Setup of Disk Encryption for openSUSE 15.0

Hi,

I used the last openSUSE Leap releases and had a LUKS setup with encryption. Everything was fine. Right now I try the new Leap RC and I have two problems. I am not that experienced with Linux and I don’t know if it’s my personal problem or if I found bugs.

• Now I can select LVM and Encryption, but LVM is not required for Encryption anymore. Whatever, if I try to setup this for my Aspire E 11 notebook, I have to enter my password twice during the boot procedure. First, for grub during the inital notebook splash screen. Then I can select an entry in grub and again I have to enter the password for a second time. Why is there the inital (very slow) request in grub now? How can I avoid this because my password is not that short and I don’t want to type it twice…
  • The used password, at least for the first request via grub, is based on the used keyboard layout. I guess this was a bug some leap versions ago. If I choose the English (US) keyboard layout instead of the german one during the installation setup, I can enter my password during the boot procedure without problems. Is this an (un)known bug or a problem with my notebook / setup?

Would be nice, if someone can provide a link or something so that I can get some additional information about (at least the first) bullet point.

Best regards
schelmisch

In my opinion, it is still best to use an encrypted LVM.

Yes, you can no encrypt the root partition without using an LVM. But you really need to encrypt “/home” and swap as well. Using an encrypted LVM achieves all of those.

Entering the password twice: To avoid that, you would need a separate unencrypted “/boot”. If you are using “btrfs”, it is better to not have a separate unencrypted “/boot”. If you are not using “btrfs”, then you can try that. But you would need to use the expert partitioner.