Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: efibootmgr won't print additional information

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    817

    Default efibootmgr won't print additional information

    efibootmgr stopped printing:

    Code:
    erlangen:~ # efibootmgr
    BootCurrent: 0000
    Timeout: 1 seconds
    BootOrder: 0000,0002,0001,0009,000A
    Boot0000* opensuse
    Boot0001* Fedora
    Boot0002* ubuntu
    Boot0009* ubuntu
    Boot000A* opensuse
    erlangen:~ # efibootmgr -v
    BootCurrent: 0000
    Timeout: 1 seconds
    BootOrder: 0000,0002,0001,0009,000A
    Boot0000* opensuseCould not parse device path: Invalid argument
    erlangen:~ #
    Any idea?
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,476

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    Report a bug. Happens to me in TW20190226.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,308
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    On Fri 01 Mar 2019 08:06:03 AM CST, karlmistelberger wrote:

    efibootmgr stopped printing:

    Code:
    Boot0000* opensuseCould not parse device path: Invalid argument
    Hi
    As indicated, bug report time, one wonders if due to the age/version of
    the efibootmgr program.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLES 15 | GNOME Shell 3.26.2 | 4.12.14-25.28-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,178
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    As indicated, bug report time, one wonders if due to the age/version of
    the efibootmgr program.
    It is more likely that the latest update to "libefivar1" broke something.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,178
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    I have reported this as Bug 1127544 - efibootmgr is broken
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Linden, NJ, USA
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    This same bug makes it impossible to install Tumbleweed (with EFI booting) with the latest install image and there are no copies of older images for some reason, so... it's really rather important.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,178
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    I have not tried a recent EFI install of Tumbleweed. But I did wonder whether that would be a problem with this bug.

    It does appear to be the update of "libefivar1" that caused the problem. I blocked that update on one system, and "efibootmgr" is working fine on that system.

    Perhaps you should add a note about your install experience to the bug report.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,943

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I have not tried a recent EFI install of Tumbleweed. But I did wonder whether that would be a problem with this bug.
    Snapshots 20190301 and 20190304 passed openQA EFI install tests.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Linden, NJ, USA
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    Snapshots 20190301 and 20190304 passed openQA EFI install tests.
    Then the OpenQA is completely screwed up. Right now it's IMPOSSIBLE to install Tumbleweed from any of the March ISOs, as confirmed in another post here and on Reddit from various users trying and failing. You can pop it into VirtualBox and try it yourself. There seem to be a host of bugs that crept into the March installer.

    Ah, I finally got a screenshot of what the installer complains about when you try to update online repositories:



    Here's the EFI installer failing via another user on Reddit....



    And if you survive those you get this a few seconds after it starts copying files onto the disk...




    And the NET installer won't even get to the license screen....






    Tumbleweed is down!

    https://youtu.be/TSyiZ61BspU

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,943

    Default Re: efibootmgr won't print additional information

    Quote Originally Posted by duncreg View Post
    Then the OpenQA is completely screwed up.
    Really?
    Right now it's IMPOSSIBLE to install Tumbleweed from any of the March ISOs
    It is of course possible as confirmed by openQA. It is of course possible that openQA does not test exact conditions that trigger this bug. This does not make it "screwed up", just incomplete.
    You can pop it into VirtualBox and try it yourself.
    So you come here shouting "Tumbleweed down!" and demand that I must do debugging for you? I have not seen as much as your comment on the bug mentioned earlier. That shows you are not really interested in fixing this bug but simply to use it as occasion to bash around.
    Tumbleweed is down!
    Sure. It is much easier than comparing what is different between openQA and other systems where it fails and submitting bug report with explanation what is missing in openQA tests.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •