Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: RAM issue and system freeze

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brest, France
    Posts
    20

    Default RAM issue and system freeze

    Hi,
    I've freshly installed LEAP 15.0 on my computer. (Gnome Desktop)
    After the boot, when the computer is idle, I've noticed there is 1.9GB used (to do almost nothing)
    Quickly, when some windows are opened the computer runs out of RAM (4GB installed) and freezes.

    I find it weird as LEAP 15.0 spec is only 2GB RAM.
    Previously I ran LEAP 42.1 with no problems.
    HAs anyone the same issue? what should be the RAM occupation?
    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,646

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Have you run top to see what eats memory??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Quote Originally Posted by kernico29 View Post
    HAs anyone the same issue? what should be the RAM occupation?
    Fairly standard Gnome install here. I see the following:
    some 200MB RAM in "runlevel 3" logged to a console (no Gnome...)
    some 1.1 GB with one user logged to the desktop, terminal with "top" running
    some 1.4 GB with Gnome System Monitor running.

    To reach 1.9 GB used RAM like at this moment:
    Code:
    top - 17:51:59 up 7 min,  2 users,  load average: 0,17, 0,18, 0,10
    Tasks: 289 total,   1 running, 288 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    %Cpu(s):  0,2 us,  0,0 sy,  0,0 ni, 99,8 id,  0,0 wa,  0,0 hi,  0,0 si,  0,0 st
    KiB Mem : 16304628 total, 12954504 free,  1891200 used,  1458924 buff/cache
    KiB Swap: 16777212 total, 16777212 free,        0 used. 13903456 avail Mem
    I have a terminal, Firefox with 20 tabs open, Evolution, Files, Image Viewer, LibreOffice Calc with a fairly complex spreadsheet open.
    So I guess you have a RAM eater somewhere...
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brest, France
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Hi,
    Thank you all for your reply.
    I haven't succeeded to get clues from top. There are many small consumers, everything seems normal.
    Here is the result of top with terminal and firefox (one tab, suse forums). Only one user logged.
    Which makes 2.2GB used memory!

    Code:
    top - 17:58:23 up 1 day,  8:12,  3 users,  load average: 0,31, 0,32, 0,15
    Tasks: 242 total,   1 running, 241 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    %Cpu(s):  1,2 us,  0,3 sy,  0,0 ni, 98,3 id,  0,0 wa,  0,0 hi,  0,1 si,  0,0 st
    KiB Mem :  3894244 total,   980412 free,  2295652 used,   618180 buff/cache
    KiB Swap:        0 total,        0 free,        0 used.  1415320 avail Mem 
    
      PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU  %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND                                     
    30092 kerinao+  20   0 1895476 243024 148004 S 4,620 6,241   0:17.61 Web Content                                 
    30026 kerinao+  20   0 2507532 337176 146344 S 1,320 8,658   0:23.58 firefox                                     
        7 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0,330 0,000   0:01.06 ksoftirqd/0                                 
     1700 kerinao+  20   0  312284  94432  44260 S 0,330 2,425  15:20.24 X                                           
     2020 kerinao+  20   0 4183024 573920  81440 S 0,330 14,74  18:42.95 gnome-shell                                 
    30023 kerinao+  20   0   41396   3988   3372 R 0,330 0,102   0:01.43 top

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,564

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    I wonder what application is "Web Content"? I've never seen it before (I never use Gnome). Is this something run in a Firefox tab? If yes, do you have it open always when you have Firefox open?
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    I wonder what application is "Web Content"? I've never seen it before (I never use Gnome). Is this something run in a Firefox tab? If yes, do you have it open always when you have Firefox open?
    Yes, "Web Content" is something related to web pages open in Firefox (not sure if multimedia content and/or javascripts) and there may be several running at the same time. Closing and reopening Firefox might temporarily lower the amount of RAM used.
    Quote Originally Posted by kernico29 View Post
    Hi,
    Thank you all for your reply.
    I haven't succeeded to get clues from top. There are many small consumers, everything seems normal.
    Here is the result of top with terminal and firefox (one tab, suse forums). Only one user logged.
    Which makes 2.2GB used memory!
    Nothing strange in what you posted, but since the (default) sort column is "%CPU", try moving the sort column to "%MEM" with the ">" key to see if there is a hidden offender.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,646

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Ok Linux does not like non used memory to go unused so it uses that for disk cache which will be used if needed by a program but other wise is used to optimize disk access. So what "you" use is 600 meg less then the 2.2 gig shown as used. so call it 1.6 gig which is not to far from what I'd expect. the 600 meg of cache will become used if needed. and you have about 1.6 gig before you start to seriously start to use cache memory. currently you do not use any cache. Until you do I would not worry.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    ... So what "you" use is 600 meg less then the 2.2 gig shown as used. so call it 1.6 gig which is not to far from what I'd expect. ...
    Sorry, that isn't correct, it doesn't add up:
    Code:
    KiB Mem :  3894244 total,   980412 free,  2295652 used,   618180 buff/cache
    2295652 used + 618180 cache + 980412 free = 3894244 total
    So 2.2GB were actually in use at the time of this snapshot.
    I would not worry either, if the OP were not claiming that the system quickly runs out of RAM and freezes...
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Quote Originally Posted by kernico29 View Post
    ...
    Code:
    top - 17:58:23 up 1 day,  8:12,  3 users,  load average: 0,31, 0,32, 0,15
    Tasks: 242 total,   1 running, 241 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    %Cpu(s):  1,2 us,  0,3 sy,  0,0 ni, 98,3 id,  0,0 wa,  0,0 hi,  0,1 si,  0,0 st
    KiB Mem :  3894244 total,   980412 free,  2295652 used,   618180 buff/cache
    KiB Swap:        0 total,        0 free,        0 used.  1415320 avail Mem 
    
      PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU  %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND                                     
    30092 kerinao+  20   0 1895476 243024 148004 S 4,620 6,241   0:17.61 Web Content                                 
    30026 kerinao+  20   0 2507532 337176 146344 S 1,320 8,658   0:23.58 firefox                                     
        7 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0,330 0,000   0:01.06 ksoftirqd/0                                 
     1700 kerinao+  20   0  312284  94432  44260 S 0,330 2,425  15:20.24 X                                           
     2020 kerinao+  20   0 4183024 573920  81440 S 0,330 14,74  18:42.95 gnome-shell                                 
    30023 kerinao+  20   0   41396   3988   3372 R 0,330 0,102   0:01.43 top
    Are you deliberately NOT using any SWAP or is something wrong in your configuration?
    Kernel memory allocation works better when (even a small amount of) SWAP is available and you would not experience a sudden freeze when you run out of physical RAM.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brest, France
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: RAM issue and system freeze

    Here are some news.
    Sorry for the delay, I have young childrens who don't care the linux kernel...

    TOP
    Sorting TOP to %MEM shows me that almost 15% of memory is used by Evolution services that I don't care actually. Seeking the forums, I haven't found a way to stop these background services.

    SWAP
    No SWAP is not a choice. I didn't change anything in the standard installation. But the partitioning since I install over the old version and start doing it with opensuse 11.2.
    When running out of memory, the system slows down, you can hear HDD acces and you need many minutes to move the mouse and close windows. Generally it ends with hard shutdown, I'm not used to unstable system. Actually it is the first time since 11.2 !!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •