Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: System freezes

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: System freezes

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    if it happens in the future again I will reinstall with a different filesystem. So my question , what file system do you use for the OS?
    You should think about it. Our devs thought BTRFS a better default. That's why they changed it. I use the old default, EXT4. Which is better depends on your habits and usage and whether you like the idea of snapper making rollbacks easy. I'd rather handle backups completely on my own, and, I like lean installations, few frills, short update times, lower bandwidth usage, smaller partitions. If your root partition is ample, and you follow routine maintenance procedures, snapshots should not run you out of disk space.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: System freezes

    Hmmmmm ..... I think the joy was premature !

    The system froze agin during boot. I made a photo of the screen output.

    Where can I upload the photo and then integrate in the reply ?

    cheers
    Desktop: CPU: AMD Ryzan 4 core, RAM: 16 GB, SSD 250 GB , OS. openSuseLeap 15.0
    Printer: Brother Color laser , Scanner Epson V370. Main application: Ardour, Jack

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: System freezes

    Hey, it may well be the hardware respectively what was indicated by @dcurtisfra.
    Here the photo of the screen
    [IMG]"http://www.imagebam.com/image/06796b1122606024" target="_blank"><img src="http://thumbs2.imagebam.com/da/9c/bb/06796b1122606024.jpg" alt="imagebam.com"[/IMG]


    Hope we the pic is visible. And .... what happened? Upgrade to tumbleweed seams to be inevitable.

    what are your thoughts.

    cheers
    Desktop: CPU: AMD Ryzan 4 core, RAM: 16 GB, SSD 250 GB , OS. openSuseLeap 15.0
    Printer: Brother Color laser , Scanner Epson V370. Main application: Ardour, Jack

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: System freezes

    Do Ardour or Jack or plugins for either require module installation or recompiling? That screenshot shows your kernel is tainted, a sign of proprietary or otherwise faulty software that was not provided by openSUSE.

    How many snapshots did you find? How many did you delete? How much freespace was left after your snapshot deletion? Maybe you've filled the root filesystem back up already using your AV software. Videos gobble space in a big hurry. Maybe something that's supposed to go on one of your data partitions is instead going onto root???
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,086

    Question Re: System freezes

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    Is it possible to upgrade from leap 15 to the latest tumbleweed ?
    For your case, I wouldn't upgrade -- I would do a fresh install, overwriting the system (Btrfs) partition …
    • If you're lucky, you may be able to reuse the user's /home partition (usually XFS) …
    • But, it depends on how much disk space the UEFI (FAT) and system (Btrfs) partitions are currently using.

    You don't mention how much capacity the (single?) disk on your system has …
    • Given that, the CPU is a Ryzen™ 5 1500x and, it's not listed by AMD as being a “Notebook CPU”, we have to assume that, you have a Desktop system.
    • I see that, a Ryzen™ 5 1500x has a Wraith Spire CPU Fan and, it needs a discreet Graphic Card – therefore a Desktop system.


    Which Graphic card are you using?

    Back to executing a Tumbleweed installation:

    Given that, you have a Desktop system, ideally you'll need the following additional hardware:
    • A new system Disk.
    • A USB external Disk.

    Install Tumbleweed on the new system Disk paying particular attention to adhering to the recommendations for:
    • the UEFI partition;
    • the Swap partition.

    Whatever is left over, can be used for the system partition:
    • If you decide to continue using Btrfs for the system partition, be aware that, at least 40 GB will be needed – personally I usually allocate 60 GB or 80 GB for that partition.
    • If you decide to move over to ext4 for the system partition, simply use all the remaining space on the drive.

    Once you have the new, fresh, Tumbleweed system up and running, you can begin to restore the user's Home directory on the SSD with a suspect Btrfs system partition – simply connect the SSD to a 2nd SATA cable and mount the XFS user partition.
    Then, either copy the user's files over to the Home directory on the new system disk or, archive them on the USB external disk.
    Once the user's files have been recovered from the SSD with the suspect Btrfs system partition, you can consider reformatting that SSD as a 2nd Drive on your (Desktop) system – large user Home partition – partitions for /var and /tmp – whatever …
    • My personal preference for stand-alone Linux/UNIX® Desktop systems ( /home not located on a NFS server … ) is to have at least 2 drives installed …

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: System freezes

    @mrmazda
    In the past I did not have any problems with Ardour or Jack. That was about 3 years ago. recently I decided to take up music again and installed Ardour and Jack. I had problems with xruns so I Changed the priorities for audio according to recommendations from the Ardour developers.
    I wonder if that tainted the OS. Ardour and Jack are open source software.
    Since I would have to reinstall Ardour and Jack I could run into the same problem.
    How could I check if the Os was tainted , before a crash so to speak?

    As to snapper, I deleted about 10 entries. Unfortunately It did not tell me the freed diskspace. I don’t think that the absolute diskspace was a problem. With all diskusage commands I always had about 16 GiB free.

    @mrmazda and @dcurtisfra
    I have to reinstall the system and bite the bullet and ordered 2 ssd 120 GiB for OS and 480 GiB for userdata to be expaned with another 480 GiB ssd to configure a disk mirroring raid system.

    For the installation I will use a different filesystem for the root partition. You mentioned ext4. Are ther other alternatives? and what would be the benefit?

    thanks and best regards
    Desktop: CPU: AMD Ryzan 4 core, RAM: 16 GB, SSD 250 GB , OS. openSuseLeap 15.0
    Printer: Brother Color laser , Scanner Epson V370. Main application: Ardour, Jack

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: System freezes

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    How could I check if the Os was tainted , before a crash so to speak?
    Before BTRFS was default, EXT4 was default. I still use it. I have no experience eliminating taint or with Ardour or Jack. I'd start by grepping for taint in dmesg and cataloging loaded modules immediately after booting, then if you see no evidence of some loaded module triggered by either Ardour and/or Jack, trying grep again after starting them. Maybe starting them in a debugger would help.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,086

    Question Re: System freezes

    @otto_oz:

    Which graphic card are you using?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,086

    Talking Re: System freezes

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    You mentioned ext4. Are ther other alternatives? and what would be the benefit?
    For the system partition, currently not.

    Please be aware that, there is a difference of opinion issue currently being worked through here and elsewhere: some people prefer ext4 for the system partition; others prefer Btrfs for the system partition.
    • AFAICS the current score is “1 all” …

    For Desktop systems, AFAICS, for user partitions the choice is either XFS or ext4 or, dare I say it: Btrfs – because of it's built-in fault-tolerance – it depends on your view – is journaling and, in the case of XFS, file system check on mount, “enough” or, does the additional checksumming of Btrfs provide additional data safety?
    • My personal view is, journaling and backups and RAID, given the checksumming being performed by the drives plus the SMART built into the drives, provides, for my non-commercial systems, more than enough data security: therefore, ext4 for the system partitions (/, /var, /tmp, /srv) and XFS for the user partitions …

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: System freezes

    @dcurtisfra
    the graphics card is rather old . I can only guess 5-7 years old.
    Nvidia
    Gt218 [Geforce210]
    Asustec Computer Inc.

    I guess you would recommend to get a current video card ? Yes/no ?
    Lets see what eBay has to offer.

    Just to confirm the XSF filesystem would be suitable for the OS and the userdata ? I wasn’t quite clear about it.

    Since I moved to rural NSW Australia my ssd drives are scheduled to arrive 19 Feb.

    @mrmazda
    I will try what you suggested re tainted system once I got my ssd drives and the system running.

    As an alternative I could install kxstudio (I think is the name) as a stand alone music station , parallel to leap 15
    ...how would I integrate the 2 systems into Grub?

    thanks and best regards
    Desktop: CPU: AMD Ryzan 4 core, RAM: 16 GB, SSD 250 GB , OS. openSuseLeap 15.0
    Printer: Brother Color laser , Scanner Epson V370. Main application: Ardour, Jack

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •