Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Is my PC's RAM OK?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    467

    Default Is my PC's RAM OK?

    I have using IceWM to save RAM memory and now I have some open programs:
    Firefox, Thunderbird, Dolphin and a Terminal
    My swap has 10 GB I think that's enough
    and I have a 2 GB ram memory chip installed, but it is left only 78 MB
    Is this correct or am I having a problem on my PC?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,645

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    How exactly are you determining that only 78MB is "left"? Caching uses whatever unused RAM is available to speed up activities that are running. 78MB could be merely space the cache hasn't consumed lately, even if you have exhausted your swap.

    Probably you want to see a visual depiction of RAM usage, to know how much is really available if disk cache were cleared. Two simple ones you can run in an Xterm are top and free. Htop is similar to top but is graphical. Various others with more sophistication and graphical modes exist. You may already have a decent one if you have Plasma installed: 'kcmshell5 memory' which you can start from run command or a terminal.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,504
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    My swap has 10 GB I think that's enough
    and I have a 2 GB ram memory chip installed, but it is left only 78 MB
    Is this correct or am I having a problem on my PC?
    If you were having memory problems, that would be more likely to show up as segmentation faults.

    If you are low on memory, then you might see more swapping.

    I used Plasma on a machine with 2G of memory. But it died about a year ago, so I cannot test that. I do notice, however, that firefox 60.x is using significantly more resources than firefox 52.x used to use. And that might be an issue for you. Only you can tell.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  4. #4

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    On 07/17/2018 03:16 PM, sergelli wrote:
    >
    > I have using IceWM to save RAM memory and now I have some open
    > programs:
    > Firefox, Thunderbird, Dolphin and a Terminal
    > My swap has 10 GB I think that's enough
    > and I have a 2 GB ram memory chip installed, but it is left only 78 MB
    > Is this correct or am I having a problem on my PC?
    >
    >


    If not already installed install the memtest package. Reboot and select
    the memtest option to test your ram. I needed to do this a couple of
    weeks back because I was having intermittent problems with my system
    locking up. Turned out one of my ram modules developed Alzheimer so I
    pulled it and have not had issues since.

    --
    Ken
    linux since 1984
    S.u.S.E./openSUSE since 1998

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,645

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    1-openSUSE repos contain memtest86+ v5.01
    2-last changelog entry for memtest86+ was March 2015
    3-memtest86+ is a 16 bit utility which cannot run on UEFI systems
    4-memtest86 continues in development, latest is v7.5
    5-memtest86 is a free .iso download that includes the old 16 bit version as well as the current version and automatically runs the version appropriate to the PC when run from stick or OM
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    The reason for my question, was that all of these programs (firefox, thunderbird, dolphin, terminal on KDE) ran together on this machine, but with OpenSUSE 13.2 and I had no slowdowns or crashes.
    Now that I've installed Leap 15, this is impossible.

    And even using iceWM instead KDE only yields about 70 mg of free memory.
    So I have problems if I try to run anything else.

    Now I found one of the great memory thieves. Turning Firefox off the free memory jumps from 70 to 532 Mg

    If I turn off the rest of the programs, I get 662 Mg of free memory

    This means that for the system just being waiting consumes more than 1000 Mg of memory.

    Wow ... I feel like going back to openSUSE 13.2

    As one famous person said: "But I'm not the only one"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,504
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    Now I found one of the great memory thieves. Turning Firefox off the free memory jumps from 70 to 532 Mg
    I'm running KDE Plasma. I have two browsers open. They have both been open since I last rebooted (Monday morning). One of those browsers if "firefox" and the other is "opera". And "firefox" is using far more memory than "opera", even though I open many more web pages with "opera" than with "firefox".

    The current "firefox" is a memory hog.

    Maybe try "chromium" or "vivaldi" or "opera" or even "falkon" instead of "firefox".
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  8. #8

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    On 07/18/2018 04:56 PM, nrickert wrote:
    > The current "firefox" is a memory hog.
    >
    > Maybe try "chromium" or "vivaldi" or "opera" or even "falkon" instead of
    > "firefox".


    I have run vivaldi against opera and find it unusable with more than a
    couple of tabs are in use. It's a memory hog just like firefox.

    --
    Ken
    unux since 1984
    S.u.S.E./openSUSE since 1998

  9. #9

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    On 07/19/2018 09:25 AM, Ken Schneider wrote:
    > On 07/18/2018 04:56 PM, nrickert wrote:
    >> The current "firefox" is a memory hog.
    >>
    >> Maybe try "chromium" or "vivaldi" or "opera" or even "falkon" instead of
    >> "firefox".

    >
    > I have run vivaldi against opera and find it unusable with more than a
    > couple of tabs are in use. It's a memory hog just like firefox.
    >


    vivaldi uses too much memory.

    --
    Ken
    unux since 1984
    S.u.S.E./openSUSE since 1998

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,504
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Is my PC's RAM OK?

    Quote Originally Posted by kensch View Post
    I have run vivaldi against opera and find it unusable with more than a
    couple of tabs are in use. It's a memory hog just like firefox.
    Fair enough.

    I use "firefox" for normal browsing and "opera" for the browser to use with "akregator". Previously, I used "vivaldi" rather than "opera". But I'm finding that "opera" is pretty good.

    Back with Leap 42.3, I used to have two "firefox" open (with different profiles). One of them was mostly sitting idle. But I've stopped doing that, because the memory load of "firefox" is too high.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •