Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    I have installed Leap 15 at least twice, and not more, and things went okay, but recently, doing this again, be it a brand new install, using KDE, xcfe, Custom (no selected additions), or upgrade, it boots into the terminal mode at TTY1 and goes no further (though I can enter commands);

    At the time being, I'm executing "startx", but I don't know if that causes any loss of functionality like when it has when the boot goes into the GUI LOGIN screen. It's ironic I was curious if there was a way I could use some kind of keyboard key-sequence to boot into console when from the boot screen, or when the system began to load. But, I'm stuck without knowing how to boot into a different Desktop, i.e. GNOME vs KDE.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    I also want to add that I purchased a new hard disk, and it still boots to the console, gives various errors at times, and other times, no error messages at all. I will stick to openSUSE of course, but I was thinking to see if another distro would do that, to see if the problem in within the machine, or its a openSUSE bug.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,998
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    Was this a clean install (as opposed to upgrade)?

    What does the following command report?
    Code:
    systemctl get-default
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,998
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    This as well perhaps...
    Code:
    systemctl list-unit-files --state=failed
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 12-Oct-2018 at 18:55.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Was this a clean install (as opposed to upgrade)?
    Yes, I have tried both more than once... the last install I'm using now, is a clean install, in fact, on a brand new hard disk I purchased.

    What does the following command report?
    Code:
    systemctl get-default
    Code:
    multi-user.target
    

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,998
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    Quote Originally Posted by Star_Gazer View Post
    Yes, I have tried both more than once... the last install I'm using now, is a clean install, in fact, on a brand new hard disk I purchased.



    Code:
    multi-user.target
    
    Ok change default target to graphical.target with
    Code:
    sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target
    and reboot.

    You can also switch immediately using
    Code:
    sudo systemctl isolate graphical.target
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Thumbs up [SOLVED] Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Ok change default target to graphical.target with
    Code:
    sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target
    and reboot.

    You can also switch immediately using
    Code:
    sudo systemctl isolate graphical.target

    AH! YES YES YES! That fixed it up! Thank you so very much!

    BTW, slightly off and on topic, is there a way to boot up into console mode when I want, as was on older days, like a key-sequence during the boot screen menu and/or when booting?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,998
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: [SOLVED] Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    Quote Originally Posted by Star_Gazer View Post
    AH! YES YES YES! That fixed it up! Thank you so very much!
    Glad to have been of help

    BTW, slightly off and on topic, is there a way to boot up into console mode when I want, as was on older days, like a key-sequence during the boot screen menu and/or when booting?
    You can do it by editing the grub entry at boot, put a '3' as the last parameter...
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...b2.menu_change
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: [SOLVED] Re: System Won't load up GUI, but boot to terminal console

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Glad to have been of help


    You can do it by editing the grub entry at boot, put a '3' as the last parameter...
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...b2.menu_change
    Thank you so much for all your help and assisting resolve this matter. Have a great weekend.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •