Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Signature verification for repo nvidia failed

Hybrid View

Default Signature verification for repo nvidia failed

I recently installed tumbleweed and after installing the nvidia repo to get the latest nvidia drivers, I am constantly getting a warning that day 'Update error: signature verification for repo nvidia failed.

It shows up on the bottom right side of my task bar throughout the day. I have been dismissing it, but its just becoming annoying.

Any ideas on how I can resolve this issue?

FYI: I am still new to linux, so will need detailed instructions on what to do.

screenshot --> https://paste.opensuse.org/44954792

Thank you,
    AJ

Default Re: Signature verification for repo nvidia failed

Don't use the updater applet with Tumbleweed - it *will* cause problems at some point.

The only correct way to update is by "zypper dup" preferably (to be safe) from the command line whilst logged out from KDE.

You can follow the mailing list at https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-factory/ to see when new snapshots are issued.

How did you add the nvidia repository, via yast2 Software Management?

Do you get the signature verification error if you attempt a "zypper dup"?
    Regards, Paul

Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190918) KDE Plasma 5
    Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected
    2x Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5

Hi Paul.

Thanks for getting back to me. Actually, I installed the nvidia drivers by going to https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us. From here I selected by graphics card and then installed the drivers.

After I did though, I can tell that my displays are great now. Should I have installed some other way?

- AJ

Be aware that installing manually as you did after any kernel updates the NVIDIA driver must be reinstalled manually. Getting the driver from the NVIDIA repo and it will be auto reinstalled.

Quote Originally Posted by aj_suse View Post
    Should I have installed some other way?