Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: i have problem

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Add the following boot option;

    Code:
    pci=nomsi
    Do this by (at your second screen shot - grub screen), press the e key (to edit) and on the line where you see kernel options (it has the word quiet on it) then add the above and press the F10 key to boot.

    U My HERO

    thanks man now works and every thing is good


    now I am completly free

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by OrsoBruno View Post
    I am puzzled here: screenshot shows "CSM Enabled", so this is set up for legacy booting and Leap was installed in legacy mode indeed (from the installer legacy boot screen).
    When set to "CSM Disabled" an ASUS laptop should boot in UEFI mode (and the BIOS screenshot showing an "EZ3 Flash Utility" points to an UEFI capable laptop).
    By the way I use "Launch PXE OpROM Policy" to "Disable" unless there is a real need for network booting, but don't know if that might be related to the problem at hand.


    thanks man for every thing
    u great helper I appreiate you this

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,239

    Default Re: i have problem

    The modes done from the boot screen are temporary. Easiest way to make permanent is to go to Yast-Bootloader and make the change there

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    The modes done from the boot screen are temporary. Easiest way to make permanent is to go to Yast-Bootloader and make the change there

    is it possible to explain more to me what exactly I do

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,524

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by az73 View Post
    is it possible to explain more to me what exactly I do
    You are apparently using Gnome. Go to the "Activities" screen (upper left corner of the screen) type "Boot", select and launch "Boot Loader".
    Select the "Kernel Parameters" tab, in the line "Optional Kernel Command Line Parameters" add "pci=nomsi" after "quiet showopts".
    Then "OK" and you are done.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: i have problem

    [QUOTE=OrsoBruno;2887975]You are apparently using Gnome. Go to the "Activities" screen (upper left corner of the screen) type "Boot", select and launch "Boot Loader".
    Select the "Kernel Parameters" tab, in the line "Optional Kernel Command Line Parameters" add "pci=nomsi" after "quiet showopts".
    Then "OK" and you are done.[/Q
    like this
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/xiyqtggtwt...48564.jpg?dl=0

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,524

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by az73 View Post
    Exactly, press OK and the option will be permanent from the next reboot.

    EDIT: I see two "pci=nomsi", not a problem but just one is enough (the position is not important).
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by OrsoBruno View Post
    Exactly, press OK and the option will be permanent from the next reboot.

    EDIT: I see two "pci=nomsi", not a problem but just one is enough (the position is not important).

    thanks man
    thank u for your patience . I know i was annoying and I learned a lot from you

    beste

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,524

    Default Re: i have problem

    Quote Originally Posted by az73 View Post
    thanks man
    thank u for your patience . I know i was annoying and I learned a lot from you

    beste
    Don't worry, we are always happy when somebody (including ourselves) learns something!
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    9,693
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: i have problem

    A quick Internet search suggests that this problem is likely limited to some Asus machines and IMO is also likely a bug in their hardware, probably not a precursor to something more common. The search I did for MSI problems which required disabling MSI did not turn up any non-Asus results .

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messag...led_Interrupts

    Done properly,
    According to the above article MSI for the PCI bus should be backwards compatible so that using or not using MSI should be supported and seamless.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •