Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    416

    Default Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    It won’t boot past a black screen with a non KDE movable cursor.

    The bumblebee SDB makes it seem very bleak as to getting it working.

    I have another thread in Hardware section that points out that I may never get Leap working on that laptop.
    plenty of images for various things tried per help instructions from Deano_ferrari

    How do I uninstall and not mess up the windows boot loader?

    I do not have a Windows 10 install media!

    Maybe I will trade my machine for my wife’s MBR Toshiba (if she is willing — HA) with Intel HD only onboard graphics.
    I will make mistakes, I will learn from them, They will make me stronger
    Leap 15.0 user, KDE Plasma 5 HP AiO and HP Compaq desktop, Xfce Laptop only

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,833

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    It won’t boot past a black screen with a non KDE movable cursor.

    The bumblebee SDB makes it seem very bleak as to getting it working.

    I have another thread in Hardware section that points out that I may never get Leap working on that laptop.
    plenty of images for various things tried per help instructions from Deano_ferrari

    How do I uninstall and not mess up the windows boot loader?

    I do not have a Windows 10 install media!

    Maybe I will trade my machine for my wife’s MBR Toshiba (if she is willing — HA) with Intel HD only onboard graphics.
    Try this, just in case:
    Boot to runlevel3
    (when the Grub menu shows, hit "e" key to edit the commandline)
    Scroll down to the line that begins linux or linux-efi (or something like that), hit the END key to get to the end of the command line (it wraps), add a space, then add "3" (without the quotes). Press F10 to continue.

    You will get to a command line interface.

    Once there, log in as root.

    launch the ncurses version of Yast.

    Now, select the Xfce Desktop in Software and install that.

    (Probably don't need to do this, but I suggest rebooting
    Code:
    reboot now
    back into runlevel3, log in again as root.
    Then:
    Code:
    update-alternatives --config default-xsession.desktop
    Choose the corresponding number for the Xfce Desktop.
    Then:
    Code:
    update-alternatives --config default-displaymanager
    Choose the corresponding number for the LightDM display manager.

    Reboot and see what happens.

    This is kind of a U.S. "football"-like Hail-Mary Pass, I do not know if it will help out here, but at this point it sure cannot hurt.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    416

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Ctrl+alt+F1 gets me to a terminal mode. I think level 3 would do the same, not sure though.
    I have been in ncurses yast from there.
    I will try your suggestions, but my question still stands, how do I remove Leap and not mess up Windows boot?
    (not having a Windows install media, reformat, install Win 7, and upgrade(maybe?).

    it seems to me the devs know/knew these situations would raise there awful heads, and gives us a ‘backout’.
    I will make mistakes, I will learn from them, They will make me stronger
    Leap 15.0 user, KDE Plasma 5 HP AiO and HP Compaq desktop, Xfce Laptop only

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,245

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Can you boot to Windows?? if so why "remove" Linux?? If you want to reclaim space just format Linux partitions to a Windows format. Can be done from Windows. If EFI boot ing you can remove the openSUSE foled and it won't boot again ever. If MBR boot just move the boot flag to the Windows boot. If EFI then you may need to reset the UEFI boot menu to first boot Windows.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    416

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Can you boot to Windows?? if so why "remove" Linux?? If you want to reclaim space just format Linux partitions to a Windows format. Can be done from Windows. If EFI boot ing you can remove the openSUSE foled and it won't boot again ever. If MBR boot just move the boot flag to the Windows boot. If EFI then you may need to reset the UEFI boot menu to first boot Windows.
    Yes I can boot from Grub2 into Windows. It is not a painful thing. It is UEFI.
    ANother possible problem, there are two EFI boot partitions, probably my mistake when installing and partitioning.
    There is the 100MB Windows EFI partition, and another 500MB EFI partition added by the installer.

    What is 'openSUSE foled'? (remember I am a linux dummy)

    I don't need the space, and would be glad to wait until a kernel fix comes out(if ever).

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    If EFI then you may need to reset the UEFI boot menu to first boot Windows.
    Where, How? That is not a BIOS option.
    I will make mistakes, I will learn from them, They will make me stronger
    Leap 15.0 user, KDE Plasma 5 HP AiO and HP Compaq desktop, Xfce Laptop only

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,245

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Ok be sure you can select and boot Windows in the UEFI boot menu ie not through grub.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    416

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Ok be sure you can select and boot Windows in the UEFI boot menu ie not through grub.
    When it boots it starts grub. There is an option to boot Win10. If I select that and it takes me to what I consider the 'normal' Windows boot manager where the only option is Windows 10.
    If that is the UEFI boot menu, then I have to go through grub to get to it.
    Sorry to be such a dummy.
    I will make mistakes, I will learn from them, They will make me stronger
    Leap 15.0 user, KDE Plasma 5 HP AiO and HP Compaq desktop, Xfce Laptop only

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,245

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    No you press a hot key at boot sometimes F12 but is different on different machines. This brings you to the UEFI boot menu. where you can chose which OS or device to boot. This is not the grub menu. currently on your machine the default boot is Linux which starts grub. You can at that point choose other OS but that is a Linux program not the UEFI/BIOS. In the UEFI you can set which OS defaults and yes if you choose Windows you no longer have any choice. Linux /grub gives you a choice.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    416

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    Try this, just in case:

    Reboot and see what happens.

    This is kind of a U.S. "football"-like Hail-Mary Pass, I do not know if it will help out here, but at this point it sure cannot hurt.
    Hail Mary it is!
    Two shutdown and boots, and it works with Xfce.(I don't like Xfce, never did on UNIX nor Suse paid when I had it)
    Why does it boot with Xfce and not KDE?
    But it works, and I have to figure out how to get my things over to the menu if I am going to use it.
    I need to try it with WiFi before I really commit.

    I am going to ask this again. I read that there is a kernal update to fix the proble I am having with that black screen non boot into X.
    Is there such a thing in the works?
    I will make mistakes, I will learn from them, They will make me stronger
    Leap 15.0 user, KDE Plasma 5 HP AiO and HP Compaq desktop, Xfce Laptop only

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,833

    Default Re: Uninstall broken Leap from my Toshiba Kepler hybrid(Optimus) laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Hail Mary it is!
    Two shutdown and boots, and it works with Xfce.(I don't like Xfce, never did on UNIX nor Suse paid when I had it)
    Why does it boot with Xfce and not KDE?
    But it works, and I have to figure out how to get my things over to the menu if I am going to use it.
    I need to try it with WiFi before I really commit.

    I am going to ask this again. I read that there is a kernal update to fix the proble I am having with that black screen non boot into X.
    Is there such a thing in the works?
    You *might* give KDE another try, but this time with XDM or LightDM as Display Manager. Try both.

    You never know, but I have found that sometimes switching away from SDDM to one of those two works on some machines.

    As for me, I now prefer XFCE.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •