Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

  1. #1
    -G- NNTP User

    Default Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    In the latest install I did (double boot machine), the installer
    complained that the /boot/efi partition was too small (it was 100MB, the
    installer asked for a minimum of 250MB) and if left as is, it was likely
    that the system would not boot.

    I tried to resize it, but the installer complained that it cannot be done
    for that type of file system.

    I deleted that /boot/efi partition, created a new one (500MB) and the
    leap 15.0 installation went very well... except that now windows is not
    an option anymore in grub2.
    I (most likely wrongly) thought that it would picked up as I remembered
    that there is an "probe foreign OS" in the installer... obviously I did
    something wrong.

    Looking in /boot/efi/EFI/ there is no windows or microsoft folder
    anywhere (only /boot and /opensuse ones) but the /windows/C partition
    exists and it is untouched.

    Does anybody know if it is possible to fix this and make grub2 detect the
    installed windows?

    Many thanks

    -G-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,381

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    As the efi partition is normally (on of the) first partitions on a disk, you can not make it larger without doing a lot to what lies behind. It is not clear from your description what you did. It could be that you destroyed the/ Windows partition on the go.

    A partition list would be nice to see.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    25,778
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    On Mon 04 Jun 2018 02:50:23 PM CDT, -G- wrote:

    In the latest install I did (double boot machine), the installer
    complained that the /boot/efi partition was too small (it was 100MB,
    the installer asked for a minimum of 250MB) and if left as is, it was
    likely that the system would not boot.

    I tried to resize it, but the installer complained that it cannot be
    done for that type of file system.

    I deleted that /boot/efi partition, created a new one (500MB) and the
    leap 15.0 installation went very well... except that now windows is not
    an option anymore in grub2.
    I (most likely wrongly) thought that it would picked up as I remembered
    that there is an "probe foreign OS" in the installer... obviously I did
    something wrong.

    Looking in /boot/efi/EFI/ there is no windows or microsoft folder
    anywhere (only /boot and /opensuse ones) but the /windows/C partition
    exists and it is untouched.

    Does anybody know if it is possible to fix this and make grub2 detect
    the installed windows?

    Many thanks

    -G-
    Hi
    Yes, you wiped it... AFAIK boot from the windows install media and
    should be able to use the repair option to fix the booting....

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLES 15 RC4 | GNOME Shell 3.26.2 | 4.12.14-18-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,608
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    Quote Originally Posted by -G- View Post
    In the latest install I did (double boot machine), the installer
    complained that the /boot/efi partition was too small (it was 100MB, the
    installer asked for a minimum of 250MB) and if left as is, it was likely
    that the system would not boot.
    You should have just continued with the install, and ignored the message. I think there's still an open bug report on that message being unnecessarily scary.

    I deleted that /boot/efi partition, created a new one (500MB) and the
    leap 15.0 installation went very well... except that now windows is not
    an option anymore in grub2.
    I (most likely wrongly) thought that it would picked up as I remembered
    that there is an "probe foreign OS" in the installer... obviously I did
    something wrong.
    Grub picks it up, by searching the EFI partition. But, of course, there was nothing there for it to find.

    I think there's a way you can get Windows running, and it will reinstall its boot code. Maybe a google search will help. Or if you have Windows install media, boot it and ask it to repair your install.

    If you took a backup of the old EFI partition, just restore the Microsoft directory and then "grub" will probably find Windows.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.1.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    623

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    There is some mention of this in the release notes for the operating system, so I guess not unexpected. They are here , I think it is in section 1.3 or something.
    Kernel: 4.12.14-lp150.12.7-default x86_64 bits:
    64 Desktop: Gnome 3.26.2
    Distro: openSUSE Leap 15.0

  6. #6
    -G- NNTP User

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    On Mon, 04 Jun 2018 16:26:03 +0000, nrickert wrote:
    > You should have just continued with the install, and ignored the
    > message. I think there's still an open bug report on that message being
    > unnecessarily scary.


    Yes :-( it was too late when I realised that I should have ignored the
    warning...

    > I think there's a way you can get Windows running, and it will reinstall
    > its boot code. Maybe a google search will help. Or if you have Windows
    > install media, boot it and ask it to repair your install.


    Thank you I will look for this.

    Just in case, if I am able to fix the Windows install that way, would I
    lose the grub2 settings?
    If so, is there a way of reinstalling grub2 and pick up both the Win and
    the leap 15 installation (that would probably save me reinstalling linux).

    > If you took a backup of the old EFI partition, just restore the
    > Microsoft directory and then "grub" will probably find Windows.


    I did not, unfortunately. I will make sure i do in the future, so I
    learned something new too.

    Thank you also to all of those who replied.
    I will report back if I succeed (or not).

    -G-

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    25,778
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    On Mon 04 Jun 2018 09:03:32 PM CDT, -G- wrote:

    On Mon, 04 Jun 2018 16:26:03 +0000, nrickert wrote:
    > You should have just continued with the install, and ignored the
    > message. I think there's still an open bug report on that message
    > being unnecessarily scary.


    Yes :-( it was too late when I realised that I should have ignored the
    warning...

    > I think there's a way you can get Windows running, and it will
    > reinstall its boot code. Maybe a google search will help. Or if you
    > have Windows install media, boot it and ask it to repair your
    > install.


    Thank you I will look for this.

    Just in case, if I am able to fix the Windows install that way, would I
    lose the grub2 settings?
    If so, is there a way of reinstalling grub2 and pick up both the Win
    and the leap 15 installation (that would probably save me reinstalling
    linux).

    > If you took a backup of the old EFI partition, just restore the
    > Microsoft directory and then "grub" will probably find Windows.


    I did not, unfortunately. I will make sure i do in the future, so I
    learned something new too.

    Thank you also to all of those who replied.
    I will report back if I succeed (or not).

    -G-
    Hi
    No, boot code is in nvram, else if you press the boot menu key eg F12
    or esc, does your system have the ability to browse to an efi file? If
    so you can just select the openSUSE one... What is your system
    brand/model?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLES 15 RC4 | GNOME Shell 3.26.2 | 4.12.14-18-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,608
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    Quote Originally Posted by -G- View Post
    Just in case, if I am able to fix the Windows install that way, would I
    lose the grub2 settings?
    If so, is there a way of reinstalling grub2 and pick up both the Win and
    the leap 15 installation (that would probably save me reinstalling linux).
    Hard to know until you try it.

    Leap 15 should still be intact. And if you can't boot it, then that can be easily fixed (I think) without a reinstall. But you might have to boot into the install in order to do what is needed.

    As for Windows, you can probably download the installer iso from the network, and use it to repair your system. But I'm not a Windows person, so best to google for help.

    If you know of somebody with the same Windows version, also installed for UEFI booting, then copying the "\EFI\Microsoft" directory tree from their system to yours might allow grub2_mkconfig to find how to boot Windows (but I have never tried that).
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.1.

  9. #9
    -G- NNTP User

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    On Mon, 04 Jun 2018 21:16:04 +0000, nrickert wrote:
    > As for Windows, you can probably download the installer iso from the
    > network, and use it to repair your system. But I'm not a Windows
    > person, so best to google for help.


    OK will do.

    > If you know of somebody with the same Windows version, also installed
    > for UEFI booting, then copying the "\EFI\Microsoft" directory tree from
    > their system to yours might allow grub2_mkconfig to find how to boot
    > Windows (but I have never tried that).


    Yes, that is an idea, thank you for the suggestion.
    Will report what I find out. Perhaps it might be useful to others.

    By the way, apart from this issue, the rest of the installations I have
    done went all exceptionally well and were straightforward.
    The only issue I found was that it is not possible to import the mounting
    points from a previous install, but I worked around that too.
    Cheers

    -G-

  10. #10
    -G- NNTP User

    Default Re: Leap 15.0 too small /boot/efi

    On Mon, 04 Jun 2018 22:05:58 +0000, I wrote:
    > Will report what I find out. Perhaps it might be useful to others.


    As suggested, booting with a Windows bootable medium and letting it fix
    it seems to have worked OK.
    That made the setup Win7-booting only, which I was expecting anyway.

    Next booted with the Leap 15 usb in UEFI mode I reinstalled the system. I
    could have spent some time looking into how to fix grub2 (which I am
    still not sure of how to do), but I was short of time so reinstalling was
    simpler :-/

    What I have not been able to use in any of the Leap 15 installs I did was
    importing the mount points properly. There is always some warning and had
    to resort to add the mounting points manually (which also worked).

    Thanks to all of those who helped!
    -G-

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •