Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    555

    Default Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    On my HP Compaq DC7700 CMT Desktop, Leap 15.1.
    It is a smb(samba?) connection.

    Windows accesses it fine, and work(ed) on one of the laptops with Leap 15.1.

    I don't remember the last time I accessed it on this desktop machine.

    I fear not getting a connection at all if I take it out set it up again to see what happens.

    Firewall looks OK, so I don't think it is there.
    Where to look for help with this sort of problem?

    TIA Bill_L
    Last edited by malcolmlewis; 01-Jul-2019 at 16:13.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    On my HP Compaq DC7700 CMT Desktop, Leap 15.1.
    It is a smb(samba?) connection.

    Windows accesses it fine, and work(ed) on one of the laptops with Leap 15.1.

    I don't remember the last time I accessed it on this desktop machine.

    I fear not getting a connection at all if I take it out set it up again to see what happens.

    Firewall looks OK, so I don't think it is there.
    Where to look for help with this sort of problem?

    TIA Bill_L
    Hi
    Possibly security changes... can you ping the ip address, can you try connecting from the command line client and add debug...

    Code:
    ping <smb_device_ip_address>
    smbclient -d 3 -L //smb_device_ip_address
    Last edited by malcolmlewis; 01-Jul-2019 at 16:14. Reason: Fix typo in Title
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Possibly security changes... can you ping the ip address, can you try connecting from the command line client and add debug...

    Code:
    ping <smb_device_ip_address>
    The ping starts and basically stops with no other pings: (I stopped the process after 6 minutes.)
    Code:
    ping 172.27.35.60
    PING 172.27.35.60 (172.27.35.60) 56(84) bytes of data.
    
    Code:
     smbclient -d 3 -L //smb_device_ip_address
    [/QUOTE]
    This is output. It errors on do_connect
    Code:
    smbclient -d 3 -L //127.27.35.60
    lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
    Initialising global parameters
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[global]"
    directory_create_or_exist_strict: invalid ownership on directory /var/lib/samba/lock/msg.lock
    cmdline_messaging_context: Unable to initialize messaging context.
    Unable to initialize messaging context
    lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
    Initialising global parameters
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[global]"
    added interface eth0 ip=192.168.1.4 bcast=192.168.1.255 netmask=255.255.255.0
    Client started (version 4.9.5-git.149.9593f64a5c3lp151.1.3-SUSE-oS15.0-x86_64).
    Connecting to 127.27.35.60 at port 445
    Connecting to 127.27.35.60 at port 139
    do_connect: Connection to 127.27.35.60 failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    The ping starts and basically stops with no other pings: (I stopped the process after 6 minutes.)
    Code:
    ping 172.27.35.60
    PING 172.27.35.60 (172.27.35.60) 56(84) bytes of data.
    
    Code:
     smbclient -d 3 -L //smb_device_ip_address
    This is output. It errors on do_connect
    Code:
    smbclient -d 3 -L //127.27.35.60
    lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
    Initialising global parameters
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[global]"
    directory_create_or_exist_strict: invalid ownership on directory /var/lib/samba/lock/msg.lock
    cmdline_messaging_context: Unable to initialize messaging context.
    Unable to initialize messaging context
    lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
    Initialising global parameters
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[global]"
    added interface eth0 ip=192.168.1.4 bcast=192.168.1.255 netmask=255.255.255.0
    Client started (version 4.9.5-git.149.9593f64a5c3lp151.1.3-SUSE-oS15.0-x86_64).
    Connecting to 127.27.35.60 at port 445
    Connecting to 127.27.35.60 at port 139
    do_connect: Connection to 127.27.35.60 failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
    [/QUOTE]
    Hi
    If you can't ping, sure it's not a cable issue or the system is off?

    PS 127 should be 172
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    If you can't ping, sure it's not a cable issue or the system is off?

    PS 127 should be 172
    Yeah I realized that after I posted, and the system would not let me edit by the time I got back to it.

    AND> I should have done a Router check first! DUH!.
    IP changed to 172.27.35.12
    I don't know when!
    So I modified the /remote location smb pointer and It now connects. Gonna HAVE to recheck the laptops.
    (Gotta start lookin' before I jump in with both feet)
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Bummer! I think I should be able to give reputation points every time you ior someone else helps me!
    Just sayin......
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Yeah I realized that after I posted, and the system would not let me edit by the time I got back to it.

    AND> I should have done a Router check first! DUH!.
    IP changed to 172.27.35.12
    I don't know when!
    So I modified the /remote location smb pointer and It now connects. Gonna HAVE to recheck the laptops.
    (Gotta start lookin' before I jump in with both feet)
    Hi
    It happens I would suggest configuring your router for just a small range of DHCP addresses and then configuring things like a NAS, printer etc with fixed ip addresses, then you don't stirke issues like that. Give them friendly names in the /etc/hosts file and all should be good... In your router you may even be able to disk out ip address based on the MAC address of the device.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    It happens I would suggest configuring your router for just a small range of DHCP addresses and then configuring things like a NAS, printer etc with fixed ip addresses, then you don't stirke issues like that. Give them friendly names in the /etc/hosts file and all should be good... In your router you may even be able to disk out ip address based on the MAC address of the device.
    I'm not sure I can do that(even if I knew how). And looking at the router settings I don't see DHCP configuration.just that it is there, and it is on.
    The Netgear R7000 Blackhawk has some(IMO) weird things in it, hard to find what I'm looking for, and NOT very user friendly.

    Under the LAN settings, I see this:
    Code:
    x Use Router as DHCP Server
    Starting IP Address 192.168.1.2
    Ending IP Address 192.168.1.254
    But the printer is on the 172.27.35.12 IP address.
    So, I set the 'ending DHCP to 192.168.1.20 and I should be able to avoid some of that problem?
    Then figure out hot to set them in the /etc/hosts file.

    EDIT>>
    I installed and ran ifconfig -a and the network storage drive is not listed.
    Code:
     ifconfig -a
    eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
            inet 192.168.1.4  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
            inet6 fe80::2f14:10ca:143b:ebac  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
            ether 00:e0:53:16:10:63  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
            RX packets 957313  bytes 1358829016 (1.2 GiB)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 604184  bytes 53826225 (51.3 MiB)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
    
    
    eth1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
            ether 00:0f:fe:50:a6:e5  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
            RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
            device interrupt 19  memory 0xf8400000-f8420000  
    
    
    lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
            inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
            loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
            RX packets 44  bytes 3416 (3.3 KiB)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 44  bytes 3416 (3.3 KiB)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
    AFAIK eth1 is not active as I use a PCI card for Ethernet on this PC. I don't what the "lo' is, but it is doing something, RX and TX packet counts.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    I'm not sure I can do that(even if I knew how). And looking at the router settings I don't see DHCP configuration.just that it is there, and it is on.
    The Netgear R7000 Blackhawk has some(IMO) weird things in it, hard to find what I'm looking for, and NOT very user friendly.

    Under the LAN settings, I see this:
    Code:
    x Use Router as DHCP Server
    Starting IP Address 192.168.1.2
    Ending IP Address 192.168.1.254
    But the printer is on the 172.27.35.12 IP address.
    So, I set the 'ending DHCP to 192.168.1.20 and I should be able to avoid some of that problem?
    Then figure out hot to set them in the /etc/hosts file.
    Hi
    Then your getting your dhcp addresses (or are you setting static ip addresses?) via another source on your network..... do you have other routers in your network?

    Perhaps an audit of all your devices, check the ip address, netmask, gateway and dns server addresses....
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Network external hard drive - 'Time out on server' error when trying to connect

    I’m not on that machine right now, but I ran ‘arp -e’ and it came back with one Ethernet connection, and had a ‘HWinfo’ column that looked like a MAC address. Not sure it was however, as the number didn’t match either of the ‘MAC address’ in the ‘ifconfig -a’ as shown above.

    @malcomlewis, I will get there! I still want to learn.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •