Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

  1. #1

    Default Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Since about 2 days, my locale has been changed to:
    Code:
    charles@fiume7:~> locale
    LANG=aa_DJ.utf8
    LC_CTYPE=en_US.UTF-8
    LC_NUMERIC="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_TIME="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_COLLATE="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_MONETARY="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_MESSAGES="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_PAPER="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_NAME="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_ADDRESS="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_TELEPHONE="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_MEASUREMENT="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_IDENTIFICATION="aa_DJ.utf8"
    LC_ALL=
    and as a result 1 program aborted (kontact) and the month abbreviations in an ls command are unknown to me, such as
    Code:
    -charles@fiume7:~> ll
    -rw-r--r--  1 charles users     5640 qad 14 22:30 ,sda
    -rw-r--r--  1 charles users      336 qun 12  2018 rout.2
    -rw-r--r--  1 charles users       18 nah 22  2017 pin
    rather than
    Code:
    charles@fiume7:~> ll
    -rw-r--r--  1 charles users     5640 Jul 14 22:30 ,sda
    -rw-r--r--  1 charles users      336 Jan 12  2018 rout.2
    -rw-r--r--  1 charles users       18 Feb 22  2017 pin
    This odd behaviour started only about 2 days ago and I have been searching for "aa_DJ.utf8" through the whole system where these odd definitions are taken place but I have found nothing. Other users on this computer do not suffer from this behaviour, their locale is normal, which points to a setting in my home directory, but again I failed to find something. But maybe aa_DJ.utf8 is simply a default value in case something is undefined. I have tried to override LANG in my ~/.profile, but although this contains a few variable settings (LESS, PAGER, DICTIONARY, etc) which are taken into account, the extra LANG=en_US.UTF-8 is not.
    Any suggestions where to look?
    Thanks, Charles

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,885
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Apparently "aa_DJ" is for Djibouti

    In addition to ".profile", you should check ".bashrc" and similar possible files. May
    Code:
    ls .bash*
    There might be a desktop configuration setting. In KDE/Plasma, use
    Configure Desktop --> Account Details

    however, I don't find Djibouti among the choices for Leap 15.0
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,384

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    According to the list in YaST, aa is Afar

    With my limited knowledge I would say that UTF-8 is correct and utf8 is not.

    Seems like a strange overwriting of something.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Thanks, I checked Xfce (that's my window manager) and KDE settings, but no Djibouti settings (which is also not in 42.3 list). But I included the LC_* settings in my home bashrc.local file and that seems fine now. Problem solved. Still, what has happened that caused all this, remains a mystery.

    Charles

  5. #5

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Quote Originally Posted by fluid_02 View Post
    Thanks, I checked Xfce (that's my window manager) and KDE settings, but no Djibouti settings (which is also not in 42.3 list). But I included the LC_* settings in my home bashrc.local file and that seems fine now. Problem solved. Still, what has happened that caused all this, remains a mystery.

    Charles
    I am still searching and found several more or less identical lines in /var/log/messages at variuous times, and this is the first time:
    Code:
    2018-07-25T18:21:18.802771+02:00 fiume7 polkitd[2309]: Registered Authentication Agent for unix-session:2 (system bus name :1.42 [/usr/lib/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1], object path /org/gnome/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent, locale aa_DJ.utf8)
    I have no clue what this is supposed to do and the path listed does not exist.
    Code:
    fiume7:/var/log # ll /org/gnome/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent
    ls: cannot access '/org/gnome/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent': No such file or directory
    Is this of any help to locate the origin of the problem?

    Charles

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,885
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Quote Originally Posted by fluid_02 View Post
    Code:
    2018-07-25T18:21:18.802771+02:00 fiume7 polkitd[2309]: Registered Authentication Agent for unix-session:2 (system bus name :1.42 [/usr/lib/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1], object path /org/gnome/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent, locale aa_DJ.utf8)
    To me, that looks like a path in a database. So I ran "dconf-editor" but I was unable to find that path on my system.

    But it might also be a path within the policy kit data, which also has some sort of internal path structure.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  7. #7

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Resetting locale in bashrc.local is not solving all problems, because restarts after reboot or starting programs via short cut icons do not take bashrc.local setting into account. I have searched thru whole system again and found other references to aa_DJ.utf8 (btw a locale for aa_DJ was installed).
    Here is /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log output (see line at +24.91s):
    Code:
    sudo cat /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Starting Light Display Manager 1.22.0, UID=0 PID=3790
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Loading configuration dirs from /usr/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Loading configuration from /usr/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d/50-suse-defaults.conf
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Loading configuration dirs from /usr/local/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Loading configuration dirs from /etc/xdg/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Loading configuration from /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Registered seat module local
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Registered seat module xremote
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Registered seat module unity
    [+0.02s] DEBUG: Using D-Bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager
    [+0.04s] DEBUG: Monitoring logind for seats
    [+0.04s] DEBUG: New seat added from logind: seat0
    [+0.04s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Loading properties from config section Seat:*
    [+0.04s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Starting
    [+0.04s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Creating greeter session
    [+0.09s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Creating display server of type x
    [+0.09s] DEBUG: Using VT 7
    [+0.09s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Starting local X display on VT 7
    [+0.09s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/x-0.log
    [+0.09s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Writing X server authority to /run/lightdm/root/:0
    [+0.09s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Launching X Server
    [+0.10s] DEBUG: Launching process 3806: /usr/bin/X :0 -seat seat0 -auth /run/lightdm/root/:0 -nolisten tcp vt7 -novtswitch
    [+0.10s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Waiting for ready signal from X server :0
    [+0.10s] DEBUG: Acquired bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager
    [+0.10s] DEBUG: Registering seat with bus path /org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
    [+0.33s] DEBUG: Loading users from org.freedesktop.Accounts
    [+0.33s] DEBUG: User /org/freedesktop/Accounts/User1004 added
    [+0.33s] DEBUG: User /org/freedesktop/Accounts/User1000 added
    [+0.34s] DEBUG: User /org/freedesktop/Accounts/User1003 added
    [+0.34s] DEBUG: User /org/freedesktop/Accounts/User1001 added
    [+5.58s] DEBUG: Got signal 10 from process 3806
    [+5.58s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Got signal from X server :0
    [+5.58s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Connecting to XServer :0
    [+5.58s] CRITICAL: g_object_unref: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
    [+5.58s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Display server ready, starting session authentication
    [+5.58s] DEBUG: Session pid=3847: Started with service 'lightdm-greeter', username 'lightdm'
    [+5.79s] DEBUG: Session pid=3847: Authentication complete with return value 0: Success
    [+5.79s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Session authenticated, running command
    [+5.79s] DEBUG: Launching process 3850: /etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup
    [+6.31s] DEBUG: Process 3850 exited with return value 0
    [+6.31s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Exit status of /etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup: 0
    [+6.31s] DEBUG: Session pid=3847: Running command /usr/sbin/lightdm-gtk-greeter
    [+6.31s] DEBUG: Creating shared data directory /var/lib/lightdm-data/lightdm
    [+6.31s] DEBUG: Session pid=3847: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/seat0-greeter.log
    [+6.52s] DEBUG: Activating VT 7
    [+6.52s] DEBUG: Activating login1 session 1
    [+6.52s] DEBUG: Seat seat0 changes active session to 1
    [+6.52s] DEBUG: Session 1 is already active
    [+7.45s] DEBUG: Greeter connected version=1.22.0 api=1 resettable=false
    [+9.93s] DEBUG: Greeter start authentication for charles
    [+9.93s] DEBUG: Session pid=3875: Started with service 'lightdm', username 'charles'
    [+9.96s] DEBUG: Session pid=3875: Got 1 message(s) from PAM
    [+9.96s] DEBUG: Prompt greeter with 1 message(s)
    [+24.89s] DEBUG: Continue authentication
    [+24.91s] DEBUG: Session pid=3875: Authentication complete with return value 0: Success
    [+24.91s] DEBUG: Authenticate result for user charles: Success
    [+24.91s] DEBUG: User charles authorized
    [+24.91s] DEBUG: Greeter sets language aa_DJ.utf8
    [+25.09s] DEBUG: Greeter requests session xfce
    [+25.09s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Stopping greeter; display server will be re-used for user session
    [+25.09s] DEBUG: Terminating login1 session 1
    [+25.09s] DEBUG: Session pid=3847: Sending SIGTERM
    [+25.77s] DEBUG: Greeter closed communication channel
    [+25.77s] DEBUG: Session pid=3847: Exited with return value 0
    [+25.77s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Session stopped
    [+25.77s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Greeter stopped, running session
    [+25.77s] DEBUG: Launching process 3880: /etc/X11/xdm/Xstartup
    [+25.87s] DEBUG: Process 3880 exited with return value 0
    [+25.87s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Exit status of /etc/X11/xdm/Xstartup: 0
    [+25.87s] DEBUG: Registering session with bus path /org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Session0
    [+25.87s] CRITICAL: g_object_unref: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
    [+25.87s] DEBUG: Session pid=3875: Running command /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession startxfce4
    [+25.87s] DEBUG: Creating shared data directory /var/lib/lightdm-data/charles
    [+25.87s] DEBUG: Session pid=3875: Logging to .xsession-errors
    [+26.29s] DEBUG: Activating VT 7
    [+26.29s] DEBUG: Activating login1 session 2
    [+26.29s] DEBUG: Seat seat0 changes active session to 
    [+26.29s] DEBUG: Seat seat0 changes active session to 2
    [+26.29s] DEBUG: Session 2 is already active
    But I cannot find any lightdm conf file which makes a reference to aa_DJ.

    Any further suggestions? Thanks

    Charles

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    kOrganizer, Kontact, and similar kde programs do not use the date and locale settings properly, in my personal opinion. Instead, they use a kde-specific method. So, if you are running, say, Xfce without at least the basic kde desktop installed, you will have locale problems.The best bet is just to install the Plasma pattern, should fix it for you.
    Last edited by Fraser_Bell; 30-Jul-2018 at 14:05. Reason: Rephrase, mixup
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Strange locale since 2 days - how to change?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    kOrganizer, Kontact, and similar kde programs do not use the date and locale settings properly, in my personal opinion. Instead, they use a kde-specific method. So, if you are running, say, Xfce without at least the basic kde desktop installed, you will have locale problems.The best bet is just to install the Plasma pattern, should fix it for you.
    Thanks, I will consider this, but it's going to install a lot more that I don't really like. Besides, all worked fine until about 1 week ago, so maybe I should have a look at the history of installs, maybe it will give a clue.

    Charles

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •