Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

  1. #1

    Question Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Hi,

    IIRC installing memtest86+ was enough in order to have it as a boot option in GRUB2. However today I installed it on this Leap 15 system and it doesn't show up after reboot. At the same time I see:

    Code:
    # ls -l /boot/memtest.bin
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 182704 Feb 19  2018 /boot/memtest.bin
    which is strange (considering the date)

    So how can I have memtest86+ as boot entry?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,835

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by heyjoe View Post
    IIRC installing memtest86+ was enough in order to have it as a boot option in GRUB2. However today I installed it on this Leap 15 system and it doesn't show up after reboot. At the same time I see:

    Code:
    # ls -l /boot/memtest.bin
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 182704 Feb 19  2018 /boot/memtest.bin
    which is strange (considering the date)

    So how can I have memtest86+ as boot entry?
    Does your system UEFI boot? I don't think anyone ever made a memtest86+ that works via UEFI. I use memtest86 instead via custom.cfg:
    Code:
    menuentry "memtest86 7.4 EFI" {
    	search --no-floppy --label --set=root P01ESPPART
    	chainloader /mt74x64.efi
    }
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  3. #3

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Does your system UEFI boot?
    Yes.

    I don't think anyone ever made a memtest86+ that works via UEFI.
    If I read correctly its version history it works with UEFI.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5,230

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by heyjoe View Post
    If I read correctly its version history it works with UEFI.
    memtest86+ != memtest86

  5. #5

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    memtest86+ != memtest86
    I wasn't aware of that. Thanks for the info.
    I see /usr/share/doc/packages/memtest86+/README says:

    Code:
    For updates go to the Memtest86 web page:
    
            http://www.memtest86.com
    but :
    Code:
    # rpm -qi memtest86+ | grep URL
    URL         : http://www.memtest.org
    The same README also suggests:
    Code:
      To boot from a disk partition via Grub
       1) Copy the image file to a permanent location (ie. /boot/memtest.bin).
       2) Add an entry in the Grub config file (/boot/grub/menu.lst) to boot
          memtest86.  Only the title and kernel fields need to be specified.
          The following is a sample Grub entry for booting memtest86:
    
            title Memtest86
                kernel (hd0,0)/memtest.bin
    However /boot/grub/menu.lst doesn't exist. Should I create /boot/grub2/custom.cfg instead? Also what should the entry be, considering that /boot is on /dev/sdd4?

    And one more question (which I may change the need for all that): I am actually looking for a FOSS rawhammer test. I am not sure if memtest86+ supports that. What would you suggest?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,224
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Hi
    Just mount the usb image and extract the bootx64.efi and rename to say memtest86.efi, then down in /boot/efi/EFI;
    Code:
    su -
    mkdir -p /boot/efi/EFI/memtest
    mv <path_to_efi_file>/BOOTX64.efi /boot/efi/EFI/memtest/memtest86.efi
    efibootmgr -c -L "memtest86 7.5" -l "\\EFI\\memtest\\memtest86.efi"
    Then at boot time, just select you F12 (or which ever key to get to the boot menu, F9 on my HP setups) and select the efi file... Seems to me it will be a bit easier this way than maintaining a grub entry...

    Note: secure boot will probably need to be off, since not sure it they have the efi file signed ($$).
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5,230

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    secure boot will probably need to be off
    memtest86 supports secure boot according to the feature list on their site.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Just mount the usb image and extract the bootx64.efi and rename to say memtest86.efi, then down in /boot/efi/EFI;
    What are you talking about? I don't have a usb image.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,224
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by heyjoe View Post
    What are you talking about? I don't have a usb image.
    Hi
    On the download site, only saw a USB or ISO image to download..... is there a separate download somewhere for the efi file?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,887
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Adding memtest86+ as boot entry

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    On the download site, only saw a USB or ISO image to download..... is there a separate download somewhere for the efi file?
    There was a discussion of this in an earlier mailing list thread:

    TW Grub EFI menu & memtest86+
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •