Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: gimp : create image from screenshot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    191

    Default gimp : create image from screenshot

    Hello,

    Some time ago I used an option in Gimp to create new image ==> from Screenshot ==> select a region to grab.
    Seems that for my normal user this option has disappear.
    http://paste.opensuse.org/14282816

    but if is start gimp from with root then i have still this option
    http://paste.opensuse.org/4317196

    I tested gimp with a new normal user and there also the option "select a region to grab" is not present

    Any idea what can be the reason why I have this option only with root?
    setting or functionality?

    Many thanks in advance
    Philippe
    Tumbleweed (x86_64) Kernel 5.3.5 with KDE plasma

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,245

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    On Leap 15.0 the feature is still shown. This is GIMP 2.8.22.

    Maybe check against your GIMP version and then file a bug report?

    BTW I will never run GIMP as superuser, thus I can not comment on that.
    Last edited by hcvv; 02-Sep-2018 at 03:20.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    On Leap 15.0 the feature is still shown. This is GIMP 2.8.22.
    Still shown in Leap 15.0 but apparently doesn't work (at least here, only a black area shown on Gimp).
    Taking a screenshot to the Clipboard and "Create from Clipboard" in GIMP works though.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,245

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    Indeed I only checked if the functionality (radio button) was there (and it was).

    I now tried it out, and choose to grab part of the screen and it shows in GIMP (part of two GIMP windows and wall paper between them, exactly what I grabbed).

    So, to repeat, in my installation, it functions as expected.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    A few more tests:
    - works in Leap 42.3 KDE
    - option shown but doesn't work in TW Gnome at least since 201703xxx
    So apparently there is an issue with the Gnome version. Since the OP uses KDE and I'm no KDE-guy I'm going to stand-by.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,082
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    Hi
    Works here with Tumbleweed GNOME and x11... might be a wayland issue?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    Quote Originally Posted by phil524 View Post
    Hello,

    Some time ago I used an option in Gimp to create new image ==> from Screenshot ==> select a region to grab.
    Seems that for my normal user this option has disappear.
    http://paste.opensuse.org/14282816

    but if is start gimp from with root then i have still this option
    http://paste.opensuse.org/4317196

    I tested gimp with a new normal user and there also the option "select a region to grab" is not present

    Any idea what can be the reason why I have this option only with root?
    setting or functionality?

    Many thanks in advance
    Philippe
    Looks like a KDE problem.
    Could be a permission issue.

    I tried in KDE and I can confirm that select a region as user is not an option
    but as root the option is present.

    If I logout from KDE/plasma and use xfce the select a region option is there
    as a user and it is working.

    Maybe wolfi can help you with this if he has a chance to see this thread.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,245

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    As it now looks as if the DE might influence this, I want to add that I am using KDE (and it works).
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Works here with Tumbleweed GNOME and x11... might be a wayland issue?
    Seems so, works here too with GNOME and x11 in LEAP 15.0 and "ancient" TW from 2017. Sorry cannot comment on current TW.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: gimp : create image from screenshot

    Hello,

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Works here with Tumbleweed GNOME and x11... might be a wayland issue?
    I'm not using wayland but Xorg. So seems related to kde and tumbleweed


    Thanks
    Philippe
    Tumbleweed (x86_64) Kernel 5.3.5 with KDE plasma

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •