Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Default Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    This is a screenshot when the problem arose. After reboot everything was back to normal!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,165

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    It's probably a bad idea to update from a Konsole window while logged in to KDE.

    Better to log out of the (KDE) session, switch to a virtual terminal (say Terminal #2 Ctrl-Alt-F2), login in there and then execute zypper dup.
    Regards, Paul

    Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190814) KDE Plasma 5 ~~~
    Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected
    Leap 15.0 KDE Plasma 5 ~~~ Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5 (Work in progress...)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,662
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    It's probably a bad idea to update from a Konsole window while logged in to KDE.

    Better to log out of the (KDE) session, switch to a virtual terminal (say Terminal #2 Ctrl-Alt-F2), login in there and then execute zypper dup.
    FWIW: I've been running TW since it started, always upgraded from KDE ( yakuake as a terminal emulator ), never had issues. As we can see from the pic, the actual install of the packages has not yet begun......
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Obviously the problem is not the update, but the Plasma.
    Something went wrong BEFORE I gave the zypper command, probably with the cache memory of the plasma screen that mixed with memory of Thunderbird as it loaded to RAM!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,165

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    FWIW: I've been running TW since it started, always upgraded from KDE ( yakuake as a terminal emulator ), never had issues.
    That's the way I used to update --- until the desktop crashed during an update. Desktop crashes are probably quite rare, but since then I've always logged out from the KDE session, switched to a VT and ran zypper dup from there, I also always reboot after any zypper dup regardless of whether it's needed.

    As we can see from the pic, the actual install of the packages has not yet begun......
    Yes, indeed. I should have made clear, I wasn't suggesting the update method was the cause of the screen corruption, merely, IMHO, suggesting it wasn't perhaps the "best practice". However you've not had problems with updating from a terminal emulator, and I expect many people choose that method.
    Regards, Paul

    Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190814) KDE Plasma 5 ~~~
    Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected
    Leap 15.0 KDE Plasma 5 ~~~ Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5 (Work in progress...)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,662
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    That's the way I used to update --- until the desktop crashed during an update. Desktop crashes are probably quite rare, but since then I've always logged out from the KDE session, switched to a VT and ran zypper dup from there, I also always reboot after any zypper dup regardless of whether it's needed.



    Yes, indeed. I should have made clear, I wasn't suggesting the update method was the cause of the screen corruption, merely, IMHO, suggesting it wasn't perhaps the "best practice". However you've not had problems with updating from a terminal emulator, and I expect many people choose that method.
    Hey Paul,

    I think that most laptop users don't make their wifi connection available to other users on the system ( most only have one user ), which means that they lose their network connection after logging out. On a desktop system, with wired connection, that's not the case, and although I think it's not needed, yours is the most safest practice.

    BTW I did see plasma crashing once, when installing a Mesa* update ( found some old notes ), but that should not have happened ( a bug was filed at the time, ~2 years ago ).
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Nevertheless the problem is that the Plasma crashed, not the update.

    Does anyone have a clue?
    Do you need more data?
    Can anybody fix that?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,165

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Quote Originally Posted by filippos2 View Post
    Does anyone have a clue?
    Do you need more data?
    Can anybody fix that?
    Unless it's repeatable I doubt there's too much you can do at this stage.

    I've seen, extremely rarely, screen corruption vaguely similar to that shown when using the nouveau driver with KDE. Never worried about it myself, "odd things happen"...

    If it happens again you could try toggling compositing on/off (Alt-Shift-F12), or log out/in to KDE, a full reboot may perhaps not have been necessary.

    I think only if it happens consistently, or you are able to "trigger" the corruption, will it perhaps be possible to find the cause.
    Regards, Paul

    Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190814) KDE Plasma 5 ~~~
    Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected
    Leap 15.0 KDE Plasma 5 ~~~ Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5 (Work in progress...)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,373
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    That's the way I used to update --- until the desktop crashed during an update. Desktop crashes are probably quite rare, but since then I've always logged out from the KDE session, switched to a VT and ran zypper dup from there, I also always reboot after any zypper dup regardless of whether it's needed.
    I usually update from a terminal emulatore ("xterm") in a KDE session. But I run the update inside a "screen" session. So even if the desktop crashes, the update continues.

    However, yes, I probably should switch to a VT. I do run into other problems because of updating within KDE. Sometime a major KDE update will cause problems for the desktop session, such as shutdown doesn't work.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Strange plasma screen problem before latest update

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    Unless it's repeatable I doubt there's too much you can do at this stage.

    I've seen, extremely rarely, screen corruption vaguely similar to that shown when using the nouveau driver with KDE. Never worried about it myself, "odd things happen"...

    If it happens again you could try toggling compositing on/off (Alt-Shift-F12), or log out/in to KDE, a full reboot may perhaps not have been necessary.

    I think only if it happens consistently, or you are able to "trigger" the corruption, will it perhaps be possible to find the cause.
    I know that "odd thinks happen" (bugs) from time to time, so I wrote this in order to stop them from happening

    clue:
    Thunderbird starts in 4th screen and this time I opened it when the DSL was down and connecting. Just then and because I waited some time, I clicked on Thunderbird. Clicking on system tray caused the problem.
    I think that this is not repeatable, but will help plasma programmers.

    Thank you all for your answers.
    Filippos

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •