Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Phonon device list incompelte

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    375

    Default Phonon device list incompelte

    Since a few weeks, when I go to "Systems Settings" -> Multimedia -> "Audio and Video", the "Device Preference" panel contains only "Default" device for audio playback, and no devices at all for Audio Recording and Video Recording.

    I used to see all my devices there, and I could reorder them to give priority to one device or the other. You can see what it looked like in this thread.

    This is what it looks like now, even after I connect my bluetooth headphones (and so I should have at least two output devices):


    This is what e.g. pavucontrol shows after connecting my bluetooth headphones:


    I have checked every sound/multimedia troubleshooting guide I could find, but everything seems correct.
    Anybody else noticing this problem? I have the problem on two computers (my work laptop and my home desktop).

    If you need more information about my systems, just ask.

    Cris
    Last edited by Cris70; 07-Jan-2019 at 04:09. Reason: adding more information
    Desktop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 16Gb RAM, 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD
    Laptop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - Thinkpad T440 - Intel i5-4210U, 12Gb RAM, 250GB Samsung EVO 750 SSD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    375

    Question Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Mmm, I see that nobody replies.

    Is it because:
    - nobody has a clue on how to solve the problem
    - nobody recognizes this as a problem
    - other reason
    ?

    I would like to know if I'm missing something obvious here.

    One of my two systems is working well, because fortunately it remembers the device order I gave when the device list was correctly working, but on the other one I have the problem that I cannot put my bluetooth headphones to the top of the device list, so it doesn't switch automatically the output to the headphones when they connect (I never connected the headphones to that PC back when the device list was working correctly).

    Thank you in advance
    Cris
    Desktop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 16Gb RAM, 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD
    Laptop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - Thinkpad T440 - Intel i5-4210U, 12Gb RAM, 250GB Samsung EVO 750 SSD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,286
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Pure speculation - A phonon regression perhaps? Anyway, what output profiles are shown via the following command?
    Code:
    pacmd list sinks
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Hi Deano,
    thank you for your reply.

    Here is the output of that command, before connecting the bluetooth headphones and after connecting them.
    Meanwhile, the output of Phonon's Device List always remains the same (i.e. only a "Default" device is visible).

    Thank you in advance.
    Cris
    Desktop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 16Gb RAM, 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD
    Laptop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - Thinkpad T440 - Intel i5-4210U, 12Gb RAM, 250GB Samsung EVO 750 SSD

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,286
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Well, the PA output looks ok. Perhaps try creating a new user and examine if the same issue exists.

    Also, anything unusual reported here?
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b | grep pulse
    Let's see what others respond with.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Well, the PA output looks ok. Perhaps try creating a new user and examine if the same issue exists.
    Will do.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Also, anything unusual reported here?
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b | grep pulse
    Actually yes. Look at the last two rows:

    Code:
    cristiano@xmper8q3 [~]$ sudo journalctl -b | grep pulse
    [sudo] password di root:
    gen 11 08:43:40 xmper8q3.gcv.dom ksmserver[2837]: org.kde.kf5.ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/pulseaudio.desktop" ("/usr/bin/start-pulseaudio-x11")
    gen 11 08:43:40 xmper8q3.gcv.dom dbus-daemon[1368]: [system] Activating via systemd: service name='org.freedesktop.RealtimeKit1' unit='rtkit-daemon.service' requested by ':1.33' (uid=1000 pid=2909 comm="/usr/bin/pulseaudio --start --log-target=syslog ")
    gen 11 08:43:41 xmper8q3.gcv.dom rtkit-daemon[2911]: Successfully made thread 2909 of process 2909 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by 'cristiano' high priority at nice level -11.
    gen 11 08:43:41 xmper8q3.gcv.dom rtkit-daemon[2911]: Successfully made thread 2963 of process 2909 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by 'cristiano' RT at priority 5.
    gen 11 08:43:41 xmper8q3.gcv.dom rtkit-daemon[2911]: Successfully made thread 2969 of process 2909 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by 'cristiano' RT at priority 5.
    gen 11 08:43:41 xmper8q3.gcv.dom pulseaudio[2909]: [pulseaudio] backend-ofono.c: Failed to register as a handsfree audio agent with ofono: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.ofono was not provided by any .service files
    gen 11 08:43:41 xmper8q3.gcv.dom rtkit-daemon[2911]: Successfully made thread 3012 of process 3012 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by 'cristiano' high priority at nice level -11.
    gen 11 08:43:41 xmper8q3.gcv.dom pulseaudio[3012]: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Daemon already running.
    gen 11 09:05:03 xmper8q3.gcv.dom rtkit-daemon[2911]: Successfully made thread 14919 of process 2909 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by 'cristiano' RT at priority 5.
    gen 11 09:07:20 xmper8q3.gcv.dom dbus-daemon[1368]: [system] Rejected send message, 1 matched rules; type="method_return", sender=":1.37" (uid=1000 pid=2909 comm="/usr/bin/pulseaudio --start --log-target=syslog ") interface="(unset)" member="(unset)" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.2" (uid=0 pid=1377 comm="/usr/lib/bluetooth/bluetoothd ")
    gen 11 09:07:20 xmper8q3.gcv.dom plasmashell[2864]: org.kde.plasma.pulseaudio: No object for name "bluez_sink.44_5E_F3_B5_9B_CE.a2dp_sink"
    Is this normal?

    Cris
    Desktop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 16Gb RAM, 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD
    Laptop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - Thinkpad T440 - Intel i5-4210U, 12Gb RAM, 250GB Samsung EVO 750 SSD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Hi Deano,
    today I created a new user to see if something was different/better.
    Unfortunately, there's no difference

    Am I really the only one with this problem?
    I find it hard to believe as I have it on both of my computers, which have a completely different story, different list of repositories...

    Well, I guess I just have to wait and see.

    Thank you BTW for your interest and support.

    Cris
    Desktop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 16Gb RAM, 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD
    Laptop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - Thinkpad T440 - Intel i5-4210U, 12Gb RAM, 250GB Samsung EVO 750 SSD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,803
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Did you try booting a previous kernel / btrfs snapshot?

    A thing you could try as well is to install tumbleweed-cli and use
    Code:
    tumbleweed --help
    to get instructions to go back to the previous tumbleweed snapshot.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    Hi Knurpht!

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Did you try booting a previous kernel / btrfs snapshot?
    I tried to boot with the previous kernel (4.19.11) but it did not make any difference.

    Regarding reverting to a previous btrfs snapshot (I have already some experience with it, and it has saved me a couple times when updates were very unstable) I'd prefer not going through the hassle, as presently the problem with multimedia is bearable.
    Let's see if the future updates bring some joy.

    In the meantime I tried another thing: I installed the Phonon VLC backend and I switched to it (it was GStreamer before). Now I have more outputs, but they don't feel right nonetheless.

    Cris
    Desktop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 16Gb RAM, 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD
    Laptop: OpenSUSE Tumbleweed (x86_64) - Thinkpad T440 - Intel i5-4210U, 12Gb RAM, 250GB Samsung EVO 750 SSD

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,286
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Phonon device list incompelte

    As a sanity check, can you show us the output from the following please?

    Code:
    rpm -qa|grep phonon
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •