Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 61 to 70 of 70

Thread: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    I've been using *SUSE for far more than a decade than I can remember. I've never seen a new kernel installation not produce symlinks vmlinuz and initrd for the newest kernel and initrd.
    I realized why there were no symlinks. I've been installing all kinds of different Linux distros and when you initially install it, there are no symlinks because grub is using the direct link to the kernel.

    But, when the 1st new kernel gets installed, it creates the symlinks. That is why I got confused for a minute.

    BTW, I have both Debian Stretch and Buster installed and did not use the swap file during installation.
    When I booted up it mounted the swap partition even though it was not in the /etc/fstab file. But, I added it immediately after installation.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series, HD: Western Digital 1TB SSD, OCZ 500GB SSD and a Toshiba 2TB SATA HD

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,363
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    BTW, I have both Debian Stretch and Buster installed and did not use the swap file during installation.
    When I booted up it mounted the swap partition even though it was not in the /etc/fstab file.
    Yes, some systems do that. I haven't looked closely, but I assume that they create a systemd mount unit to mount swap.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    BTW, I have both Debian Stretch and Buster installed and did not use the swap file during installation.
    When I booted up it mounted the swap partition even though it was not in the /etc/fstab file. But, I added it immediately after installation.
    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Yes, some systems do that. I haven't looked closely, but I assume that they create a systemd mount unit to mount swap.
    I've since deleted Stretch, way too boring and it could not find npm to install a npm-server for Visual Studio Code. Only distro I have ever seen that did that/ or didn't do that depending on how you look at it.
    I've since made Buster into Testing and Installed Mageia 7 where Stretch was. Both have working Fusion Icons so that is a +1 for me.

    Also, while I was installing one of the 2, I first tried using 50GB of another 480GB SSD for /, selecting my swap file but, did not check the format box.
    However it still wanted to format the swap, so I started over and told it not to use a swap, it still wanted to format my swap.

    So, apparently under that scenario you cannot prevent your swap file from being formatted no matter what you do. I ended up putting it on my 1TB SSD which still has lots of room and it didn't format the swap.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series, HD: Western Digital 1TB SSD, OCZ 500GB SSD and a Toshiba 2TB SATA HD

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,363
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    However it still wanted to format the swap, so I started over and told it not to use a swap, it still wanted to format my swap.
    I recently installed KDE Neon (which is ubuntu 18.04 + latest KDE). The installer said that it was going to format swap. And there was no way that I could tell it otherwise. But the UUID of swap did not change. So either it did not format it, or it formatted using the "-U" option (to "mkswap") to specify that the same UUID be used.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I recently installed KDE Neon (which is ubuntu 18.04 + latest KDE). The installer said that it was going to format swap. And there was no way that I could tell it otherwise. But the UUID of swap did not change. So either it did not format it, or it formatted using the "-U" option (to "mkswap") to specify that the same UUID be used.
    Interesting... I've never seen it say it was going to format swap and not do it.

    I just did a fresh install of openSUSE TW and if I told it to use swap it was going to format it even though I did not check the format box. So, I just didn't use swap.
    It formatted just the / partition but, when I booted up it was using swap even though it was not in fstab. I added it, making sure swap was on via gparted and it was. I always need to add my /Media partition to fstab anyway so I just did that while in there.

    If anyone is mutibooting with Fedora 30, since Fedora does not ever create symlinks for the kernel, I have a script that runs when the new kernel is created and creates /boot/initrd.img and /boot/vmlinuz for easy custom booting.
    The one I was using on Fedora 28 and 29 did not work on Fedora 30 but, I finally got it working on 30.
    Here's the script and it needs to be saved as 52-symlink-kernel.
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    #
    
    # We're passed the kernel version being installed
    KERNEL_VERSION="$1"
    
    ln -s -f "initramfs-"${1}".img" /boot/initrd.img
    
    ln -s -f "vmlinuz-"${1} /boot/vmlinuz
    
    echo "   SUCCESS: symlink initrd.img created for "initramfs-"${1}".img"" >&2
    echo "   SUCCESS: symlink vmlinuz created for "vmlinuz-"${1}" >&2
    
    exit 0
    If it's in your home directory, you would first make it executable sudo chmod +x 52-symlink-kernel.
    Then to install it you would use this command:
    Code:
    sudo install 52-symlink-kernel /etc/kernel/postinst.d/52-symlink-kernel
    Then in the terminal output of a new kernel installation you will see the SUCCESS lines. You can also check in /boot with ls -lA and verify that they are symlinked correctly.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series, HD: Western Digital 1TB SSD, OCZ 500GB SSD and a Toshiba 2TB SATA HD

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,650

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Swap is mounted by systemd in the 15.1 and TW now. Don't know why the change. Like the change of not having a separate home partition by default. Not certain either is a great idea.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,574

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    #
    
    # We're passed the kernel version being installed
    KERNEL_VERSION="$1"
    
    ln -s -f "initramfs-"${1}".img" /boot/initrd.img
    
    ln -s -f "vmlinuz-"${1} /boot/vmlinuz
    
    echo "   SUCCESS: symlink initrd.img created for "initramfs-"${1}".img"" >&2
    echo "   SUCCESS: symlink vmlinuz created for "vmlinuz-"${1}" >&2
    
    exit 0
    Without modification, it would would be inadequate here, as I keep multiple kernels:
    Code:
    # ls -Ggh vml* ini*
     40M Mar 11 07:48 initramfs-0-rescue-11352b14084942c18a21a5586db0b5b3.img
     16M Mar 11 04:40 initramfs-4.20.14-200.fc29.x86_64.img
     16M Mar 11 07:48 initramfs-5.0.0-0.rc8.git0.1.fc30.x86_64.img
     16M May  2 23:08 initramfs-5.0.9-301.fc30.x86_64.img
      35 May  2 23:18 initrd -> initramfs-5.0.9-301.fc30.x86_64.img
      35 May  2 23:17 initrd-cur -> initramfs-5.0.9-301.fc30.x86_64.img
      44 Mar 11 08:52 initrd-prv -> initramfs-5.0.0-0.rc8.git0.1.fc30.x86_64.img
      37 Mar 11 04:49 initrd-prv2 -> initramfs-4.20.14-200.fc29.x86_64.img
      55 Jun 20  2015 initrd-rescue -> initramfs-0-rescue-11352b14084942c18a21a5586db0b5b3.img
      29 May  2 23:18 vmlinuz -> vmlinuz-5.0.9-301.fc30.x86_64
    8.5M Mar 11 07:48 vmlinuz-0-rescue-11352b14084942c18a21a5586db0b5b3
    8.4M Mar  5 15:19 vmlinuz-4.20.14-200.fc29.x86_64
    8.5M Feb 26 05:49 vmlinuz-5.0.0-0.rc8.git0.1.fc30.x86_64
    8.5M Apr 23 20:11 vmlinuz-5.0.9-301.fc30.x86_64
      29 May  2 23:17 vmlinuz-cur -> vmlinuz-5.0.9-301.fc30.x86_64
      38 Mar 11 08:52 vmlinuz-prv -> vmlinuz-5.0.0-0.rc8.git0.1.fc30.x86_64
      31 Mar 11 04:49 vmlinuz-prv2 -> vmlinuz-4.20.14-200.fc29.x86_64
      49 Jun 20  2015 vmlinuz-rescue -> vmlinuz-0-rescue-11352b14084942c18a21a5586db0b5b3
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Swap is mounted by systemd in the 15.1 and TW now. Don't know why the change. Like the change of not having a separate home partition by default. Not certain either is a great idea.
    I have always just had just a single partition / plus 1 swap for every system. Once I tell it what partition to use, it seems to know I have a swap as the Install Now button is available.
    This is on every Linux system I have installed and there are few that I haven't.

    Honestly I don't think any of my swap file is ever used so maybe one day they will phase swap files out. I've got a 4GB swap file, which is just "there" satisfying the need for a swap file.
    On my old computer with 4GB RAM no swap was ever used. This one has 16GB and no swap is ever used plus I never hibernate just suspend.

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Without modification, it would would be inadequate here, as I keep multiple kernels.
    Fedora keeps 3 kernels but, I only use the latest kernel and have never needed, or wanted to boot into an older kernel in any Linux system.

    Here's my custom grub on openSUSE TW (for those of you who can view imgur that is):



    It's kind of slanted because it's not easy taking a picture with a phone of my screen. But, you get the idea.

    Also here is my desktop with the latest (today's) version of Conkywx:



    I think it's nearly ready, just a couple more changes that need made.
    The programmer Paramvir does this on the side too, just like any of us, so life gets in the way sometimes.
    He wrote his own version of conky too called conky-cairo, which is in the AUR.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series, HD: Western Digital 1TB SSD, OCZ 500GB SSD and a Toshiba 2TB SATA HD

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,574

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    I only use the latest kernel and have never needed, or wanted to boot into an older kernel in any Linux system.
    Those of us who triage and/or file bug reports, or simply test pre-releases, are sometimes asked to bisect, to narrow down when a problem began. I've needed to boot old kernels countless times, e.g. for https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1118689, as well as test kernels containing proposed fixes. There have also been plenty of times trying to match a forum or mailing list poster's configuration to narrow down whether it's a problem only on his hardware, or for everyone.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: How to have a custom UEFI grub menu for a multiboot system

    +1 ^ Good explanation for why some people need more than one kernel. I do not and most people won't normally use more than the latest kernel.
    They can also be manually created:
    Code:
    cd /boot
    sudo ln -s -f initramfs-5.1.16-300.fc30.x86_64.img initrd.img
    sudo ln -s -f vmlinuz-5.1.16-300.fc30.x86_64 vmlinuz
    In Arch Linux, I only use the regular kernel, I had the lts-kernel installed for awhile but, deleted it as it was unnecessary for me.

    Code:
    [cavsfan@ArchLinux ~]$ uname -r
    5.2.2-arch1-1-ARCH
    I believe using the UUID method is working out really well. You can pull a drive out of your machine and nothing changes, it still boots just the same.
    One of my Toshibas went out and it was /dev/sdb. When I first removed it, my 1TB SSD that has everything on it was /dev/sdc and became /dev/sdb but, it still booted just fine.
    I pulled the 480GB SSD out and made that /dev/sdb just to get it back like it was. Because I just wanted to I guess.

    Arch:
    Code:
    menuentry 'Arch Linux (rolling)' {
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 688D-126B
        linux  /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=bbca28b2-503e-4dc8-9850-c54bd0492da8 rw audit=0 loglevel=3 quiet
        initrd /intel-ucode.img /initramfs-linux.img
    }
    Code:
    menuentry 'openSUSE Tumbleweed (rolling)' {
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9926fad5-1dcc-47dc-80ec-d29183911250
        linux  /boot/vmlinuz root=UUID=9926fad5-1dcc-47dc-80ec-d29183911250 splash=silent resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/b564ed75-b9ee-410f-9f87-04afc30a0ff4 mitigations=auto quiet
        initrd /boot/initrd
    }
    Code:
    [cavsfan@ArchLinux ~]$ sudo blkid | grep -e "sdc1:" -e "sdc5:" -e "sdc6:" -e "sdc8:"
    /dev/sdc1: UUID="688D-126B" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI System Partition" PARTUUID="15661847-bc65-401a-84b0-97a157f3949f"
    /dev/sdc5: UUID="b564ed75-b9ee-410f-9f87-04afc30a0ff4" TYPE="swap" PARTLABEL="swap" PARTUUID="dc354366-1300-48d4-8a60-133aa2e2ca57"
    /dev/sdc6: LABEL="ArchLinux" UUID="bbca28b2-503e-4dc8-9850-c54bd0492da8" TYPE="ext4" PARTLABEL="Arch_Linux" PARTUUID="ea32dc7f-6d56-4a5c-b544-008abb8026e4"
    /dev/sdc8: LABEL="openSUSE" UUID="98a1842a-bd7f-4ce2-a0eb-b7290f6d81a9" TYPE="ext4" PARTLABEL="openSUSE" PARTUUID="dcaa5edb-0510-4bab-93e4-b238b329dbf7"
    I included EFI booting using UUIDs in my Wiki - Create a Custom Grub2 Screen that is maintenance free.
    (If I haven't already mentioned that before.)
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series, HD: Western Digital 1TB SSD, OCZ 500GB SSD and a Toshiba 2TB SATA HD

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •