Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pulse audio equalizer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default pulse audio equalizer

    I need to open the audio volume settings and on the applications tab switch from the default to the equalizer manually after opening and activating the equalizer itself which is kind of inconvenient. I'm wondering if there is any way to avoid this and have the system switch to the eq automatically when I turn it on.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,372
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Just in case this answers your question...
    https://askubuntu.com/questions/1063...r-all-programs
    Adjust the eq sliders to the preferences that suit you or select a preset. Select the Apply button. Put a checkmark in Enable EQ and Keep Settings. This should keep the eq alive and active for browsers and players.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Yeah...no...sorry. Already did all that but still have to choose it from volume control applications tab every time in Kde for it to activate eq, At least if I restart the system. Thanks for reply though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,742

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Clear ~/.cache may help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Nope. Didna work. It strikes me as a default Kde configuration that says to work you have to specifically tell phonon or something. I can live with it. Just inconvenient.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,372
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    Nope. Didna work. It strikes me as a default Kde configuration that says to work you have to specifically tell phonon or something. I can live with it. Just inconvenient.
    Does removing the existing user PA configuration (~/.config/pulse/) then configuring PA volume control again help at all?
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,372
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    Nope. Didna work. It strikes me as a default Kde configuration that says to work you have to specifically tell phonon or something. I can live with it. Just inconvenient.
    Might need a bug report to help progress this (based on your findings).
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    I cannot tell a lie. No it didn't

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,372
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    I cannot tell a lie. No it didn't
    I wasn't optimistic either. As you mentioned it may well be KDE-specific ----> bug report.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  10. #10

    Default Re: pulse audio equalizer

    Two months ago... But: in System Parameters open Multimedia and choose Audio and Video. There will be a tab Device Priority. In the right list move the equalizer device up to increase its priority. For Audio, Video and so on. Now the system won't switch to the default device any more.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •