Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nvidia Driver install while updating borked Xserver.

Default Nvidia Driver install while updating borked Xserver.

I'm new to tumbleweed so bear with me.

I got my system up and running and followed the instructions on how to install the Nvidia driver the easy way via zypper by adding the repo and telling it to install and restarting. Did that but when it rebooted it said that there were lots of updates for the system. Did the zypper dup and now it seems like something is wrong with the xserver. My best guess is that it looks like one of the updates moved to a newer kernel while installing the Nvidia driver. Inside the grub boot options I tried booting from the older kernel but it still refuses to boot to a graphical interface.

I'm pretty noob and I'm not sure what to do. Any help would be appreciated.

Default Re: Nvidia Driver install while updating borked Xserver.

Indeed snapshot 20180722 introduced a new X server
    xorg-x11-server (1.19.6 -> 1.20.0)
    How did you update? From a terminal emulator within the graphical desktop environment?
    Performing a "zypper dup" from the graphical session when X is going to be updated is looking for trouble, possibly leading to an incomplete or broken upgrade.
    If that was your case, maybe booting to a console and doing the upgrade again might solve your problem.
    To do so, at the bootloader screen press "E" for "edit", look for a line beginning with "linuxefi", append "3" (without quotes) then F10 to boot.
    At the login prompt, enter your regular username and password, then:
    Code:
    sudo zypper dup
    and hope for the best.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

Quote Originally Posted by OrsoBruno View Post
    Indeed snapshot 20180722 introduced a new X server
    How did you update? From a terminal emulator within the graphical desktop environment?