Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: vncserver -blank screen

  1. #1

    Default vncserver -blank screen

    Setup by yast2 & started as regular user -blank screen; started as sudo vncserver -works fine.

    Code:
    Xvnc TigerVNC 1.8.0 - built ??? ?? ???? ??:??:??
    Copyright (C) 1999-2017 TigerVNC Team and many others (see README.txt)
    See http://www.tigervnc.org for information on TigerVNC.
    Underlying X server release 11906000, The X.Org Foundation
    
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:49:20 2018
     vncext:      VNC extension running!
     Config:      set immutable AllowOverride
     vncext:      Listening for VNC connections on all interface(s), port 5902
     VNCServerST: creating single-threaded server xxxxxxxx:2 (yyyyyyyy)
     vncext:      created VNC server for screen 0
    kcm_input: Using X11 backend
    startkde: Starting up...
    dbus-update-activation-environment: warning: error sending to systemd: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.InvalidArgs: Invalid environment assignments
    kdeinit5: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!
    kdeinit5_wrapper: Warning: connect(/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__2) failed: : Connection refused
    Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL
    Configuring Lock Action
    ksmserver: "/run/user/1000/KSMserver"
    ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  0 , prot= local , file= @/tmp/.ICE-unix/2853
    ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  1 , prot= unix , file= /tmp/.ICE-unix/2853
    ksmserver: KSMServer::restoreSession  "saved at previous logout"
    startkde: Shutting down...
    kdeinit5_wrapper: Warning: connect(/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__2) failed: : Connection refused
    Error: Can not contact kdeinit5!
    startkde: Done.
    Qt: Session management error: Could not open network socket
    OpenGL vendor string:                   VMware, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string:                 llvmpipe (LLVM 5.0, 128 bits)
    OpenGL version string:                  3.0 Mesa 18.0.2
    OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
    Driver:                                 LLVMpipe
    GPU class:                              Unknown
    OpenGL version:                         3.0
    GLSL version:                           1.30
    Mesa version:                           18.0.2
    X server version:                       1.19.6
    Linux kernel version:                   4.12.14
    Requires strict binding:                yes
    GLSL shaders:                           yes
    Texture NPOT support:                   yes
    Virtual Machine:                        no
    kf5.kcoreaddons.desktopparser: Property type "Url" is not a known QVariant type. Found while parsing property definition for "X-KWin-Video-Url" in "/usr/share/kservicetypes5/kwineffect.desktop"
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:50:00 2018
     XserverDesktop: new client, sock 8
     Connections: accepted: 127.0.0.1::42664
     SConnection: reading protocol version
     SConnection: Client needs protocol version 3.8
     SConnection: processing security type message
     SConnection: Client requests security type VeNCrypt(19)
     SConnection: processing security message
     SConnection: processing security message
     SConnection: processing security message
     SConnection: processing security message
     SVeNCrypt:   Client requests security type TLSVnc (258)
     TLS:         Process security message (session (nil))
     TLS:         Anonymous session has been set
     TLS:         Deferring completion of TLS handshake: Resource temporarily
                  unavailable, try again.
     SConnection: processing security message
     TLS:         Process security message (session 0x5619808f7450)
     TLS:         Deferring completion of TLS handshake: Resource temporarily
                  unavailable, try again.
     SConnection: processing security message
     TLS:         Process security message (session 0x5619808f7450)
     TLS:         Handshake completed
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:50:05 2018
     SConnection: processing security message
     SVncAuth:    reading password file
     VNCServerST: starting desktop
     VNCSConnST:  Server default pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
     SConnection: reading client initialisation
     VNCSConnST:  non-shared connection - closing clients
     VNCSConnST:  Client pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
     XserverDesktop: Got request for framebuffer resize to 1024x728
     XserverDesktop: 1 screen(s)
        1804289383 (0x6b8b4567): 1024x728+0+0 (flags
                  0x00000000)
    
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 0 pixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:-nan ratio)
     VNCSConnST:  FramebufferUpdateRequest 1024x768 at 0,0 exceeds framebuffer
                  1024x728
     XserverDesktop: Got request for framebuffer resize to 1024x703
     XserverDesktop: 1 screen(s)
        1804289383 (0x6b8b4567): 1024x703+0+0 (flags
                  0x00000000)
    
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 745.472 kpixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:inf ratio)
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:50:10 2018
     XserverDesktop: client gone, sock 8
     Connections: closed: 127.0.0.1::42664 (Clean disconnection)
     EncodeManager: Framebuffer updates: 3
     EncodeManager:   Tight:
     EncodeManager:     Solid: 3 rects, 2.25178 Mpixels
     EncodeManager:            48 B (1:187649 ratio)
     EncodeManager:   Total: 3 rects, 2.25178 Mpixels
     EncodeManager:          48 B (1:187649 ratio)
     VNCServerST: no authenticated clients - stopping desktop
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 2.15962 Mpixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:inf ratio)
    The X11 connection broke (error 1). Did the X11 server die?
    how to solve 'suse' way ??

  2. #2

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    +1. I'd be interested in knowing the solution to this issue. I've hit this problem as well. vncserver "works" when run as root but when run by a user the vnc client always shows a blank/black screen.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Quote Originally Posted by gumof View Post
    Setup by yast2 & started as regular user -blank screen; started as sudo vncserver -works fine.
    ...
    how to solve 'suse' way ??
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...e/cha.vnc.html

    Did you “Allow Remote Administration With Session Management” or “Allow Remote Administration Without Session Management”?
    Why do you want an ordinary user to be able to start and stop a system service?
    What client software are you using t connect to the sever?
    You have posted a quantity of “CODE” with no indication of where it has come from. We expect to see the command line included, not just random output.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Switch your Display Manager to XDM, KDM (you would have to install that in Yast, first), or LightDM on the machines you are trying to access.

    Code:
    su -
    and give the password, then:
    Code:
    update-alternatives --config default-displaymanager
    choose your Display Manager from the list.

    SDDM does not work well with VNC yet.
    Last edited by Fraser_Bell; 24-Jul-2018 at 21:44.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...e/cha.vnc.html

    Did you “Allow Remote Administration With Session Management” or “Allow Remote Administration Without Session Management”?
    Should not really matter for TigerVNC, which the OP is using.

    Code:
    What client software are you using t connect to the sever?
    TigerVNC, obviously.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  6. #6

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    Switch your Display Manager to XDM, KDM (you would have to install that in Yast, first), or LightDM on the machines you are trying to access.

    Code:
    su -
    and give the password, then:
    Code:
    update-alternatives --config default-displaymanager
    choose your Display Manager from the list.

    SDDM does not work well with VNC yet.
    Switching to XDM || KDM -solves problem... thx man.
    btw. i'm quite sure -i was able to start connection as regular user when I did start x'es as that particular user
    is it d-bus / auth || XDMCP-SDDM issue ?
    /I've been out (bored) being admin of own systems, in *nix case: before systemd /

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Quote Originally Posted by gumof View Post
    Switching to XDM || KDM -solves problem... thx man.
    btw. i'm quite sure -i was able to start connection as regular user when I did start x'es as that particular user
    is it d-bus / auth || XDMCP-SDDM issue ?
    /I've been out (bored) being admin of own systems, in *nix case: before systemd /
    You are launching the desktop by ssh-ing to the user account on the other machine, then running:
    Code:
    vncserver
    am I correct? Then you are logging out of that ssh session before launching the local instance in one window,
    Code:
    ssh -t -L 590X:localhost:590X username@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 'x11vnc -localhost -nolookup -nopw -display :X'
    where the X is replaced by whatever Display Number the vncserver spawned? Then, in another window, you are connecting with:
    Code:
    vncviewer
    localhost:X
    to get a desktop through a secure SSH tunnel?

    Please note that something seems to have changed in 15.0 and TW, where you might have to spawn TWO instances of the user with vncserver, because for some reason TigerVNC no longer will connect to the first instance, but will connect to the second instance with a higher Display Number.

    I am planning to investigate that further in the near future, but this is how I have managed a work-around.
    Last edited by Fraser_Bell; 25-Jul-2018 at 21:22. Reason: formatting
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  8. #8

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Hi,

    I've been trying to setup VNC too on leap 15 had the same problem with a black screen though I could move the mouse etc through the VNC client of the remote machine. I did some reading and the problem is due to VNC not working with KDE5/SDDM desktop manager, a solution/workaround is to change the desktop manager by either having one already installed or installing one such as lightdm and issuing the following command to change it: -

    sudo update-alternatives --config default-displaymanager

    Once you have changed the manager you need to reboot and this should resolve the black screen issue.

    I am having other issues though and I am not sure if you will get these unless you are using VNC prior to logon which is what I am trying to setup and have manged to do this using /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-libvnc.conf which works fine, I can connect I can see the login screen and everything appears to work fine until I actually try and login to KDE plasma then strange things start to happen, it loads and VNC appears to remain connected and then all I can see is the desktop background I can still move the mouse on the remote machine and sometimes menu's etc will appear but the full desktop does not display correctly with the desktop icons and bars missing through VNC, this occurs if I use KDE or GNOME. VNC appears to be working though because if I chose ICEWin or a different lightweight desktop environment then everything works ok. It's almost as if the server stops sending graphical updates to the client and I'm not sure what is stopping this, the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-libvnc.conf uses XVnc which I believe is TigerVNC.

    Was wondering if anybody had a solution getting this working with kde plasma/gnome as there doesn't appear to be much info on the net about this?

    Quote Originally Posted by gumof View Post
    Setup by yast2 & started as regular user -blank screen; started as sudo vncserver -works fine.

    Code:
    Xvnc TigerVNC 1.8.0 - built ??? ?? ???? ??:??:??
    Copyright (C) 1999-2017 TigerVNC Team and many others (see README.txt)
    See http://www.tigervnc.org for information on TigerVNC.
    Underlying X server release 11906000, The X.Org Foundation
    
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:49:20 2018
     vncext:      VNC extension running!
     Config:      set immutable AllowOverride
     vncext:      Listening for VNC connections on all interface(s), port 5902
     VNCServerST: creating single-threaded server xxxxxxxx:2 (yyyyyyyy)
     vncext:      created VNC server for screen 0
    kcm_input: Using X11 backend
    startkde: Starting up...
    dbus-update-activation-environment: warning: error sending to systemd: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.InvalidArgs: Invalid environment assignments
    kdeinit5: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!
    kdeinit5_wrapper: Warning: connect(/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__2) failed: : Connection refused
    Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL
    Configuring Lock Action
    ksmserver: "/run/user/1000/KSMserver"
    ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  0 , prot= local , file= @/tmp/.ICE-unix/2853
    ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  1 , prot= unix , file= /tmp/.ICE-unix/2853
    ksmserver: KSMServer::restoreSession  "saved at previous logout"
    startkde: Shutting down...
    kdeinit5_wrapper: Warning: connect(/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__2) failed: : Connection refused
    Error: Can not contact kdeinit5!
    startkde: Done.
    Qt: Session management error: Could not open network socket
    OpenGL vendor string:                   VMware, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string:                 llvmpipe (LLVM 5.0, 128 bits)
    OpenGL version string:                  3.0 Mesa 18.0.2
    OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
    Driver:                                 LLVMpipe
    GPU class:                              Unknown
    OpenGL version:                         3.0
    GLSL version:                           1.30
    Mesa version:                           18.0.2
    X server version:                       1.19.6
    Linux kernel version:                   4.12.14
    Requires strict binding:                yes
    GLSL shaders:                           yes
    Texture NPOT support:                   yes
    Virtual Machine:                        no
    kf5.kcoreaddons.desktopparser: Property type "Url" is not a known QVariant type. Found while parsing property definition for "X-KWin-Video-Url" in "/usr/share/kservicetypes5/kwineffect.desktop"
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:50:00 2018
     XserverDesktop: new client, sock 8
     Connections: accepted: 127.0.0.1::42664
     SConnection: reading protocol version
     SConnection: Client needs protocol version 3.8
     SConnection: processing security type message
     SConnection: Client requests security type VeNCrypt(19)
     SConnection: processing security message
     SConnection: processing security message
     SConnection: processing security message
     SConnection: processing security message
     SVeNCrypt:   Client requests security type TLSVnc (258)
     TLS:         Process security message (session (nil))
     TLS:         Anonymous session has been set
     TLS:         Deferring completion of TLS handshake: Resource temporarily
                  unavailable, try again.
     SConnection: processing security message
     TLS:         Process security message (session 0x5619808f7450)
     TLS:         Deferring completion of TLS handshake: Resource temporarily
                  unavailable, try again.
     SConnection: processing security message
     TLS:         Process security message (session 0x5619808f7450)
     TLS:         Handshake completed
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:50:05 2018
     SConnection: processing security message
     SVncAuth:    reading password file
     VNCServerST: starting desktop
     VNCSConnST:  Server default pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
     SConnection: reading client initialisation
     VNCSConnST:  non-shared connection - closing clients
     VNCSConnST:  Client pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
     XserverDesktop: Got request for framebuffer resize to 1024x728
     XserverDesktop: 1 screen(s)
        1804289383 (0x6b8b4567): 1024x728+0+0 (flags
                  0x00000000)
    
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 0 pixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:-nan ratio)
     VNCSConnST:  FramebufferUpdateRequest 1024x768 at 0,0 exceeds framebuffer
                  1024x728
     XserverDesktop: Got request for framebuffer resize to 1024x703
     XserverDesktop: 1 screen(s)
        1804289383 (0x6b8b4567): 1024x703+0+0 (flags
                  0x00000000)
    
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 745.472 kpixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:inf ratio)
    
    Mon Jul 23 20:50:10 2018
     XserverDesktop: client gone, sock 8
     Connections: closed: 127.0.0.1::42664 (Clean disconnection)
     EncodeManager: Framebuffer updates: 3
     EncodeManager:   Tight:
     EncodeManager:     Solid: 3 rects, 2.25178 Mpixels
     EncodeManager:            48 B (1:187649 ratio)
     EncodeManager:   Total: 3 rects, 2.25178 Mpixels
     EncodeManager:          48 B (1:187649 ratio)
     VNCServerST: no authenticated clients - stopping desktop
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 2.15962 Mpixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:inf ratio)
    The X11 connection broke (error 1). Did the X11 server die?
    how to solve 'suse' way ??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Miles12 View Post
    Hi,

    I've been trying to setup VNC too on leap 15 had the same problem with a black screen though I could move the mouse etc through the VNC client of the remote machine. I did some reading and the problem is due to VNC not working with KDE5/SDDM desktop manager, a solution/workaround is to change the desktop manager by either having one already installed or installing one such as lightdm and issuing the following command to change it: -

    sudo update-alternatives --config default-displaymanager

    Once you have changed the manager you need to reboot and this should resolve the black screen issue.

    I am having other issues though and I am not sure if you will get these unless you are using VNC prior to logon which is what I am trying to setup and have manged to do this using /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-libvnc.conf which works fine, I can connect I can see the login screen and everything appears to work fine until I actually try and login to KDE plasma then strange things start to happen, it loads and VNC appears to remain connected and then all I can see is the desktop background I can still move the mouse on the remote machine and sometimes menu's etc will appear but the full desktop does not display correctly with the desktop icons and bars missing through VNC, this occurs if I use KDE or GNOME. VNC appears to be working though because if I chose ICEWin or a different lightweight desktop environment then everything works ok. It's almost as if the server stops sending graphical updates to the client and I'm not sure what is stopping this, the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-libvnc.conf uses XVnc which I believe is TigerVNC.

    Was wondering if anybody had a solution getting this working with kde plasma/gnome as there doesn't appear to be much info on the net about this?
    Since this is a different problem, please start your own thread with an appropriate title.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: vncserver -blank screen

    My problem is similar, but this didn't fix it. I have a vanilla LEAP15.0 laptop which I can easily access remotely (from a users laptop LEAP 15.0) with tigerVNC. My server, a Dell r610, has the blank display (on the users laptop) in the tigerVNC viewer. I tried starting vncserver as root on the server, and I did indeed get a normal tigerVNC screen, but if I start vncserver as a user, it's a blank screen in tigerVNC. I installed and changed default to KDM - blank screen; then I tried XDM and also get a blank screen. This may be a different problem? kdeinit5 seems to die...

    Here's the logfile (which is much shorter than the logfile on the functioning laptop vncserver)

    Code:
    Xvnc TigerVNC 1.8.0 - built ??? ?? ???? ??:??:??
    Copyright (C) 1999-2017 TigerVNC Team and many others (see README.txt)
    See http://www.tigervnc.org for information on TigerVNC.
    Underlying X server release 11906000, The X.Org Foundation
    
    
    Tue Jan 15 19:11:55 2019
     vncext:      VNC extension running!
     vncext:      Listening for VNC connections on all interface(s), port 5901
     vncext:      created VNC server for screen 0
    kcm_input: Using X11 backend
    startkde: Starting up...
    dbus-update-activation-environment: warning: error sending to systemd: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.InvalidArgs: Invalid environment assignments
    kdeinit5: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!
    kdeinit5_wrapper: Warning: connect(/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__1) failed: : Connection refused
    Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL
    Configuring Lock Action
    ksmserver: "/run/user/1000/KSMserver"
    ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  0 , prot= local , file= @/tmp/.ICE-unix/2621
    ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  1 , prot= unix , file= /tmp/.ICE-unix/2621
    ksmserver: KSMServer::restoreSession  "saved at previous logout"
    startkde: Shutting down...
    kdeinit5_wrapper: Warning: connect(/run/user/1000/kdeinit5__1) failed: : Connection refused
    Error: Can not contact kdeinit5!
    startkde: Done.
    Qt: Session management error: Could not open network socket
    OpenGL vendor string:                   VMware, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string:                 llvmpipe (LLVM 5.0, 128 bits)
    OpenGL version string:                  3.0 Mesa 18.0.2
    OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
    Driver:                                 LLVMpipe
    GPU class:                              Unknown
    OpenGL version:                         3.0
    GLSL version:                           1.30
    Mesa version:                           18.0.2
    X server version:                       1.19.6
    Linux kernel version:                   4.12.14
    Requires strict binding:                yes
    GLSL shaders:                           yes
    Texture NPOT support:                   yes
    Virtual Machine:                        no
    kf5.kcoreaddons.desktopparser: Property type "Url" is not a known QVariant type. Found while parsing property definition for "X-KWin-Video-Url" in "/usr/share/kservicetypes5/kwineffect.desktop"
    
    Tue Jan 15 19:12:10 2019
     Connections: accepted: 198.162.1.138::59274
     SConnection: Client needs protocol version 3.8
     SConnection: Client requests security type VeNCrypt(19)
     SVeNCrypt:   Client requests security type TLSVnc (258)
    
    Tue Jan 15 19:12:14 2019
     VNCSConnST:  Server default pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
     VNCSConnST:  Client pixel format depth 24 (32bpp) little-endian rgb888
    
    Tue Jan 15 19:12:19 2019
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 0 pixels in / 0 pixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:-nan ratio)
    
    Tue Jan 15 19:12:30 2019
     Connections: closed: 198.162.1.138::59274 (Clean disconnection)
     EncodeManager: Framebuffer updates: 4
     EncodeManager:   Tight:
     EncodeManager:     Solid: 6 rects, 2.53809 Mpixels
     EncodeManager:            96 B (1:105755 ratio)
     EncodeManager:   Total: 6 rects, 2.53809 Mpixels
     EncodeManager:          96 B (1:105755 ratio)
     ComparingUpdateTracker: 2.53809 Mpixels in / 482.615 kpixels out
     ComparingUpdateTracker: (1:5.25904 ratio)
    Since this is all in one room, I haven't tried an SSH tunnel.

    Thanks for help!!

    PattiM

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •