Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Google Chrome repo error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    601

    Default Google Chrome repo error

    I added the Chrome repo following instructions on this site https://www.linuxbabe.com/desktop-li...suse-leap-42-1

    I know it says leap 42.1, but it should work for Leap 15.1 right? It did for leap 15.
    It is after the
    Code:
    zypper ref
    instruction that the error first occurs.
    The repo is added to the YaST list.

    Then subsequently in YaST, the following error messages popup.

    I get this error
    Code:
    File repomd.xml from repository Google-Chrome
    http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/x86_64
    is signed with the following GnuPG key, but the integrity check failed: 
    
    ID: 7721F63BD38B4796
    Fingerprint: EB4C 1BFD 4F04 2F6D DDCC EC91 7721 F63B D38B 4796
    Name: Google Inc. (Linux Packages Signing Authority) <linux-packages-keymaster@google.com>
    Created: 04/12/2016
    Expires: Never
    
    The file has been changed, either by accident or by an attacker,
    since the repository creator signed it. Using it is a big risk
    for the integrity and security of your system.
    
    Use it anyway?
    Right or wrong, I answered Yes to that question.

    And this
    Code:
    Cannot access installation media 
    http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/x86_64
     (Medium 1).
    Check whether the server is accessible.
    ??
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,056
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Not much we can do here, Bill. Google needs to fix this. Seeing the same on 15.0, 15.1 and Tumbleweed.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    601

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Not much we can do here, Bill. Google needs to fix this. Seeing the same on 15.0, 15.1 and Tumbleweed.
    Thanks! but bummer! Google will be Google and ne'er shall we ere expect them to do what is right it seems.

    It is odd, that I don't get those PGP key errors on both of the laptops. I will have to look at the laptop installs of Chrome a bit closer.


    If not for the lack of a Flash in chromium, I would have used it, but getting some of the propriety stuff in it is a royal PITA.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,249
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Thanks! but bummer! Google will be Google and ne'er shall we ere expect them to do what is right it seems.

    It is odd, that I don't get those PGP key errors on both of the laptops. I will have to look at the laptop installs of Chrome a bit closer.


    If not for the lack of a Flash in chromium, I would have used it, but getting some of the propriety stuff in it is a royal PITA.
    Hi
    Flash is dead.... what issue are you having... start a new thread on what is not working and links...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    601

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Flash is dead.... what issue are you having... start a new thread on what is not working and links...
    Not having an issue with Flash. I know Flash is pretty well a goner, but there are still places that use it. Most of my banking, my ex-employer, Facebook in some areas, even some online gaming. Places that don't want to pay for the change to HTML5 or other ways of presenting the same things that they do with Flash.

    The issue is Google and it's bad PGP key for it's repository.

    I am wondering if removing the Google Chrome repository and installing(extracting) from the download.will work and eliminate the error every time there is an update?
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,249
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Not having an issue with Flash. I know Flash is pretty well a goner, but there are still places that use it. Most of my banking, my ex-employer, Facebook in some areas, even some online gaming. Places that don't want to pay for the change to HTML5 or other ways of presenting the same things that they do with Flash.

    The issue is Google and it's bad PGP key for it's repository.

    I am wondering if removing the Google Chrome repository and installing(extracting) from the download.will work and eliminate the error every time there is an update?
    Hi
    It should just be a key removal required via YaST, then on the next refresh it should provide the new key for you to add...

    Via YaST -> Software Repositories, bottom right press the GPG Key button and delete the Google one... On next refresh it will retrieve the new key for you to accept.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    601

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    It should just be a key removal required via YaST, then on the next refresh it should provide the new key for you to add...

    Via YaST -> Software Repositories, bottom right press the GPG Key button and delete the Google one... On next refresh it will retrieve the new key for you to accept.
    There were two different keys for the Google Chrome repo, so I deleted them both.
    Properties shown on this page https://www.google.com/linuxrepositories/

    I would have copied them from YaST info, but too quick on the trigger doing what you said.

    We'll see what happens next refresh.
    EDIT>>> I did a manual refresh and it didn't add any keys back in.
    Last edited by Bill_L; 29-May-2019 at 19:19. Reason: added the EDIT line
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,499
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    It should just be a key removal required via YaST, then on the next refresh it should provide the new key for you to add...

    Via YaST -> Software Repositories, bottom right press the GPG Key button and delete the Google one... On next refresh it will retrieve the new key for you to accept.
    IIRC that's not going to address the problem, it's an internal check embedded in the code.
    There are probably 4 Forum threads on this over the past decade, and IIRC one of them even described how to address the problem but it's likely more trouble to remember how to address the problem vs simply ignoring the GPG check which is the usual recommendation.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,249
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    IIRC that's not going to address the problem, it's an internal check embedded in the code.
    There are probably 4 Forum threads on this over the past decade, and IIRC one of them even described how to address the problem but it's likely more trouble to remember how to address the problem vs simply ignoring the GPG check which is the usual recommendation.

    TSU
    Hi
    Not true...

    Code:
    su -
    
    zypper in /data/repositories/Downloads/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm 
    
    The following NEW package is going to be installed:
      google-chrome-stable
    
    1 new package to install.
    Overall download size: 55.7 MiB. Already cached: 0 B. After the operation, additional 196.3 MiB will be used.
    Continue? [y/n/v/...? shows all options] (y): 
    Retrieving package google-chrome-stable-74.0.3729.169-1.x86_64                                                                                            (1/1),  55.7 MiB (196.3 MiB unpacked)
    google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm:
        Header V4 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID 7fac5991: NOKEY
        V4 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID 7fac5991: NOKEY
    
    Looking for gpg key ID 7FAC5991 in cache /var/cache/zypp/pubkeys.
    Repository Plain RPM files cache does not define additional 'gpgkey=' URLs.
    google-chrome-stable-74.0.3729.169-1.x86_64 (Plain RPM files cache): Signature verification failed [4-Signatures public key is not available]
    
    wget https://dl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub
    
    --2019-05-29 21:50:37--  https://dl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub
    Resolving dl.google.com (dl.google.com)... 216.58.194.110, 2607:f8b0:4000:80c::200e
    ...
    2019-05-29 21:50:37 (2.24 MB/s) - ‘linux_signing_key.pub’ saved [8038/8038]
    
    rpm --import linux_signing_key.pub
    
    rpm -qi gpg-pubkey-7fac5991-*
    Name        : gpg-pubkey
    Version     : 7fac5991
    Release     : 4615767f
    Architecture: (none)
    Install Date: Wed May 29 21:50:45 2019
    Group       : Public Keys
    Size        : 0
    License     : pubkey
    Signature   : (none)
    Source RPM  : (none)
    Build Date  : Thu Apr  5 17:21:51 2007
    Build Host  : localhost
    Relocations : (not relocatable)
    Packager    : Google, Inc. Linux Package Signing Key <linux-packages-keymaster@google.com>
    Summary     : gpg(Google, Inc. Linux Package Signing Key <linux-packages-keymaster@google.com>)
    Description :
    -----BEGIN PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
    ...
    -----END PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
    
    Distribution: (none)
    
    rpm --checksig -v /data/repositories/Downloads/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm
    
    /data/repositories/Downloads/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm:
        Header V4 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID 7fac5991: OK
        Header SHA1 digest: OK
        V4 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID 7fac5991: OK
        MD5 digest: OK
    
    zypper in /data/repositories/Downloads/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm 
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    The following NEW package is going to be installed:
      google-chrome-stable
    
    1 new package to install.
    Overall download size: 55.7 MiB. Already cached: 0 B. After the operation, additional 196.3 MiB will be used.
    Continue? [y/n/v/...? shows all options] (y):
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,249
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Google Chrome repo error

    Hi
    The repository gets automatically added via the post process of the rpm install, no need to manually add, it also adds a daily cron job (it should be a systemd service/timer job these days).
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •