I saw Plasma as an option but not Plasma5. Do I download it from somewhere? Also, are you happy with it?
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,852
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Prexy View Post
    I saw Plasma as an option but not Plasma5. Do I download it from somewhere? Also, are you happy with it?
    You're right, it's called Plasma. I installed it from the stock repos. And yes, I'm happy with it, combined with the global menu plasmoid.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Still not working. The BACKGROUND option is dimmed. It is ON but I can't get to it to turn it off, hoping that gives transparency. I guess the issue is Intel video driver.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,852
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Prexy View Post
    Still not working. The BACKGROUND option is dimmed. It is ON but I can't get to it to turn it off, hoping that gives transparency. I guess the issue is Intel video driver.
    FWIW, Intel video here too. If you want I can share my ~/.config/latte* through my Nextcloud instance.

    EDIT: https://cloud.knurpht.nl/s/fdfzdZeDLFeAcGW
    Last edited by Knurpht; 06-Jul-2019 at 14:49.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Your compositing is disabled you must reenable it from plasma systemsettings, screens

    All animations and transparency effects rely on X11 compositing

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: Latte panel

    Quote Originally Posted by psifidotos View Post
    Your compositing is disabled you must reenable it from plasma systemsettings, screens

    All animations and transparency effects rely on X11 compositing
    Thanks! That's what it was. I still have to tweak it to look its best. For one thing, the resolution on the icons is reduced. I like the disappearing dock when you have a full screen window open. I suppose that would work with the regular panel/dock, but now that I see it, I prefer it.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •