Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

  1. #1

    Default upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    I downloaded Leap15, did an sha256 check, burned a DVD and verified the burned image. Then with the DVD in the computer rebooted. Right at the beginning after inspecting the disk I get the window titled "Partition or System to upgrade" and it shows the root partition. After clicking the "Next" button I get the message "mounting partition". After a while I get the following error message:
    Error
    Internal Error. Please report a bug report with logs. Run save-y2logs to get complete logs.
    Details: Operation not permittet @ rb_sysopen - /mount/etc/resolv.conf
    Caller: /mounts/mp_0001/user/lib64/ruby/2.5.0/fileutils.rb: 1292: in `initialize'
    Start the Ruby debugger now to debug the issue? (Experts only)

    Now I know nothing about Ruby, I have no programming knowledge and I don't want to end up with an unusable system (like kummerhan in his post today with a similar message to a different problem - my computer doesn't have efi). I don't understand what is has to do with the file /etc/resolv.conf - it only contains the dns servers. Further the part "Run save-y2logs to get complete logs." - how can you run anything there - you can click to run the debugger, cancel or abort. Maybe some of the more knowledgeable guys here in this forum can help.
    Cheers
    Uli

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,674
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    I've run into that situation. Not your exact situation, but the situation where the installer asks you to file a bug report.

    Here's what I normally do:

    Step 1: Use CTRL-ALT-F2 . That should get you a root command line.

    Step 2: Mount somewhere that you can save the data. I can usually find a partition with space. Or I can insert a USB with some space and mount that.
    To mount, I might do something like:
    [code]
    mkdir /mymount
    mount /dev/sdXY /mymount ### where XY is replaced by the proper info for that disk/partition

    Step 2: Find the logs and write to the mounted partition
    Code:
    cd /var/log
    tar zxcf  /mymount/yastlogs.tgz  Yast2
    ls -l /mymount/yastlogs.tgz   ### just a check to make sure they are there.
    You can change the name "yastlogs" to whatever you like. This will be a compress tar archive.

    Step 3: Unmount the partition
    Code:
    umount /mymount
    Step 4: Exit the root command line
    use CTRL-ALT-F7 to get back to the installer screen

    Step 5: Abort the install.

    NOTE: Sometimes, for step 4, I will use
    Code:
    shutdown -h now
    for a quicker exit.

    Final step: open a bug report, and upload that compressed tar archive as an attachment to your report.

    That's it.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,674
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Just an added comment.

    I also have no idea what this has to do with "/etc/resolv.conf". Perhaps that's just a wild message after something went badly wrong.

    The Yast developer team are usually pretty good at examining the logs (may take a few days).
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,674
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Big oops there.

    The command for getting the logs should be
    Code:
    tar zcf  /mymount/yastlogs.tgz  YaST2
    I had "zxcf" where it should be "zcf". And I had the capitalization wrong for YaST2

    Sorry about that.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  5. #5

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Thank you for your replies, nrickert, but I am no step further. I can save the logfiles with the save_y2logs command - they are saved to a tmp file which is probably only in RAM. I mounted my home directory (/dev/sda6) created a folder Yast and copied the logfile across but it is empty:
    Code:
    linux-tl1r:/home/Yast # ls -l y2log-fcKiVX.tar.xz
    -rw------- 1 root root 0 Jun  5 16:01 y2log-fcKiVX.tar.xz
    linux-tl1r:/home/Yast # tar zcf y2log-fcKiVX.tar.xz
    tar: Cowardly refusing to create an empty archive
    Try 'tar --help' or 'tar --usage' for more information.
    linux-tl1r:/home/Yast #
    So what can I do next?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,674
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Did you look at the temp file before you copied?

    That would probably have been
    Code:
    ls -l y2log-fcKiVX.tar.xz
    The idea is to make sure is not of length zero.

    And yes, that temp file will be in RAM, or perhaps swapped out to swap (assuming that the installer mounts swap).
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  7. #7

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Thanks, nrickert now it looks like this:
    Code:
    linux-tl1r:/home/Yast # ls -l
    total 104
    -rw------- 1 root root 102496 Jun  5 16:44 y2log-Xw2YAy.tar.xz
    -rw------- 1 root root      0 Jun  5 16:01 y2log-fcKiVX.tar.xz
    linux-tl1r:/home/Yast # tar zcf y2log-Xw2YAy.tar.xz
    tar: Cowardly refusing to create an empty archive
    Try 'tar --help' or 'tar --usage' for more information.
    linux-tl1r:/home/Yast #
    Of course I still can send this file - may be the YAST developers can extract it. Do you have a link for the bug report?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,674
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Just upload that file "y2log-Xw2YAy.tar.xz" -- the non-empty one. The chances are, that has the information needed.

    To report a bug, use this link:

    openSUSE:Submitting bug reports

    If you scroll down that page a little, it gives links for various versions. Click on the one for "OpenSUSE Leap 15.0". That gives a somewhat guided entry into the bugzilla.

    If you are logged into the forum, then you should be automatically logged into the bugzilla (until the forum login expires).
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  9. #9

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Thanks, nrickert, I tried to submit a bug report, filled everything in included the attachment but when pressing the submit button I only get the Firefox error message:
    Secure Connection Failed
    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
    Will try later with Chromium

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,674
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: upgrade problems - cannot mount root partition

    Quote Originally Posted by fuerstu View Post
    Secure Connection Failed
    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
    That was most likely a temporary problem at the server rather than a problem with your browser.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •