Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: inxi: root needed to run

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,500

    Default inxi: root needed to run

    hi,

    updated

    inxi-2.3.40-1.1.noarch to inxi-3.0.10-1.1.noarch

    now can only run with root privileges

    same on both 32 and 64 bit installs

    /etc/issue?

    any work around?

    thanks for any suggestions

  2. #2

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    First, I've never used, nor heard, of inxi, but that appears to be my problem.

    Second, at first glance it is a system information and reporting tool;
    with that in mind, that it could ever be truly effective without 'root'
    permissions seems unrealistic to me. As a result, since you are implying
    that it used to be able to run differently, something appears to be off,
    either your understanding of the tool, or the tool's functionality, or the
    tool's defaults. We'll see.

    Third, the tool's website shows how to setup /etc/sudoers so that it can
    run with all functionality without a password; that seems to confirm my
    suspicion that 'root' is, needed:

    https://smxi.org/docs/inxi-configuration.htm

    Third, if you compare the inxi binary itself you MAY find that it is now a
    regular executable, where before it MAY have had something like the GUID
    bit set, kind of like other system utilities used by regular users (e.g.
    passwd). If that is the case, then it means you had 'root' all along when
    calling that one executable, even though you may not have known it, or
    added those privileges explicitly, any more than you do with other
    utilities like 'passwd' (to change your user's password in Linux.

    Finally, the newer package's changelog may have useful information about
    this change:

    Code:
    rpm -q --changelog inxi
    Please let us know what you find.

    --
    Good luck.

    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    show your appreciation and click on the star below.

    If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
    forum as I do not use the web interface often.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,864
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    Quote Originally Posted by keellambert View Post
    hi,

    updated

    inxi-2.3.40-1.1.noarch to inxi-3.0.10-1.1.noarch

    now can only run with root privileges

    same on both 32 and 64 bit installs

    /etc/issue?

    any work around?

    thanks for any suggestions
    Hi
    Strange, working fine here with the GNOME DE. There where some conf file
    changes, if you check the inxi changelog, do the files/variables exist
    on your system?

    Code:
     inxi -Fz
    System:    Host: big-bird.homelinux.org Kernel: 4.16.12-1-default x86_64 bits: 64 Console: tty 1 
               Distro: openSUSE Tumbleweed 20180529 
    Machine:   Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Notebook v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: <filter> 
               Mobo: HP model: 8305 v: KBC Version 73.16 serial: <filter> UEFI: Insyde v: F.30 date: 11/09/2017 
    Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 30.6 Wh condition: 30.6/30.6 Wh (100%) 
    CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD E2-7110 APU with AMD Radeon R2 Graphics bits: 64 type: MCP 
               L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
               Speed: 1704 MHz min/max: 1000/1800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1704 2: 1653 3: 1599 4: 1684 
    Graphics:  Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon R3 Graphics] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
               Display: server: X.org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu tty: 167x30 
               Message: Advanced graphics data unavailable in console. Try -G --display 
    Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
               Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia driver: snd_hda_intel 
               Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.16.12-1-default 
    Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet driver: r8169 
               IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
               Card-2: Intel Wireless 3165 driver: iwlwifi 
               IF: wlp3s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
    Drives:    HDD Total Size: 111.79 GiB used: 23.65 GiB (21.2%) 
               ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: OCZ model: VERTEX460A size: 111.79 GiB 
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 40.00 GiB used: 8.51 GiB (21.3%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda3 
               ID-2: /home size: 40.00 GiB used: 8.51 GiB (21.3%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda3 
               ID-3: /opt size: 40.00 GiB used: 8.51 GiB (21.3%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda3 
               ID-4: /tmp size: 40.00 GiB used: 8.51 GiB (21.3%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda3 
               ID-5: /var size: 40.00 GiB used: 8.51 GiB (21.3%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda3 
               ID-6: swap-1 size: 4.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5 
    Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0 C mobo: 0.0 C gpu: amdgpu temp: 57 C 
               Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
    Info:      Processes: 268 Uptime: N/A Memory: 6.78 GiB used: 1.71 GiB (25.2%) Init: systemd runlevel: 5 
               Shell: bash inxi: 3.0.10
    If you create a test user and login does it duplicate?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,500

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    thanks for the feedback

    to make sure the install was correct the cmd

    inxi --recommends

    was used which showed all was in order

    from a user level the outcome is,

    hp-17-p105ng-m1<2018-05-31 15:30:00><~>... inxi -Fz
    Error 45: Error opening file: /etc/issue
    Error: Permission denied
    hp-17-p105ng-m1<2018-05-31 15:30:21><~>...

    as this happens on an hp (64bit) and toshiba (32bit) its assumed its kde related.

    inxi has been used with multiple upgrades for at least a decade with kde, but will
    look into clearing the config files in /home/<user> directory

    thanks again

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,864
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    Quote Originally Posted by keellambert View Post
    thanks for the feedback

    to make sure the install was correct the cmd

    inxi --recommends

    was used which showed all was in order

    from a user level the outcome is,

    hp-17-p105ng-m1<2018-05-31 15:30:00><~>... inxi -Fz
    Error 45: Error opening file: /etc/issue
    Error: Permission denied
    hp-17-p105ng-m1<2018-05-31 15:30:21><~>...

    as this happens on an hp (64bit) and toshiba (32bit) its assumed its kde related.

    inxi has been used with multiple upgrades for at least a decade with kde, but will
    look into clearing the config files in /home/<user> directory

    thanks again
    Hi
    As my user cannot see /etc/issue, is yours customized?

    Code:
    ~> cat /etc/issue cat: /etc/issue: Permission denied
    ~> ls -la /etc/issue lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Apr 27 11:03 /etc/issue -> ../run/issue
    
    # cat /etc/issue
    Welcome to openSUSE Tumbleweed 20180529 - Kernel \r (\l).
    
    enp2s0: \4{enp2s0} \6{enp2s0}
    Did your perl 5.26.1 update ok?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    /etc/issue is probably a link to /run/issue. Delete the link and create a /etc/issue file. Then chmod 755 /etc/issue.

    From hvcc:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...I-login-prompt
    I don’t have anything to hide, but I don’t have anything I want to show you either.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,500

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    Quote Originally Posted by d3vnull View Post
    /etc/issue is probably a link to /run/issue. Delete the link and create a /etc/issue file. Then chmod 755 /etc/issue.
    thanks for the info

    with no file /etc/issue

    inxi works as expected

    not sure what else will be effected though

    cheers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,864
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    On Thu 31 May 2018 02:36:03 PM CDT, keellambert wrote:

    d3vnull;2867573 Wrote:
    > /etc/issue is probably a link to /run/issue. Delete the link and
    > create a /etc/issue file. Then chmod 755 /etc/issue.
    >


    thanks for the info

    with no file /etc/issue

    inxi works as expected

    not sure what else will be effected though

    cheers


    Hi
    Then that would appear to be a bug in your system/setup if that's
    creating an (excuse the pun) issue...

    If you re-create the symlink now to ../run/issue does it continue to
    work?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLES 15 RC4 | GNOME Shell 3.26.2 | 4.12.14-18-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,500

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    hi Malcolm

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    If you re-create the symlink now to ../run/issue does it continue to
    work?
    if /etc/issue is there, the issue remains the same

    cheers

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,864
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: inxi: root needed to run

    On Thu 31 May 2018 04:06:03 PM CDT, keellambert wrote:

    hi Malcolm

    malcolmlewis;2867582 Wrote:
    > If you re-create the symlink now to ../run/issue does it continue to
    > work?


    if /etc/issue is there, the issue remains the same

    cheers


    Hi
    Even for a test user with a fresh login?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLES 15 RC4 | GNOME Shell 3.26.2 | 4.12.14-18-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •