Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    I haven't done a clean install in a while I usually do live upgrades so I can't comment on the current state of the installer but if you have a working 42.x system why not do a live upgrade (removing 3rd party repo's, uninstalling 3-rd party drivers, pointing the 4 main repo's to LEAP 15.0 and doing zypper dup)
    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:System_upgrade
    if this is a known bug in the current installer the live iso's should work (again I'm not sure how the live disks install to hdd I don't know if they copy the running image but if they see the RAID you should be able to reuse it as home)
    as mrmazda said you can edit /etc/fstab to point to your old home partition (just don't format it) after a successful install and if you're going this route I'd suggest installing without using a /home partition

    How do I delete the Btrfs "/home" subvolume that the installer creates after rebooting?
    the root filesystem always has a /home directory it's just not shown if you have a home partition with a /home mount point
    but I can't tell you about btrfs afaik you can't exclude directories from a file system

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,657

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by SUSEtoad View Post
    Now I want to know why you don't use Btrfs when it's the default OpenSUSE filesystem type. Maybe I'm creating my own problem by accepting that as the default for the OS drive.
    Linux offers choice and a "default" does not mean that we are forced on using it. On laptops I prefer EXT4 for the /root filesystem and think that it might be better suited to an SSD install.
    Anyway, your system => your choice.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  3. #13

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    if you have a working 42.x system why not do a live upgrade
    Did that already from 42.x to 42.3. It's time for a full erase-and-install to clean the dust out.

    but I can't tell you about btrfs
    I also don't understand what a Btrfs "subvolume" is and if it should be / can be deleted if the /home subvolume that the installer creates isn't going to be used.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,000
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by SUSEtoad View Post
    How do I delete the Btrfs "/home" subvolume that the installer creates after rebooting?
    Do you have some unallocated space on disk? Or maybe an external drive?

    If you do, then while in the expert partitioner, assign that space to be used as "/home". That should leave the root file system suitable for later mounting your existing "/home". You will just have do make a few changes after install.

    Oh, I don't use "btrfs" either. I did briefly try it, but I decided that I preferred "ext4".
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,528

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Well as in other FS it is just the mount point for home partition. If you don't have it no place to mount home. BTRFS which is based on B-trees I suspect that each sub volume represents a different b-tree. But only guessing

    If you say make a EXT4 root and do not mount home you will see a /home directory and if you go ahead and make users their homes will be made there.. If you then mount home partition at /home it will supersede anything in that directory with the contents of the home directory.. I use this to test an OS before committing to a new version or OS using a second root partition. Ie I have two roots and rotate them.Initial I don't mount home until I'm happy with the testing.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,409

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by SUSEtoad View Post
    Now I want to know why you don't use Btrfs when it's the default OpenSUSE filesystem type.
    (In no particular order):

    1-AFAIK, it's a default exclusive to openSUSE & SLE, and only for /.

    2-Defaults are for people who can be content with them. EXT4 was the default for quite some time. I didn't use it until around the time the default was switched to BTRFS. EXT4 does what I need done. Grub2 has been default since longer than I can remember and I still don't use it except on one UEFI/GPT PC.

    3-Personal computers are intended for personalization, changing defaults that do not suit their users.

    4-A KISS adherent generally, I try to not fix what ain't broke as much as I can manage. I don't see BTRFS as a solution whose benefits outweigh its costs in a multiboot environment, so do see it likely to break more than it might fix, complicate more than simplify.

    Maybe I'm creating my own problem by accepting that as the default for the OS drive.
    Maybe. Maybe you should investigate the options before assuming defaults are the best choices for you.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  7. #17

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Do you have some unallocated space on disk? Or maybe an external drive?

    If you do, then while in the expert partitioner, assign that space to be used as "/home". That should leave the root file system suitable for later mounting your existing "/home". You will just have do make a few changes after install.
    That's clever. However, how confident can I be that Tumbleweed or 15.0 will recognize my RAID after reboot so I can edit /etc/fstab appropriately? The installer can't see it. Can I be sure the "installed" be able to?

  8. #18

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Maybe you should investigate the options before assuming defaults are the best choices for you.
    In many things, I rely on the people who are more smart than me to be more smart than me.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,000
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Quote Originally Posted by SUSEtoad View Post
    However, how confident can I be that Tumbleweed or 15.0 will recognize my RAID after reboot so I can edit /etc/fstab appropriately? The installer can't see it.
    I do not know the answer to that. I have carefully avoided RAID.

    Have you tried booting the live media? I would guess that's the best way to test.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,657

    Default Re: How to install with existing /home on a separate volume

    Reading carefully comment #9 at https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_b...?id=1094933#c9
    and checking that yast2-storage-ng is currently at 4.0.186 for Leap15 and 4.0.195 for Tumbleweed, with the changelog reading:
    gio 17 mag 2018 14:00:00 CEST jlopez@suse.com - Allow to consider MD RAIDs as BIOS RAIDs by using the env
    variable LIBSTORAGE_MDPART (bsc#1092417).
    it seems that you should be able to do a TW install with current media or a Leap 15 "net install" by using a live media on a USB updated before launching the install,
    by issuing in a terminal emulator (again quoting from the bug report):
    - Run the installation executing this in a terminal emulator: LIBSTORAGE_MDPART=1 xdg-su -c /usr/sbin/start-install.sh
    I cannot check as I have no RAID to play with, but it seems worth a shot.
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •