Thread: Options for running windows within opensuse leap

Default Options for running windows within opensuse leap

Hi All,

First off thank you in advance for your support here. Wanted to point out that I'm new to linux, so please bare with me. If you do decide to help me out, please explain in plan english as I'm still trying understand the linux world.

Anyhow, it is extremely important to me that I am able to run windows within Linux here as I have some applications that only run in Windows. I do currently have my system to boot up in dual boot, but I hate having to restart my computer to get back into windows. Just annoying.

So after some research, I have come to find that the top three options to run windows on linux are :Virtualbox, VMWare and KVM. From my understanding, running KVM seems like the best option as its closer to the hardware, correct me if I'm wrong here. I'll have a need to install Windows 7, Windows 10, and other linux distros. Recently, I installed Windows 7 through KVM, but is so choppy and lagging. Not sure if I need to make a configuration change here to make this work smoother or if its like this.

My question really is if one the options (Virtualbox, VMWare and KVM) is better than the other? What are ya'lls experience with this? I have read some online articles, but it seems like they are so old and dated back to 2012 to 2015. I'm sure these products have come a long way since then. Really trying to find the best option possible.

Your feedback and help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    AJ

Blog Entries

Default Re: Options for running windows within opensuse leap

Hi,