Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: access and use a remote computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    467

    Default access and use a remote computer

    I would access a remote computer, see its screen and use it as if it were in front of it.
    It is possible?
    I do not want to use TeamViewer.
    Can anyone teach me how to do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,124

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    Are you implicating that both systems are running Leap 15.0?
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,841
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    VNC would be a native linux solution, but like Henk says, it's important to know from which OS to which ( other ) OS.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Are you implicating that both systems are running Leap 15.0?
    Yes I have machines using Leap 15.0
    But there are also others with 43.2
    If it works with the Leap15 is already a good start

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    VNC would be a native linux solution, but like Henk says, it's important to know from which OS to which ( other ) OS.
    I've tried VNC but the instructions are somewhat confusing. Often, they do not explain whether they are talking about the server or the client

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,375
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    I've tried VNC but the instructions are somewhat confusing. Often, they do not explain whether they are talking about the server or the client
    Did you read the openSUSE guide?
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...e/cha.vnc.html
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    I tried to make the server work ...
    With the instructions below I found in YAst

    4.4.2 VNC Session Initiated Using vncmanager Report Bug #




    Procedure 4.3: Enabling Persistent VNC Sessions Report Bug #



    • Start YaST › Network Services › Remote Administration (VNC).
    • Activate Allow Remote Administration With Session Management.
    • Activate Enable access using a web browser if you plan to access the VNC session in a Web browser window.
    • If necessary, also check Open Port in Firewall (for example, when your network interface is configured to be in the External Zone). If you have more than one network interface, restrict opening the firewall ports to a specific interface via Firewall Details.
    ..... When I click on "Next" everything is closed and open a black screen offering to login and password.

    I can not follow these instructions .... impossible for a layman as I take advantage ....
    I need a step by step..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    I tried to make the server work ...
    With the instructions below I found in YAst


    ..... When I click on "Next" everything is closed and open a black screen offering to login and password.

    I can not follow these instructions .... impossible for a layman as I take advantage ....
    I need a step by step..
    Important info required:
    Which Desktop (I am guessing KDE, but that is just a guess) on the machines?

    Which Display Manager (again, I am guessing SDDM, but again, that is just a guess) on the machines?

    Leaving us guessing makes it difficult for us to assist you.

    But, try this in a terminal, if using KDE and SDDM:
    Code:
    su -
    update-alternatives --config default-displaymanager
    Change to LightDM, reboot, then try again.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  9. #9

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    If I may attach myself to this thread...

    I've used the same manual linked to before to set VNC remote access up, with session management, it works mostly, except the part with "vncmanager-controller" to set some session parameters (shared / visible / password ...) for persistent sessions.

    Code:
    xxx@linux-ydx2:~> vncmanager-controller 
    VNC not managed by vncmanager, quitting.
    I use Leap 15 + xfce4 + lightdm. It's a VM with NAT + port-forwarding, no firewall.

  10. #10

    Default Re: access and use a remote computer

    It works beautifully when using gnome instead of xfce4! Nothing else changed. Trying KDE now.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •