Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: And it's there: Leap 15.0

  1. #11

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Every single mirror I click on to get the DVD ISO gives me an error 404. What's gone wrong? And the Live version has only one mirror? Odd.
    Tumbleweed on a Dell Inspiron 15 - 5578

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I'm not expecting any problems.

    The main reason for my delay, is that I have been running KVM under 42.3. After my experience with that, I want to start over on KVM for 15.0. However, wanted to do that final 15.0 test install before I abandon 42.3 and its KVM configuration.
    Yep, understood, even before you explained, but ... still, could not resist a "Nyah, nyah, nyah!"
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,366
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Silverclipper View Post
    Every single mirror I click on to get the DVD ISO gives me an error 404. What's gone wrong?
    It looks as if mirror-brain is having a seizure.

    When I downloaded this morning, I used "wget" to download the sha256 checksum file. And the output showed that it redirected to the Princeton mirror. But now the princeton mirror is giving a 404.

    So I tried "wget" again (for the sha256 file, since that is small). This time it redirected to "http://mirror.us.leaseweb.net/opensuse/distribution/leap/15.0/iso/openSUSE-Leap-15.0-DVD-x86_64.iso.sha256" which gave a 404.

    Something is broken.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  4. #14
    Daniel Wachter NNTP User

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Am 25.05.2018 um 19:56 schrieb nrickert:
    > The problem has been mentioned on the factory mailing list:
    > 'BitTorrent link for Leap 15'
    > (https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-.../msg00378.html)


    The Torrent works, but there is this error:

    Der Tracker hat einen Fehler gesendet: "torrent not found"

    Daniel

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,366
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    The main reason for my delay, is that I have been running KVM under 42.3.
    Just to update -- I am now running 15.0 on my main desktop. And I updated my forum signature to match.

    The biggest issue thus far, is setting up an NFS server. Yast does not know how to configure the firewall (the new firewalld) for NFS. So, for the moment, I've turned off the firewall. I'll need to revisit that at some time. My home router firewall is probably sufficient protection for now.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Just to update -- I am now running 15.0 on my main desktop. And I updated my forum signature to match.
    Thanks for the reminder.

    The biggest issue thus far, is setting up an NFS server. Yast does not know how to configure the firewall (the new firewalld) for NFS. So, for the moment, I've turned off the firewall. I'll need to revisit that at some time. My home router firewall is probably sufficient protection for now.
    The graphical 'firewall-config' utility has provision for 'nfs' and 'nfs3' services in its services list.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,366
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    The graphical 'firewall-config' utility has provision for 'nfs' and 'nfs3' services in its services list.
    Yes, it does. However, it is very unintuitive. I thought I had it all working, but my NFS clients could not connect until I stopped the firewall.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,366
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    However, it is very unintuitive.
    I tried again, and this time I got it working.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Yes, it does. However, it is very unintuitive. I thought I had it all working, but my NFS clients could not connect until I stopped the firewall.
    One of the first concepts is that it has a Runtime and Permanent configuration. For permanent configuration, changes will only be applied after restarting firewalld. I think by default interfaces are added to the restrictive 'public' zone. You can decide to use a less restrictive (eg home) zone id desired. To check which zones are active do
    Code:
    # firewall-cmd --get-active-zones
    and check allowed services (eg 'home' zone) using
    Code:
    # firewall-cmd --zone=home --list-all
    Lets assume we want to allow NFSv4 traffic for a server (port 2049)
    Code:
    # firewall-cmd --permanent --zone=home --add-service=nfs
    Restart the firewall with
    Code:
    # systemctl restart firewalld
    Now check allowed services again...
    Code:
    # firewall-cmd --zone=home --list-all
    home (active)
      target: default
      icmp-block-inversion: no
      interfaces: ppp0 eth0
      sources: 
      services: ssh mdns samba dhcpv6-client nfs
      ports: 
      protocols: 
      masquerade: no
      forward-ports: 
      source-ports: 
      icmp-blocks: 
      rich rules:
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 26-May-2018 at 20:34.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: And it's there: Leap 15.0

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I tried again, and this time I got it working.
    Good work.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •