Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Weather applet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    598

    Default Weather applet

    I tried using the weather widget and it didn't work.
    Do I need an active network set up for that?
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,585
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    I tried using the weather widget and it didn't work.
    Do I need an active network set up for that?
    Yes, it will need an internet connection to pull the required weather data.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Yes, it will need an internet connection to pull the required weather data.
    I have obviously got an 'internet connection' since I can get to here, and millions of other places on the web.
    So, do I need to put the applet on the desktop, and open a browser,
    or....something else?
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,764

    Default Re: Weather applet

    I assume you have set the location in settings???

    All and all I have gotten best results with wettercom here in West Virginia then other services that may appear. But that may depend on your location

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,585
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    I have obviously got an 'internet connection' since I can get to here, and millions of other places on the web.
    Well, it wasn't obvious as to what you were asking - 'active network' was not the best description.... you will need to set up the relevant location(s)...just a matter of adding the appropriate URLs which it provides hints about.

    So, do I need to put the applet on the desktop, and open a browser,
    or....something else?
    Yes, you could navigate via a browser. Start with
    http://openweathermap.org/find
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 20-Jun-2018 at 19:02.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    I assume you have set the location in settings???

    All and all I have gotten best results with wettercom here in West Virginia then other services that may appear. But that may depend on your location
    wettercom is the only one that gives search results for my city.
    Living in the U.S. you'd think noaa would at least get me close. (never trust the weather, eh?)

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Well, it wasn't obvious as to what you were asking - 'active network' was not the best description.... you will need to set up the relevant location(s)...just a matter of adding the appropriate URLs which it provides hints about.
    Sorry, my bad.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Yes, you could navigate via a browser. Start with
    http://openweathermap.org/find
    Not worth that. My iPad has a weather app that is a tap away(as long as I have it handy).
    I just thought as long as I am sitting behind this big screen, why squint at the small one.
    Thanks anyway.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,585
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Not worth that. My iPad has a weather app that is a tap away(as long as I have it handy).
    I just thought as long as I am sitting behind this big screen, why squint at the small one.
    Thanks anyway.
    Jut to clarify a bit further - Once you have a valid URL, it's just a matter of adding that to the weather widget configuration. For example, using the OpenWeatherMap website and searching for London, GB yields
    https://openweathermap.org/city/2643743
    That URL is then added to the waether widget via '+OWM' button.

    It's not hard to set up for your locality.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,801
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    I have obviously got an 'internet connection' since I can get to here, and millions of other places on the web.
    So, do I need to put the applet on the desktop, and open a browser,
    or....something else?
    I just clicked the box for "Weather Forecast" in System Tray Settings. After that, it showed up in the tray. I did have to then right click on the tray icon and configure it.

    However, I have turned it off again. It seemed to be creating a high volume of logs, so I decided to manage without.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,585
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I just clicked the box for "Weather Forecast" in System Tray Settings. After that, it showed up in the tray. I did have to then right click on the tray icon and configure it.

    However, I have turned it off again. It seemed to be creating a high volume of logs, so I decided to manage without.
    Me too... and now I will get rid of it...no need for such bling.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    U.S Midwest just West of the Mississippi River
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: Weather applet

    Yeah, I removed it, not what I was looking far with strong weather and tornado's around,
    and it just got in the way.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.1 Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.1 & Win10, HP AiO Win10.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •