Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    193

    Default plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    When I start or reboot the pc, plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu and must be killed and restarted. After restarting however, it's normal. What could be the cause?

    This starting happening after a recent update. I'm not sure what got updated but it's probably a good guess that plasma did get updated. Anyway else running into this issue?

    My system is:
    LEAP 42.3
    KDE plasma 5.8.7
    KDE frameworks 5.32.0
    Qt 5.6.2

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,559

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    From a VT (tty1 through to tty6), without being logged in to a KDE Plasma session:
    1. try clearing the user's ~/.cache/ directory;
    2. check for files belonging to the KDE Plasma user in /tmp/ and /var/tmp/ and remove them as needed – leave any temporary files needed by the user's applications;
    3. check and clean-up as needed the user's KDE4 files and links in ~/.kde/.

    Once the user's KDE Plasma session is up and running again, the user should perform some housekeeping on their Akonadi database:
    Code:
     > akonadictl fsck
     > akonadictl vacuum
     > akonadictl fsck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    193

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    Thanks. I'll give that a try. I'll post my results when I have a chance to work on it (busy this weekend).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,267

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    Quote Originally Posted by ccin1492 View Post
    ... I'm not sure what got updated but it's probably a good guess that plasma did get updated. ...
    You can check what packages were updated by:

    YaST -> Software Management -> Extras -> Show History

    or looking directly at the log file:

    /var/log/zypp/history


    In addition to @dcurtisfra's comments, you may want to check to see if the problem is also affecting a new user, to establish whether it is system-wide or user specific.

    As an aside, if you're not aware, 42.3 is end-of-life June 30 2019 ( https://en.opensuse.org/Lifetime ), you may want to consider upgrading.
    Regards, Paul

    2x Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20191016) KDE Plasma 5
    2x Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    193

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    Thanks for the suggestions. I wanted to give a quick update. I tried both suggestions (except the cleaning the Akonadi database because I don't know what that is) without success. I even removed the .kde folder completely and that didn't even work. After I updated to 15.1 and still had the issue I went ahead and created a new user. The new user did not have the issue so at least I've isolated the problem to the user.

    The question is now how can I reset my old user account to new? I guess I can move my personal folders to another location delete the user and then create it again. Is that the cleanest way?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    1,003

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    Quote Originally Posted by ccin1492 View Post
    Thanks for the suggestions. I wanted to give a quick update. I tried both suggestions (except the cleaning the Akonadi database because I don't know what that is) without success. I even removed the .kde folder completely and that didn't even work. After I updated to 15.1 and still had the issue I went ahead and created a new user. The new user did not have the issue so at least I've isolated the problem to the user.

    The question is now how can I reset my old user account to new? I guess I can move my personal folders to another location delete the user and then create it again. Is that the cleanest way?
    You can keep the user and delete storage only.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,699

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    Deleting content of ~/.cache/ and p* and k* from ~/.config/ might be all that needs doing. This smaller deletion would preserve lots of non-Plasma settings kept in ~/.config/. I would try first only deleting ~/.cache/ content and try logging in, then ~/.config/ too only if ~/.cache/ wasn't enough . All these deletions must be done while not logged into a Plasma session.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    1,003

    Default Re: plasmashell hangs at 100% cpu after startup

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Deleting content of ~/.cache/ and p* and k* from ~/.config/ might be all that needs doing. This smaller deletion would preserve lots of non-Plasma settings kept in ~/.config/. I would try first only deleting ~/.cache/ content and try logging in, then ~/.config/ too only if ~/.cache/ wasn't enough . All these deletions must be done while not logged into a Plasma session.
    What I actually did several times since 1995: rename home directory and create an empty one. Hunting for stale configuration files can be time consuming compared to copying back from renamed directory when desirable.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •