Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: No sound output through HDMI

  1. #1

    Default No sound output through HDMI

    Hi, my problem is not new here, I've seen the other topics, still haven't found the solution.
    There is no audio output through TV speakers when the laptop is connected with HDMI.
    The cable could not be broken, I've checked it had worked with Windows 10 on the same laptop.

    I've installed pavucontrol, tried to change the output to HDMI, no result.
    Here what ALSA says:
    Code:
    aleksandr@aleksandr-pc:~> aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC3227 Analog [ALC3227 Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    My video configuration is the following:
    Code:
    00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Carrizo [1002:9874] (rev c8)
            Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:8332]
            Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
            Kernel modules: amdgpu
    According to https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...I-Audio-Output I've added radeon.audio=1 optional kernel command line parameter in YAST boot loader and pressed OK. Still no results.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,650

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Change to bootloader requires q reboot to take effect

  3. #3

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Change to bootloader requires q reboot to take effect
    How do I do that? Press Ok in YAST, reboot my PC after? Could you please explain?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,650

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Change to the boot loader only take effect when the boot loader runs again and uses those option. the only time the boot loader runs is when you boot


    So make the change and reboot

    Note have no idea if that will fix the problem but but without a boot any change to the boot loader does nothing to the running system.

  5. #5

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Change to the boot loader only take effect when the boot loader runs again and uses those option. the only time the boot loader runs is when you boot


    So make the change and reboot

    Note have no idea if that will fix the problem but but without a boot any change to the boot loader does nothing to the running system.
    Sure, I've made the change a long time ago, rebooted many times since then. The problem still exists after all.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Perhaps show the output of the following
    Code:
    pacmd list sinks
    and current mixer settings for your HDMI card...
    Code:
    amixer -c0
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Perhaps show the output of the following
    Code:
    pacmd list sinks
    and current mixer settings for your HDMI card...
    Code:
    amixer -c0
    The first command output: https://pastebin.com/2006KVhN

    The second:
    Code:
    aleksandr@aleksandr-pc:~> amixer -c0
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [on]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by Alekssan View Post
    The first command output: https://pastebin.com/2006KVhN
    That output reports that the current profile for card 0 is...
    Code:
    active profile: <output:hdmi-stereo>
    which is a good sign at least.
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 05-Jul-2019 at 18:33. Reason: Correction
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,523
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    You have some very good people helping you in this thread ... so I am reluctant to 'jump in'. Still, it would provide more visibility into your system if you ran a diagnostic script, such that we could understand where the problem is located ? With alsa driver ? With alsa configuration ? With pulse audio ? With a mixer ?

    To help localize this, it would help me understand better (so to help you), and maybe help others on this thread, if you ran a diagnostic script, which might answer some of the above questions, such that focussed advice/recommendations can be given.

    To run the script, with PC connected to the Internet, HDMI to your TV, as a regular user in an xterm, copy and paste the following to run the script :
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    Select the "UPLOAD/SHARE" option. Let the script run to completion. When it is complete, you will see in the 'xterm' the text: "Your ALSA information is located at ..... < some http address > ... ".

    Please post that http address here.

    = = =

    Also, in ADDITION to the above, please try this test (I am using previous information you provided to produce this). Try as both a regular user, and as root, copying the command into an xterm :
    Code:
    aplay -D plughw:0,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    The above is intended by me to test at the 'alsa' level but with pulse audio involved possibly.

    If that produces no sound, try this test (which is intended to disable pulse audio for the one command):
    Code:
    pasuspender -- aplay -D plughw:0,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    Please advise of any errors. Note in the above, I am assuming your HDMI is : hw:0,3 . Of course if that is not the HDMI device then there will be no sound.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No sound output through HDMI

    Yes, I advise to dig deeper with the diagnostic output as requested by oldcpu.

    I'm surprised not to see a master volume control. Try...
    Code:
    amixer scontents
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •