Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

  1. #1

    Default "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Hi,

    I am fairly new to OpenSuse and totally new to Tumbleweed.

    First, my system:
    HDD Installed from openSUSE-Tumbleweed-DVD-x86_64-Snapshot20180618-Media.iso
    Processor Intel Core i3-2328M CPU 2.2 GHz x 4
    Graphics Intel Sandybbridge Mobile
    OS openSUSE Tumbleweed
    GNOME 3.28.2
    OS type 64-bit
    Disk 29.8 GB




    Second, my Problem
    At Logout I (user1) can easily switch to the other user (user2) on our dual-user system (for system see below*). However, after logging out user2 I can never again login to user1, after entering user1's ID and Password, the login screen appears again. I have to reboot the system to login again as user1.

    This is strange and has never occired to me with other distros.

    How can I fix this, please?

    Thank you, susecub

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,110

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    The default first graphical user session runs on tty7 -- accessed with <Ctrl+Alt+F7>.
    The second graphical user session then runs on tty8 -- accessed with <Ctrl+Alt+F8>.

    Use those key combinations to switch between sessions. I.e. after logging out as user 2 press <Ctrl+Alt+F7> to switch to user (session) one.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  3. #3

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Thank you, eng-int! Seems a little bit complicated to me as compared to how Debian and Ubuntu do this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    23,484

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    I am not sure that you understand each other.

    I understand that the OP has loged out user1 and loged out before he loged in user2 and again loged out before he tried to log in as user1 again. That means that there is at the maximum but one Grapfical session active.

    eng-int talks about the situation where there are two user loged in, using the systems own keyoard/mouse/monotor, for a GUI session at the same time ( that can be different users or the same user twice). Those sessions are then on the 7th, 8th, etc. logical screen.

    So please @susecub, can you explain what is the correct interpretation of your problem.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I am not sure that you understand each other.
    ...
    So please @susecub, can you explain what is the correct interpretation of your problem.
    I not fully understand what you mean, sorry, not expert enough. That is what I mean (and only occasionally do, on Debian and Ubuntu):

    User2 is logged in, has a problem. I know, I, User1, have a text- or html-file or bookmark for that on my account. So, he goes to the logout menu but chooses "switch user" instead of logout. The Login Screen for both of us appears, I login as me, User1, find the solution, then log out. User2 now logs in again (or however you call it, maybe he was kind of in a "suspend"). He is at once in his own "surroundings" and can continue his work. If finished, he logs out; if I wish I can log in again, with Debian and Ubuntu, that is. But not with OpenSuse Tumbleweed, as pointed out above.

    Hopefully I could make myself understandable, hcvv?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,110

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I am not sure that you understand each other.
    Well I was not sure that I understood either!
    From another post this morning it seemed that susecub is using Gnome. I made a guess that “Switch User” was an entry under “Logout” in the launcher menu (where it used to be in KDE3), and that is what was meant.

    Switch User is a bit weird 'though if two sessions with the same user are attempted. In KDE, when I tried to switch user and login as the same user I was switched back to the original session, which was fine. But then the Switch User option stopped working (nothing appeared to happen) and tty8 was blank. I restarted the display-manager daemon to get Switch User back.

    P.S. this was cross-posted with susecub's reply.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    23,484

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Well, it seems now that this is indeed about a "switch users" functionality in the desktop. And then "which desktop" becomes important.

    Thus @ susecub, can you confirm that eng-int's assumption that you use Gnome is correct?

    (in that case I will hang off, because I am not a Gnome user).
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    10,413
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    The default first graphical user session runs on tty7 -- accessed with <Ctrl+Alt+F7>.
    The second graphical user session then runs on tty8 -- accessed with <Ctrl+Alt+F8>.
    Yes, except that's the way that it used to be.

    With Tumbleweed and with Leap 15, I am finding:

    CTRL-ALT-F7 gives me the GDM login screen
    CTRL-ALT-F2 gives me my logged in session (using KDE).

    I have never had a need for switch-user. Well, I might occasionally do that at the command line (in a terminal application with "su"), but not a second GUI login. So I don't have the user's experience with this. But I can test if I know what I am supposed to be testing.

    Another question for susecub : Are you using GDM for login, or some other login manager? It is possible that you don't know the answer. However, the following command would also tell us that:

    Code:
    ls -l /etc/alternatives/default-displaymanager
    opensuse Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5;
    opensuse tumbleweed; KDE Plasma 5 (test system);

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,110

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Yes, except that's the way that it used to be.

    With Tumbleweed and with Leap 15, I am finding: ...
    Interesting and more interesting. My description still seem to hold for SDDM (just tested with latest Leap-15.0 and TW).
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  10. #10

    Default Re: "switch user" on Dual User install does not switch back! How to fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    Interesting and more interesting. My description still seem to hold for SDDM (just tested with latest Leap-15.0 and TW).
    Yes, but GDM runs on Wayland (not X11) by default, unlike all other DMs, that's what makes the difference I think.

    This can be changed in GDM's config files though AFAIK.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •