Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    So never had network connection???
    Not on Leap 15, but I did have a connection on various Leap 42.x releases. Did not try those this time, though.

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    What NIC chip do you have some realtek chips require a special driver.

    lspci as root should show you the hardware
    lspci sees net network hardware as follows:

    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
    05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82574L Gigabit Network Connection

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Both ethernet devices show no link detected. In any case, when you connect a known good ethernet cable between your router and one of the NICs, observe the output from

    1) For the Gigabyte Onboard Ethernet (Realtek chipset)
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/ethtool eth0
    Code:
    Settings for eth0:
        Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
        Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full 
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full 
                                1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full 
        Supported pause frame use: No
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full 
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full 
                                1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full 
        Advertised pause frame use: Symmetric Receive-only
        Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Speed: 10Mb/s
        Duplex: Half
        Port: MII
        PHYAD: 0
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
        Supports Wake-on: pumbg
        Wake-on: g
        Current message level: 0x00000033 (51)
                       drv probe ifdown ifup
        Link detected: no
    2) For the Intel NIC
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/ethtool eth1
    Code:
    Settings for eth1:
        Supported ports: [ TP ]
        Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full 
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full 
                                1000baseT/Full 
        Supported pause frame use: No
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full 
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full 
                                1000baseT/Full 
        Advertised pause frame use: No
        Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Speed: Unknown!
        Duplex: Unknown! (255)
        Port: Twisted Pair
        PHYAD: 1
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
        MDI-X: Unknown (auto)
        Supports Wake-on: pumbg
        Wake-on: g
        Current message level: 0x00000007 (7)
                       drv probe link
        Link detected: no

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Your Realtek NIC is currently using the r8169 driver...
    Code:
    Model: "Gigabyte Onboard Ethernet"
    Vendor: pci 0x10ec "Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd."
    Device: pci 0x8168 "RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller"
    SubVendor: pci 0x1458 "Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd"
    SubDevice: pci 0xe000 "Onboard Ethernet"
    Revision: 0x06
    Driver: "r8169"
    Driver Modules: "r8169"
    Device File: eth0
    Instead, install the r8168 Realtek driver (for Leap 15)...

    https://software.opensuse.org/package/r8168
    The packages shown there are all source rpm's from the community; I suppose I have to compile them.
    Any advice how to do that? Of course I can install a development environment (gcc, linker, etc.) from the install usb-stick.

    Edit: The development environment is installed by default, I see..

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,892

    Default AW: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    They are not at all src.rpms......

    Do you try to install one of them before?
    Do you restart your Router?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,199
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Quote Originally Posted by jehojakim View Post
    The packages shown there are all source rpm's from the community; I suppose I have to compile them.
    Any advice how to do that? Of course I can install a development environment (gcc, linker, etc.) from the install usb-stick.

    Edit: The development environment is installed by default, I see..
    The required packages are available from the packman repo...
    Code:
    # zypper se -s r8168
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    
    S | Name                        | Type       | Version                                  | Arch   | Repository
    --+-----------------------------+------------+------------------------------------------+--------+-----------
      | r8168                       | srcpackage | 8.045.08-lp150.4.13                      | noarch | packman   
      | r8168-blacklist-r8169       | package    | 8.045.08-lp150.4.13                      | x86_64 | packman   
      | r8168-debugsource           | package    | 8.045.08-lp150.4.13                      | x86_64 | packman   
      | r8168-kmp-default           | package    | 8.045.08_k4.12.14_lp150.12.28-lp150.4.13 | x86_64 | packman   
      | r8168-kmp-default-debuginfo | package    | 8.045.08_k4.12.14_lp150.12.28-lp150.4.13 | x86_64 | packman
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,892

    Default AW: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    I do not know, if the package is working for the kernel, shipped with openSUSE Leap 15.0.
    Code:
    v  | kernel-default                   | package    | 4.12.14-lp150.11.4          | x86_64 | openSUSE-Leap-15.0-Oss
    Because there was no Update up to now.....


    Maybe these from my OSS Repo are right:
    https://download.opensuse.org/reposi...1.1.x86_64.rpm
    https://download.opensuse.org/reposi...1.1.x86_64.rpm

    But that does not show, why the Intel LAN has also no connect......

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,199
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    The OP has not verified that the ethernet cable and/or router port is ok. Even connecting between two hosts (PC, switch, or other network device) should result in an active link and correctly negotiated speed/duplex.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    The OP has not verified that the ethernet cable and/or router port is ok. Even connecting between two hosts (PC, switch, or other network device) should result in an active link and correctly negotiated speed/duplex.
    Well, as I said in my original post, if I insert the cable in a raspberry, the network connection is fine. So I think that would be enough verification that the cable and router port are OK...

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: AW: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    They are not at all src.rpms......

    Do you try to install one of them before?
    Do you restart your Router?
    I'm sorry, I really only see .src.rpm's there... No, I didn't try to install them before.
    And no, I didn't restart my router, but, as I said in my OP, when inserted to a rasperry, the same cable gives a fine connection.
    So I would thing the cable/router combination is OK.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,199
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No ethernet connection: hardware fault?

    Please post the output of
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -i "eth0|eth1"
    Also, with respect to your Intel NIC...
    Code:
    dmesg | grep e1000e
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •