Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    My Leap 15 with Frameworks ver 5.53.0 and Qt 5.12.0.

    I have tried the wolfi compiled FreeCAD
    Code:
     zypper info FreeCAD
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    
    
    Information for package FreeCAD:
    --------------------------------
    Repository     : home:wolfi323:branches:KDE:Extra                
    Name           : FreeCAD                                         
    Version        : 0.17.1534399137.9948ee4f1-lp150.58.7            
    Arch           : x86_64                                          
    Vendor         : obs://build.opensuse.org/home:wolfi323          
    Installed Size : 277.8 MiB                                       
    Installed      : Yes                                             
    Status         : up-to-date                                      
    Source package : FreeCAD-0.17.1534399137.9948ee4f1-lp150.58.7.src
    Summary        : General Purpose 3D CAD Modeler
    It starts up, but crashes with some missing symbol errors

    I decided to try the available appimage package, which seems to be working for the Tumbleweed folks. but get this result
    Code:
    ./FreeCAD-0.17.13541.9948ee4.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage
    FreeCAD 0.17, Libs: 0.17R13541 (Git)
    © Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2018
      #####                 ####  ###   ####  
      #                    #      # #   #   # 
      #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
      ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
      #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
      #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
      #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##
    
    failed to create drawable
    [xcb] Unknown sequence number while processing queue
    [xcb] Most likely this is a multi-threaded client and XInitThreads has not been called
    [xcb] Aborting, sorry about that.
    freecad: xcb_io.c:259: poll_for_event: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_threads_sequence_lost' failed.
    Aborted (core dumped)
    I do have appimaged installed.
    I have no prior experience running appimages, so am sort of lost as tho where to go next.
    Is there some extra magic?

    A thought(question) - does having FreeCAD installed (the above wolfi version) confuse appimaged?
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    After posting this item, I realized that there was one other appimage I have run, successfully.
    And I do nothing special to run it, just execute the appimage file.

    I am guessing that perhaps the appimage that does run is single threaded, whereas the heavy FreeCAD needs multi-threading.
    Just a guess
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,892

    Default AW: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    I think, this is why the rpm is not running:
    My Leap 15 with Frameworks ver 5.53.0 and Qt 5.12.0.
    Edit:
    Try to start:
    Code:
    LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true freecad
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...d/+bug/1754084
    https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtop...4dfec&start=10
    Last edited by Sauerland; 06-Jan-2019 at 12:52.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    Thanks for the suggestion, here is the result
    Code:
    carl@PVE-LinuxSRV7:~> LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true FreeCAD
    FreeCAD 0.17, Libs: 0.17RUnknown
    © Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2018
      #####                 ####  ###   ####  
      #                    #      # #   #   # 
      #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
      ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
      #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
      #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
      #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##
    
    /usr/lib64/FreeCAD/lib/Part.so: undefined symbol: _ZN9BRep_Tool14CurveOnSurfaceERK11TopoDS_EdgeRK11TopoDS_FaceRdS6_
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "<string>", line 50, in Initialize
    
    /usr/lib64/FreeCAD/lib/Part.so: undefined symbol: _ZN9BRep_Tool14CurveOnSurfaceERK11TopoDS_EdgeRK11TopoDS_FaceRdS6_
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "<string>", line 43, in Initialize
    
    KCrash: Application 'FreeCAD' crashing...
    KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib64/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
    sock_file=/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__0
    
    [1]+  Stopped                 LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true FreeCAD
    carl@PVE-LinuxSRV7:~> Unable to start Dr. Konqi
    Re-raising signal for core dump handling.
    The undefined symbol errors does not appear until attempting to open the "part" workspace
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: AW: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    I think, this is why the rpm is not running:
    My Leap 15 with Frameworks ver 5.53.0 and Qt 5.12.0.

    Last Summer I tried to get FreeCAD running and issues with Franmeworks5 was identified as the likely culprit.

    Subsequently, wolfi built his version against, I thought, the Frameworks 5 code base. This is the first chance i have had to try it.
    I might have misunderstood what wolfi's repository was for.

    Most of the FreeCAD Forum hits are for Tumbleweed users, where the appimage seems to be working.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,892

    Default AW: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    Subsequently, wolfi built his version against, I thought, the Frameworks 5 code base. This is the first chance i have had to try it.
    I might have misunderstood what wolfi's repository was for.
    Ask wolfi?

    https://build.opensuse.org/package/s...:Extra/FreeCAD
    Login and Password are The same as for the forums.

    Try this one:
    https://download.opensuse.org/reposi...p_15.0/x86_64/
    Last edited by Sauerland; 06-Jan-2019 at 15:16.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    Indeed, that one is built against KDE:Frameworks5 and KDE:Qt5, and therefore should work if you use those repos.
    If it doesn't, make sure you did a full switch to KDE:Qt5.

    The other option is of course to *remove* KDE:Qt5 and KDE:Frameworks5 and stick to the standard Qt5 and Plasma/KF5 versions shipped in Leap 15.0.

    The problem here: KDE:Qt5 has some python related packages used by FreeCAD (python3-pyside2 in particular), and you need to install the same versions than it was built against.
    So the standard FreeCAD won't work with the newer packages in KDE:Qt5, and a FreeCAD built against KDE:Qt5 won't work with the standard Qt and python packages.

    I already explained that in https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...-install-issue though...
    You can't blame a madman if you go insane

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    Thanks wolfi, what you describe is what I thought the situation was.

    I do have repos KDE:Frameworks5 and KDE:Qt5 active and have checked that a "switch to this repo" has been done (I use Yast GUI).
    I have installed FreeCAD from your repo home:wolfi323:branches:KDE:Extra

    FreeCAD starts up, but then crashes on most any directive to the FreeCAD GUI

    Code:
    carl@PVE-LinuxSRV7:~> FreeCAD
    FreeCAD 0.17, Libs: 0.17RUnknown
    © Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2018
      #####                 ####  ###   ####  
      #                    #      # #   #   # 
      #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
      ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
      #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
      #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
      #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##
    
    Persistent toolbars: Snapper toolbar not managed.
    KCrash: Application 'FreeCAD' crashing...
    KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib64/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
    sock_file=/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__0
    
    [1]+  Stopped                 FreeCAD
    carl@PVE-LinuxSRV7:~> Unable to start Dr. Konqi
    Re-raising signal for core dump handling.
    If I understand correctly, drkonqi is a crash handler, so this info is not telling us much about the actual FreeCAD crash.
    My drkonqui5 is from KDE:Frameworks5, so also don't understand why it is having an issue either, but that is for another thread.

    I will observe that I update frequently and there are almost always updates to repos from KDE:Frameworks5 and KDE:Qt5.
    But I have not see a new version of FreeCAD download in a while.
    I can only assume that a rebuild in your repo is driven by a dependency list, perhaps your repo needs to be rebuilding more often than it is?

    The version you posted back in May, in your home:wolfi323:branches:KDE:Extra was an improvement, the FreeCAD application actually opened as opposed to crashing immediately on startup.
    I was away for summer and had not tried much until the Big Guy brought me a 3DPrinter in December, so I re-engaged in getting FreeCAD to run on this computer.

    I realize backing out KDE:Frameworks5 and KDE:Qt5 is an option and I might exercise that on another machine.

    Thanks!
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  9. #9

    Default Re: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcgrath5035 View Post
    I do have repos KDE:Frameworks5 and KDE:Qt5 active and have checked that a "switch to this repo" has been done (I use Yast GUI).
    I have installed FreeCAD from your repo home:wolfi323:branches:KDE:Extra
    Note that there are actually two 15.0 versions of home:wolfi323:branches:KDE:Extra, openSUSE_Leap_15.0 built against plain 15.0, and KF5_openSUSE_Leap_15.0 built against KDE:Qt5 and KDE:Frameworks5.

    You need the latter as mentioned, but that's probably not the problem as the former would give a lot of conflicts if you'd try to install it.

    FreeCAD starts up, but then crashes on most any directive to the FreeCAD GUI
    Can you provide example steps that make it crash, please?
    It seems to work fine here in a quick test...

    If I understand correctly, drkonqi is a crash handler, so this info is not telling us much about the actual FreeCAD crash.
    My drkonqui5 is from KDE:Frameworks5, so also don't understand why it is having an issue either, but that is for another thread.
    Drkonqi is KDE's crash report dialog, it will only (tried to) be started if an application actually crashes, *after* it crashes.
    So it's definitely *not* the reason for the crash.

    Strange that it cannot be started, but it's completely irrelevant in this case as FreeCAD is *not* a KDE application anyway.

    But indeed, that information you posted doesn't tell anything, other than that it crashes.

    It might be related/specific to the graphics driver in use though, FreeCAD probably makes heavy use of OpenGL...
    I do remember a thread here:
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...breaks-FreeCAD

    Maybe try to boot with "nomodeset" or switch to a different graphics driver (e.g. nouveau/nvidia/modesetting, intel/modesetting, radeon/modesetting) to see if it would run more stable then.

    Or, maybe the reason that drkonqi is started is due to KDE's widget styles (breeze or oxygen), and the crash might be there.
    So also try to run it in, say, IceWM or via "XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=icewm FreeCAD".

    I will observe that I update frequently and there are almost always updates to repos from KDE:Frameworks5 and KDE:Qt5.
    But I have not see a new version of FreeCAD download in a while.
    I can only assume that a rebuild in your repo is driven by a dependency list, perhaps your repo needs to be rebuilding more often than it is?
    No. It will be rebuilt automatically by OBS whenever a dependency is updated.
    And it is just a branch to the science repo, i.e. it will get updated itself whenever the version in science is updated.

    Note that I did not do any changes to the packages nor do I intend to, it's just being rebuilt with the latest packages from the additional KDE:Qt5 and KDE:Frameworks5 packages.

    I.e. if something is not working properly, it's a bug in the original package.

    I actually don't even use it myself...
    You can't blame a madman if you go insane

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: Nesd some ideas for getting FreeCAD to run

    Thanks, your extensive guidance deserves an detailed look at my implementation, which is at moment 1300 miles away.

    What I can related is two 'Gui actions' that I recall crashing FreeCAD.
    The first, from the initial splash screen, try to open a known good file.stl
    I have several developed on FreeCAD running on Windoze (yes, I was desperate).
    The second, clicking on the GUI to enter Draft Mode also caused a dump.

    I will be able to respond to the balance of your info over the weekend.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •