Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: System Tray Broken

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    1,063

    Default System Tray Broken

    Upon installing recently a new snapshot (including 20180704-0) system tray stopped working correctly. Deletion and creation of a new one results in a working instance. Modifying its settings breaks it again.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,978
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    Upon installing recently a new snapshot (including 20180704-0) system tray stopped working correctly. Deletion and creation of a new one results in a working instance. Modifying its settings breaks it again.
    Assuming this is KDE, I don't see this issue. Any widgets additional widgets used?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    1,063

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Assuming this is KDE, I don't see this issue. Any widgets additional widgets used?
    Yes I'm using KDE. Deleted the panel and added a default panel. The issue remains. Configuring the system tray will kill its functionality.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,978
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    Yes I'm using KDE. Deleted the panel and added a default panel. The issue remains. Configuring the system tray will kill its functionality.
    And, 'zypper dup' was used? And a reboot/relogin afterwards ( I bet I know the answer, but still ).
    Does the issue exist for a newly created user?
    Anything in the logs?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,745
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    Upon installing recently a new snapshot (including 20180704-0) system tray stopped working correctly.
    Is there any particular kind of misbehavior that I should be looking for?
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    1,063

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Is there any particular kind of misbehavior that I should be looking for?
    Switching to System Tray Settings > Entries > Clipboard > Shown causes System Tray to fail. See http://www.mistelberger.net/systemtray.log
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,745
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    Switching to System Tray Settings > Entries > Clipboard > Shown causes System Tray to fail. See http://www.mistelberger.net/systemtray.log
    I just tested that, and did not see any problems. But perhaps the problems you are seeing are display dependent.

    I've previouly never tried that tray setting. For me, Clipboard always shows anyway, even if set to Auto.

    I should add that I'm using Xorg, not Wayland. Plasma over Wayland still seems incomplete, though it's probably time for me to give it another try.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,978
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    I see issues now too. Wanted to test the modified updater, and after that the misbehaviour started. Some times the widgets don't move up again, if I click the triangle the widget comes down, but will only disappear when the system tray settings are accessed.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    1,063

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    I see issues now too. Wanted to test the modified updater, and after that the misbehaviour started. Some times the widgets don't move up again, if I click the triangle the widget comes down, but will only disappear when the system tray settings are accessed.
    Hoping for the problem going away with some update of Tumbleweed did not help. As a workaround I now run kquitapp5 plasmashell&&kstart5 plasmashell whenever the problem occurs.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,547
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: System Tray Broken

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    Hoping for the problem going away with some update of Tumbleweed did not help. As a workaround I now run kquitapp5 plasmashell&&kstart5 plasmashell whenever the problem occurs.
    Does this occur with a new user account as well?
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •