openSUSE on Ubuntu host with LXD / LXC

for various reasons I need to move my openSUSE 42.3 install (physical machine) to a VM on Ubuntu 18.04 host with LXD / LXC. And I need to make a new openSUSE 15.0 VM on the same host.

Will openSUSE play well with the LXD host? Are there any guest components I need to install before making the move?

Any gotchas / advice to make the move (and new install) simpler / smoother?

Would it be simpler to do a new install and migrate rather than convert / move?

Thanks in advance
David

I have not tried that. However, I have both Leap 42.3 and Leap 15.0 in virtual machines with a Leap 15.0 host. And they are all working fine. I have not needed to do anything special.

I have no experience with LXD, and although it supposedly can be deployed on distros other than Debian/Ubuntu, unless it can make a case for being a superior choice vs other options I don’t know if I or anyone else would find a practical reason to try it.

You’ll probably want to get some background, it looks like LXD was created to provide integration with OpenStack with its native use of OpenNebula networking… OK, that’s a point in LXD’s favor if someone has visions of eventually migrating to a full OpenStack.

https://linuxcontainers.org/lxd/introduction/

Note though, that in at least one authoritative article that LXD is <not> recommended for managing non-Debian/Ubuntu containers (no specific reasons given)

https://discuss.linuxcontainers.org/t/comparing-lxd-vs-lxc/24

I’d also be wary that Debian/Ubuntu kernels generally lag behind openSUSE kernels, in fact generally lag behind just about everyone except perhaps the CentOS kernels. That might or might not make a difference depending on what apps you run… You may have to research running apps that require kernel modules for compatibility issues.