Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Reinstall Yast

  1. #1

    Default Reinstall Yast

    Hi,

    Is there a way to reinstall yast?

    It was uninstalled during an update, not sure how, but it's gone.
    I've tried booting from a previous snapshot, and to reverse the changes from snapper (which I reinstalled with zypper), but none of these solutions worked.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,567
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Reinstall Yast

    You can see what is available vs installed using
    Code:
    zypper se -s yast
    Check if the yast patterns are installed
    Code:
     zypper se -s patterns-yast
    Perhaps the following will help with reinstalling a working yast environment
    Code:
    zypper in --force patterns-yast-yast2_basis patterns-yast-x11_yast
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,567
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Reinstall Yast

    BTW, how are you updating here? As my forum colleague Knurpht is often reminding TW users, the correct way is to only use
    Code:
    zypper dup
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Reinstall Yast

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    BTW, how are you updating here? As my forum colleague Knurpht is often reminding TW users, the correct way is to only use
    Code:
    zypper dup
    According to the thread title, OP is using 15.0
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,383
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Reinstall Yast

    IMO you should describe what makes you think YaST was uninstalled.
    Perhaps it's still in your system, but you're not able to invoke it?

    Try... From a command line...
    Code:
    sudo yast2
    Also,
    Some Desktops don't list YaST as a menu entry any more (Why, I wouldn't know and I lament its disappearance),
    But instead list all the YaST Modules by their functional names.

    So,
    What Desktop are you using?

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,567
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Reinstall Yast

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    According to the thread title, OP is using 15.0
    Very true. Ignore that post.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Reinstall Yast

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Very true. Ignore that post.
    AFAIK in LEAP 15 zypper dup does not do vendor changes so running it would make sure all installed packages are the same as the ones from the online repo's
    the OP should post his repo list
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    the only reason for yast to be broken is if he installed a package for a different distribution ie TW
    if all of the OP's repos are for LEAP 15 running
    Code:
    zypper ve
    should fix things vorst case scenario running
    Code:
    zypper dup --from <OSS update repo alias>
    should fix things

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •