Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

  1. #1

    Default btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    how can we find the replys to anything we post in this forum. i imagine everyone is asking same questions over and over and over because they cannot ever see there replys. I do not see a option to list my posts or replys and searching for myself is just a pain with those questions every time.

    Btrfs formated on a 12 terrabyte segate drive. I have it set to mount in fstab but it never does. the smaller drives of 2 and 4 tb mount ok. i have to manualy mount the 12 tb every time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,020
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    Quote Originally Posted by delina View Post
    how can we find the replys to anything we post in this forum.
    Click on "My Profile". I see that toward the top right of the browser page.

    On the next screen, you should see links for "Find latest posts" and "Find latest started threads".
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    23,952

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    Quote Originally Posted by delina View Post

    Btrfs formated on a 12 terrabyte segate drive. I have it set to mount in fstab but it never does. the smaller drives of 2 and 4 tb mount ok. i have to manualy mount the 12 tb every time.
    I see this is your first post here. Welcome to these forums.

    That sais I must admit that most of us are not clairvoyant. Thus please do not just say tou have an entry in /etc/fstab, but please show it. And when you have problems mounting it, just do that mount and show us what the results are.

    That showing is best done using CODE tags. This is what we tell most newcomers:

    There is an important, but not easy to find feature on the forums.

    Please in the future use CODE tags around copied/pasted computer text in a post. It is the # button in the tool bar of the post editor. When applicable copy/paste complete, that is including the prompt, the command, the output and the next prompt.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    Quote Originally Posted by delina View Post
    how can we find the replys to anything we post in this forum. i imagine everyone is asking same questions over and over and over because they cannot ever see there replys. I do not see a option to list my posts or replys and searching for myself is just a pain with those questions every time.

    Btrfs formated on a 12 terrabyte segate drive. I have it set to mount in fstab but it never does. the smaller drives of 2 and 4 tb mount ok. i have to manualy mount the 12 tb every time.


    fstab
    UUID=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx /mnt/disk21 btrfs nosuid,nodev,nofail 0 0


    it seems to take over a minute to mount this drive and fstab does not seem to like that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    23,952

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    1)
    There is no need to quote your own first post. We can all read and know what you were asking. Quoting is more for showing which (part of) a post you are answering to.

    2)
    I tried to explain how to post your computer facts in your posts using copy/paste and the CODE tags. People here realy like it to see exactly what you saw and xxxxxxxxxxxxxx is NOT what you saw. An example of how to post a /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    henk@boven:~> cat /etc/fstab/dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HDT725032VLA380_VFJ201R23XUEXW-part2 /                    ext4       acl,user_xattr        1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HDT725032VLA380_VFJ201R23XUEXW-part1 swap                 swap       defaults              0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HDT725032VLA380_VFJ201R23XUEXW-part3 /home                ext4       defaults              1 2
    #/dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HDT725032VLA380_VFJ201R23XUEXW-part5 /mnt/B               ext4       ro,acl                1 2
    #/dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HDT725032VLA380_VFJ201R23XUEXW-part6 /mnt/B/home          ext4       ro,acl                1 2
    henk@boven:~>
    3)
    As you mount by UUID, can you please also show
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid
    so we can find out what the device is.

    3)
    /etc/fstab is just a configuration file it does not do anything by itself, thus it can not "like something".

    4)
    I do not quite understand why you choose for this large disk (or what you mount) to use Btrfs. Apparently it is not your / file system and I do not have seen many arguments to use it for other file systems (for /home e.g. zfs seems to be recommended). Are you using snapshots on it?

    5)
    Maybe look at logging (dmesg) while mouting it to see if there is anything going on.
    You could also umount it "manualy" and then mount it again "manualy" to see if there are any messages displayed by mount.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,734

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    Although frankly speaking this post looks more like a rant ...

    btrfs has known scalability issue that results in increased mount time as file system grows. Output of "btrsf filesystem usage" could be helpful in estimating how probable this issue is in this case.

    Still filesystem needs to be large - really large - to exceed default 90 seconds timeout; I would not really expect it on 12TB. The only way to confirm it is to gather kernel execution statistic during mount.

    See as example https://lore.kernel.org/linux-btrfs/...3@panasas.com/

  7. #7

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    the 12 tb is near full and it seems to take over 90 seconds to precheck. I read there is another way to mount drives besides using fstab so I am looking into that. I have been testing this on debian and have installed suse on a second ssd as soon as i finish backing up the drives im going to switch to suse and see it it has the same problem with the 12 tb drive.

    Does anyone have a good knowledge of raid 1 on btrfs? I would like to know if i make a 10 drive raid 1 and then how complicated it would be to split all the 10 drives back into single drives maintaining the directory structure on each drive. I use mergerfs to join drives now and like to be able to remove drives as needed. Can btrfs do this also in raid 1 ? I am in process of building an extra 10 drive raid 1 box so i can test this, I cannot seem to find any factual information on this online.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,734

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    Quote Originally Posted by delina View Post
    I would like to know
    Start new thread for new question.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    23,952

    Default Re: btrfs on 12 tb drive takes to long to precheck and fails to mount in fstab

    Quote Originally Posted by delina View Post
    the 12 tb is near full and it seems to take over 90 seconds to precheck. I read there is another way to mount drives besides using fstab so I am looking into that. I have been testing this on debian and have installed suse on a second ssd as soon as i finish backing up the drives im going to switch to suse and see it it has the same problem with the 12 tb drive.
    There is a post above with five (5) points. You did not take the trouble to answer even one of them (not even by saying you do not want to give an answer or asking for clarification bdecause you did noty understand what was said). This is a perfect way to loose any further interest in your thread from people. So please re-think about this.

    And yes, one subject per thread.
    Henk van Velden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •