Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be oversize

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Loma Linda, Mo
    Posts
    90

    Question New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be oversize

    I have some Dell UHD laptops that I converted from 42.3 to 15.0 via the USB update image as the zypper dup from init 3 would not connect to WiFi and Ethernet was not an option.

    The conversion went well but when 15.0 booted the 1st time the display was UHD (3840x2160) not FHD (1920x1080). I changed the display to the correct resolution as all my wine apps were too small to see. Now many apps are too big - VLC, Virtualbox and VBox machines are 4 times too big. My large monitor that I connect the laptops to cannot display UHD and I cannot see the mini fonts but something with the upgrade caused this.

    How do I fix this - I cannot find the source of this -
    Last edited by larryr; 31-Jul-2018 at 17:43. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    Quote Originally Posted by larryr View Post
    I have some Dell UHD laptops that I converted from 42.3 to 15.0 via the USB update image as the zypper dup from init 3 would not connect to WiFi and Ethernet was not an option.

    The conversion went well but when 15.0 booted the 1st time the display was UHD (3840x2160) not FHD (1920x1080). I changed the display to the correct resolution as all my wine apps were too small to see. Now many apps are too big - VLC, Virtualbox and VBox machines are 4 times too big. My large monitor that I connect the laptops to cannot display UHD and I cannot see the mini fonts but something with the upgrade caused this.

    How do I fix this - I cannot find the source of this -
    HiDPI problems can be a sticky wicket to solve.

    Exactly how did you "changed the display to the correct resolution"?

    What do
    Code:
    xrdb -query | grep dpi
    and
    Code:
    sudo zypper in inxi; inxi -Gxx
    in an Xterm or Konsole report?

    Which DE and/or WM are you using?

    Which DM are you using? If sddm you may need to refer to https://en.opensuse.org/Sddm

    If you create a new user, does using it change the behavior?

    Are these UEFI installations?

    Is 15.0 the only installed operating system? If not, what else is?
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Loma Linda, Mo
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    no UEFI - basic grub2 no NVIDIA drivers - nouveau.modeset=0 in /etc/default/grub or system hangs

    # xrdb -query | grep dpi
    Xft.dpi: 95.923828125
    #
    # inxi -Gxx
    Graphics: Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 530 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:191b
    Card-2: NVIDIA GM107M [GeForce GTX 960M]
    bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:139b
    Display Server: X.org 1.19.6
    drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,intel)
    tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X
    #

    changed display via System > Preference > Displays > in Resolution Box and choose 1920X1080 and accept (to go back I chose the highest resolution 3840x2160)

    Desktop is Mate with GDM as display manager

    Was only LEAP 42.3 upgraded to LEAP 15.0 (Windows 10 was completely eradicated and MBR changed to MSDOS from GPT) and Packman was removed before update and readded after update and allowed to replace openSUSE files with Packman for 15.0. Issue with VLC was there before it upgraded to Packman version.

    Hard to add a new user as it is automated to autologon and start 6 VirtualBox Virtual Machines that are in use - will be Friday before I can try adding new user - If I VNC into one of the Virtual Machines rather than from the host machine - the display is the correct resolution.

    Identical laptop with 42.3 answers (different vendor SSD's as I don't want then to die at about the same time again as some old WD 320gb did a day apart) both Dells - Have not tried this yet on one of the two HP UHD laptops - both in other states and I cannot do a remote upgrade - they will be overnight-ed to me do be done.

    # xrdb -query | grep dpi
    Xft.dpi: 96.0419921875
    # inxi -Gxx
    Resuming in non X mode: xdpyinfo not found. For package install advice run: inxi --recommends
    Graphics: Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 530 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:191b
    Card-2: NVIDIA GM107M [GeForce GTX 960M]
    bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:139b
    Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,intel)
    tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
    #

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    Intel + NVidia = Optimus video, so there's little more I can help with but to point to https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_Bumblebee and say there are a lot of threads "here" (mainly in Install/Boot/Login and in Hardware) and elsewhere about solving problems with Optimus. HTH
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Loma Linda, Mo
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    Solved -

    I restored user 1000 from last good backup before the update to another location in home <1000> is the username that is logged in.

    cd /home
    tar xvf /path/to/lastback.tar home/<1000>
    cd /home/home
    mv <1000> old1000
    mv old1000 ../.
    cd ../.
    pwd (make sure you are where you want to be)
    rmdir home
    mv <1000> new1000 ; mv old1000 <1000> ; init 6

    and everything looks like it did in 42.3 after the reboot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,131

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    Quote Originally Posted by larryr View Post
    the display was UHD (3840x2160) . I changed the display to the correct resolution as all my wine apps were too small to seed. -
    Did you try adjusting the display scale?
    System Settings > Display and Monitor > Displays > Scale Display (its right at the bottom)
    there is a slider.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Loma Linda, Mo
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    Sorry the above post was wrong - it went directly to UHD and wine is miniaturized

    Back to the drawing board

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Loma Linda, Mo
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: New issue UHD display upgrading to 15.0 and changing resolution to FHD cause may apps to be over

    It is a QT5 issue with MATE 20.

    In MATE-Tweak under windows there is a HiDPI option - it was set to High - changed to normal and it fixed the problem

    Found this in the Ubuntu MATE release document for release 20 MATE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •