Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    558

    Default Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Anyone know if this is doable in Leap 15?
    Lots of web content, but some confusing variations as to if it will or won’t.
    I do know it requires a python setup, and that is part of my confusion.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,655
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Anyone know if this is doable in Leap 15?
    Lots of web content, but some confusing variations as to if it will or won’t.
    I do know it requires a python setup, and that is part of my confusion.
    Hi Bill,

    Re. the HP Aio : Install hplip, then run
    Code:
    su -c hp-setup
    If you want to use it over the network, I suggest the third option, i.e. connecting it through USB, then setup the wifi address. The installer will do the rest. You may need to run YaST > Hardware > Scanner once to activate scanning over the network as well.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,520
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Hi Bill,

    Re. the HP Aio : Install hplip, then run
    Code:
    su -c hp-setup
    If you want to use it over the network, I suggest the third option, i.e. connecting it through USB, then setup the wifi address. The installer will do the rest. You may need to run YaST > Hardware > Scanner once to activate scanning over the network as well.
    Hi
    Umm, that's the users signature....
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,520
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Anyone know if this is doable in Leap 15?
    Lots of web content, but some confusing variations as to if it will or won’t.
    I do know it requires a python setup, and that is part of my confusion.
    Hi
    I have the Galileo app in my Testing repository... it works with the fitbit flex....

    https://bitbucket.org/benallard/galileo/overview

    https://build.opensuse.org/package/s...ESTING/galileo

    I've enabled the Leap 15.0 build for you to try out.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Umm, that's the users signature....
    LOL!... I wondered what the connection was.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    558

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Thanks for the responses.
    I found out I had a python version in the range needed & I found that 'pip' was in Leap 15 already as well.
    So, I installed Galileo using the pip command line found in https://www.thelinuxrain.com/article...x-with-galileo

    Then dug into the Galileo documentation on the https://bitbucket.org/benallard/galileo/overview
    I did the copy thing to the /etc/udev/rules.d directory.

    I root changed the 99-fitbit.rules file per instructions on the Galileo pages) to allow for user privileges on the executable.
    Now to find a way to make it more universal for multiple users.

    There is a reference to something in a 'contrib' directory(I assume in the Galileo somewhere) for systemd that I did not understand.

    It is in and working well as root(and a user), but I had a bit of a problem(still do) understanding how and when it syncs.

    All in all not as bad as I thought it was going to be to get it in and working. This is probably the only thing still needed to get Leap on my wife's laptop! Yah!!
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,655
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Umm, that's the users signature....
    LOL. I love making mistakes like this one
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Fitbit Flex and Galileo

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    LOL. I love making mistakes like this one
    The solution looking for a problem...
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •