Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Problem with cups

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Problem with cups

    I have three printers on my network. All of them are relatively new HP printers. There is an OfficeJet Pro 8210, an OfficeJet Pro 7720 and a PageWide 577. The 7720 works just fine. I have deleted and reinstalled both the 8210 and the 577 using cups. Cups says the printers are there, are idle and accepting jobs. If I try to send a test page from cups, the page does not print and cups says the printer is stopped. I have tried pausing and resuming both printers to no avail. If I open the printers web page using Firefox, It says it is connected and ready to print. I can print a test page from the web browser. So obviously the printer is not the problem. I cannot find any documentation about how to restart a printer.

    How can I restart the printers?

    Bart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    They should be able to re-enabled via the CUPS web UI, or via the CLI using
    Code:
    sudo cupsenable <printer_name>
    What is reported by the following?
    Code:
    lpstat -t
    Are you using HPLIP drivers for all three of these printers?
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Any stuck/stale print jobs can be cancelled with
    Code:
    cancel -a
    To aid with debugging CUPS logging verbosity can be increased by putting CUPS into debug mode...
    Code:
    sudo cupsctl --debug-logging
    then try printing something and observe what is logged (for a given print job ID) in /var/log/cups/error_log. As the logging can be lengthy it is advised to use https://susepaste.org/ to host/share the content, posting the URL that it generates here.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Any stuck/stale print jobs can be cancelled with
    Code:
    cancel -a
    To aid with debugging CUPS logging verbosity can be increased by putting CUPS into debug mode...
    Code:
    sudo cupsctl --debug-logging
    then try printing something and observe what is logged (for a given print job ID) in /var/log/cups/error_log. As the logging can be lengthy it is advised to use https://susepaste.org/ to host/share the content, posting the URL that it generates here.
    Knowing that the file would be large, I opened it, as root, using Kate and removed all information in it. I then tried to print a test page from cups. When I opened the file, there was nothing in it! It is still empty. Could I have changed to permissions by using root to modify it?

    Bart

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Remove the file with
    Code:
    sudo rm -f /var/log/cups/error_log
    and restart CUPS
    Code:
    sudo rccups restart
    The error_log file will be recreated.
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 29-Sep-2018 at 01:32.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,251

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Quote Originally Posted by montana_suse_user View Post
    Could I have changed to permissions by using root to modify it?
    Bart
    No, you normally do not change the permissions of a file when you do something to the contents.

    But when you want to ask something about the permissions of a file, then at least show what the permissions are at the moment:
    Code:
    ls -l <path-to-the-file>
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    They should be able to re-enabled via the CUPS web UI, or via the CLI using
    Code:
    sudo cupsenable <printer_name>
    What is reported by the following?
    Code:
    lpstat -t
    Code:
    bart@UNIVAC:~> lpstat -t
    scheduler is running
    no system default destination
    device for HP-577: socket://HP-577:9100
    device for HP-7720: hp:/net/OfficeJet_Pro_7720_series?ip=192.168.3.27
    device for HP-8210: dnssd://HP%20OfficeJet%20Pro%208210%20%5B443C62%5D._ipp._tcp.local/?uuid=b93c8620-790d-75c6-eede-3b74686e81b2
    device for MFCJ875DW: dnssd://Brother%20MFC-J875DW._ipp._tcp.local/
    HP-577 accepting requests since Sat 29 Sep 2018 02:17:32 AM MDT
    HP-7720 accepting requests since Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:32:50 PM MDT
    HP-8210 accepting requests since Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:25:57 PM MDT
    MFCJ875DW not accepting requests since Sun 01 Apr 2018 07:19:10 PM MDT -
            reason unknown
    printer HP-577 is idle.  enabled since Sat 29 Sep 2018 02:17:32 AM MDT
            File "/usr/lib/cups/filter/hpps" not available: No such file or directory
    printer HP-7720 is idle.  enabled since Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:32:50 PM MDT
    printer HP-8210 is idle.  enabled since Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:25:57 PM MDT
            File "/usr/lib/cups/filter/hpps" not available: No such file or directory
    printer MFCJ875DW is idle.  enabled since Sun 01 Apr 2018 07:19:10 PM MDT
    HP-8210-355             unknown           1024   Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:25:57 PM MDT
    HP-577-362              unknown           1024   Sat 29 Sep 2018 02:17:32 AM MDT
    bart@UNIVAC:~>


    Are you using HPLIP drivers for all three of these printers?
    I had hplip-hpijs installed but not hplip itself. I had had some problems with it and had uninstalled it. The printers WERE working ok. I'll install hplip and see what happens

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    I installed hplip and tried to run hp-setup only to get the following error:

    Code:
    bart@UNIVAC:~> hp-setup
    
    HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.17.9)
    Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 9.0
    
    Copyright (c) 2001-15 HP Development Company, LP
    This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
    This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
    under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.
    
    error: libglib-2.0.so.0: failed to map segment from shared object

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Quote Originally Posted by montana_suse_user View Post
    [CODE]bart@UNIVAC:~> lpstat -t
    scheduler is running
    no system default destination
    device for HP-577: socket://HP-577:9100
    device for HP-7720: hp:/net/OfficeJet_Pro_7720_series?ip=192.168.3.27
    device for HP-8210: dnssd://HP%20OfficeJet%20Pro%208210%20%5B443C62%5D._ipp._tcp.local/?uuid=b93c8620-790d-75c6-eede-3b74686e81b2[CODE]
    Only the HP-7720 printer configuration is using the HPLIP 'hp' backend. The HP-577 is using the generic CUPS 'socket' backend, so definitely using HP drivers. The 'dnssd://' backend is also not used for HPLIP configured printers. It uses DNS-SD to determine the appropriate network backend dynamically AFAIU.

    The driver configuration for each of these printers is located in /etc/cups/ppd/ directory. The driver config can be determined using something like
    Code:
    egrep -i "name|model|filter" /etc/cups/ppd/*
    although you'll get the combined results of 4 printer configurations here.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Problem with cups

    Code:
    printer HP-577 is idle.  enabled since Sat 29 Sep 2018 02:17:32 AM MDT
            File "/usr/lib/cups/filter/hpps" not available: No such file or directory
    printer HP-7720 is idle.  enabled since Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:32:50 PM MDT
    printer HP-8210 is idle.  enabled since Fri 28 Sep 2018 11:25:57 PM MDT
            File "/usr/lib/cups/filter/hpps" not available: No such file or directory
    That file is supplied as part of the hplip package.


    Quote Originally Posted by montana_suse_user View Post
    I installed hplip and tried to run hp-setup only to get the following error:

    Code:
    bart@UNIVAC:~> hp-setup
    
    HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.17.9)
    Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 9.0
    
    Copyright (c) 2001-15 HP Development Company, LP
    This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
    This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
    under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.
    
    error: libglib-2.0.so.0: failed to map segment from shared object
    Strange. I'm not sure what might be causing that.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •