Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73

    Default "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    Hi,

    Can you do a 'zypper dup' from Tumbleweed to Leap 15? Or is that not advisable?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    2,238

    Default Re: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    AFAIK LEAP 15 has been tested for upgrade only from a fully updated LEAP 42.3 (see also https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:System_upgrade for more details).
    That said, since LEAP 15 was based on a TW version of a few months ago, upgrading from current TW might work too, but nobody is going to guarantee that.
    If you are willing to experiment and prepared to do a "fresh install" if something goes wrong, you might try that.
    Be sure to backup ALL your data beforehand.

    And... sorry but I accept no liability for the above
    Tumbleweed Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    testing Leap 15.3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    If you're on btrfs, you should be able to boot in a previous snapshot if things don't work out well. But I think it should work. With the additions @OrsoBruno already mentioned.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    It wouldn't be a problem to do a fresh install, and there is no data to backup. I just want to do the 'zypper dup' because it's faster and easier, so I'll probably try it...

    But the machine will be a production server in the future, so I don't want to get problems later on because it was an "upgrade" from tumbleweed and not a fresh install.

  5. #5

    Default Re: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    On 2018-06-07, wvv <wvv@no-mx.forums.microfocus.com> wrote:
    > But the machine will be a production server in the future, so I don't
    > want to get problems later on because it was an "upgrade" from
    > tumbleweed and not a fresh install.


    If the machine will be a production server, I would strongly advised against TW and start with a fresh Leap install.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by flymail View Post
    If the machine will be a production server, I would strongly advised against TW
    I installed TW as a test, and I came to the same conclusion, it's not suitable for production...

    and start with a fresh Leap install.
    That's what I'm contemplating.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: "Upgrade" from Tumbleweed to Leap 15, possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by wvv View Post
    I installed TW as a test, and I came to the same conclusion, it's not suitable for production...
    Well, in many cases -- though not most, I would guess -- it is suitable for production.

    But, almost certainly not suitable for a production server.
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •