Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,037

    Default How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Hello.
    For testing purpose, I would like to have telnet client working on my new leap 15 install.
    It seems that xinetd have been removed.

    I have try
    Code:
    systemctl start telnet.socket
    with no chance.

    Searching for telnet on opensuse.org does not help.
    So how to configure telnet client.

    If telnet may be replaced by something else tell me.

    Any help is welcome.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  2. #2

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    It may help if you explain a bit more about "testing purposes"; in my
    experience most people only want it for port tests, long ago made better
    and faster and more-reliable with netcat or nmap, so I"ll cover netcat.

    xinetd is not what you want if you want a client; that's a server.

    If you want to test ports you should use netcat:

    Code:
    netcat -zv google.com 443
    #or somethings
    nc -v google.com 443
    If you want that to work when you call 'telnet' because netcat is not
    familiar to you (yet), you could always setup an alias:

    Code:
    alias telnet='netcat -zv '
    telnet google.com 443
    --
    Good luck.

    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    show your appreciation and click on the star below.

    If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
    forum as I do not use the web interface often.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Quote Originally Posted by ab View Post
    It may help if you explain a bit more about "testing purposes"; in my
    experience most people only want it for port tests, long ago made better
    and faster and more-reliable with netcat or nmap, so I"ll cover netcat.

    xinetd is not what you want if you want a client; that's a server.

    If you want to test ports you should use netcat:

    Code:
    netcat -zv google.com 443
    #or somethings
    nc -v google.com 443
    If you want that to work when you call 'telnet' because netcat is not
    familiar to you (yet), you could always setup an alias:

    Code:
    alias telnet='netcat -zv '
    telnet google.com 443
    Thank you very much.
    I don't need xinetd.
    I just use it for telnet.

    How can I test the following sequence without telnet :
    Code:
    telnet mailsrv.mydomain.com  587
    > 220 mydomain ESMTP
    < EHLO localhost
    > 250-localhost
    > 250-PIPELINING
    > 250-SIZE
    > 250-ETRN
    > 250-AUTH PLAIN LOGIN
    > 250-ENHANCEDSTATUSCODES
    > 250-8BITMIME
    > 250-DSN
    > 250 SMTPUTF8
    < MAIL FROM:some_user@mydomain.com
    > 250 2.1.0 Ok
    < rcpt to:another_user@another_domain.com
    ....................
    ..........
    
    .
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Quote Originally Posted by jcdole View Post
    Hello.
    For testing purpose, I would like to have telnet client working on my new leap 15 install.
    It seems that xinetd have been removed.
    Telnet is installed by default as part of the “Enhanced Base” pattern.

    It is a normal client application, not a service. It is run by typing “telnet” at a shell prompt or in a script. Other options are explained in “man telnet”. I do not understand what you were trying to achieve with the bizarre systemctl commands.

    If you have deleted or somehow failed to install telnet then:
    Code:
    sudo zypper install telnet
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    Telnet is installed by default as part of the “Enhanced Base” pattern.

    It is a normal client application, not a service. It is run by typing “telnet” at a shell prompt or in a script. Other options are explained in “man telnet”. I do not understand what you were trying to achieve with the bizarre systemctl commands.
    It's coming from a suse forum about a similarly question ( from my point of view). I think now it was relative to telnet server ( and not telnet client ).

    After deleting telnet and reinstall it I can use it.

    Thank you very much.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,037

    Default [CLOSED] How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Thank you every body for helping.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  7. #7

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    On 07/23/2018 02:06 PM, jcdole wrote:
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > telnet mailsrv.mydomain.com 587
    > --------------------


    On my openSUSE box it is this:

    Code:
    netcat -C mailsrv.mydomain.com 587
    The rest is the same, since that is just stuff you are typing as part of
    the application layer (layer seven (7)) which is SMTP in this case and all
    happening within the TCP (layer four (4)) connection. You may use 'nc'
    instead of 'netcat' depending on the version you have installed.

    --
    Good luck.

    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    show your appreciation and click on the star below.

    If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
    forum as I do not use the web interface often.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,296
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Beware running a telnet server.

    The telnet client is still very useful at times(you can probe any network service behind any port), but the server was deprecated many, many years ago due to its lack of built in security (everyone should use ssh instead if you want to run a server).

    There probably is no acceptable reason to risk a system by running a telnet server, even for "testing."

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Quote Originally Posted by ab View Post
    On 07/23/2018 02:06 PM, jcdole wrote:
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > telnet mailsrv.mydomain.com 587
    > --------------------


    On my openSUSE box it is this:

    Code:
    netcat -C mailsrv.mydomain.com 587
    The rest is the same, since that is just stuff you are typing as part of
    the application layer (layer seven (7)) which is SMTP in this case and all
    happening within the TCP (layer four (4)) connection. You may use 'nc'
    instead of 'netcat' depending on the version you have installed.

    --
    Good luck.

    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    show your appreciation and click on the star below.

    If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
    forum as I do not use the web interface often.
    Thank you very much.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: How to have telnet client available on leap 15

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    Beware running a telnet server.

    The telnet client is still very useful at times(you can probe any network service behind any port), but the server was deprecated many, many years ago due to its lack of built in security (everyone should use ssh instead if you want to run a server).

    There probably is no acceptable reason to risk a system by running a telnet server, even for "testing."

    TSU
    No. I have not installed the telnet server
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________
    server leap 15.0 -- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 15.0 -- ASUS g750JZ Optimus KDE leap 15.1 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •