Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

  1. #1

    Default Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Hi!

    Somehow during installation I must have said not to create /home in a separate volume, because right now it shows up in my snapshots, which I'm not too happy with, since I wouldn't want to revert the content of my home directory if the system is messed up...

    Can I create the subvolume now, and get it out of the snapshots?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,285

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Show use why you think so? Do you have no home partition??

  3. #3

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    no, home is not on a separate partition. Is this what I should do, create one?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,728

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Quote Originally Posted by eiboaa View Post
    no, home is not on a separate partition. Is this what I should do, create one?
    Creating what you should already have from the beginning is a good idea IMHO, but I assume you need help here.

    But, when people, that try to help you, ask you for information, like gogalthorpe does above (he asked; show), it is friendlier and better to provide it, or give a very good reason why you don't (which could include that you do not know how to to it and ask for help to get the information). Just ignoring such a request may result in helpers going to a more promising thread.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Quote Originally Posted by eiboaa View Post
    Hi!

    Somehow during installation I must have said not to create /home in a separate volume, because right now it shows up in my snapshots, which I'm not too happy with, since I wouldn't want to revert the content of my home directory if the system is messed up...

    Can I create the subvolume now, and get it out of the snapshots?

    Thanks!
    Please show us ouput, between CODE tags, the # in the editor of
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    Since this is a fresh install I'd re-install and double check at the partitioning phase of the installer. Have 50-60GB for btrfs on /, give the rest to swap and /home to your preferences.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,285

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Even if you don't use a separate home/home should not be included in the snapper snapshots why do you think it is??

  7. #7

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    thank you all for your replies.

    First of all, apologies if it came across disrespectful, I just didn't understand what gogalthorp meant by "Show use why you think so?".

    This is the content of my /etc/fstab file:

    Code:
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /       btrfs   defaults 0 0 
    UUID=D0CE3A31CE3A1068   /windows/C      ntfs    defaults 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /var    btrfs   subvol=/@/var 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /usr/local      btrfs   subvol=/@/usr/local 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /tmp    btrfs   subvol=/@/tmp 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /srv    btrfs   subvol=/@/srv 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /opt    btrfs   subvol=/@/opt 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /boot/grub2/x86_64-efi  btrfs   subvol=/@/boot/grub2/x86_64-efi 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /boot/grub2/i386-pc     btrfs   subvol=/@/boot/grub2/i386-pc 0 0 
    UUID=C439-6DC9  /boot/efi       vfat    defaults 0 0 
    UUID=31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf       /.snapshots     btrfs   subvol=/@/.snapshots 0 0 
    UUID=25f8ff9c-2caa-4f99-ae95-bd81baf1852e       swap    swap    defaults 0 0
    This is not a fresh install, it's been like this for a few months, and I'd rather not reinstall if possible... The thing is that yesterday I started looking into snapper and learned a bit on how it works, and saw that on this computer it seems to be backing up /home. I think it is included because if I look into the snapshot directories within /.snapshot I can also see the content of my home directory.

    I didn't initially want a separate partition for home because the space for linux (I'm dual booting) is already quite small (51GB in total) and I didn't want to fragment it.

    Thanks all!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,728

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Quote Originally Posted by eiboaa View Post
    Hi!

    Somehow during installation I must have said not to create /home in a separate volume, because right now it shows up in my snapshots, which I'm not too happy with, since I wouldn't want to revert the content of my home directory if the system is messed up...

    Can I create the subvolume now, and get it out of the snapshots?

    Thanks!
    Above is your original post where you say that you did not make, for what reason, a separate /home volume. Now a volume can be a disk, a disk partition, a LVM logical Volume, a Linux RAID device, .... We assumed you mean a partition because you talk about the installation where you might have switched off a separate /home (and in the installation it is normally on a partition).

    Then you say that it "shows up in your snapshots". People asked you why you think so. Please take care that you only gave your "conclusion", but not where you conclusion is based on. We, the helpers, are a bit stubborn in that we do not believe conclusions, we only believe computer facts. So please tell us, better SHOW us why you think so. Then we can come to our own conclusions, which may help you to understand what is going on.

    Then you ask "Can I create the subvolume now, and get it out of the snapshots?". Now that is very confusing, because when there would be (or will be as you ask for) a subvolume, then in earnest /home will be subject to snapshots taken. So what you ask here is 180⁰ contrary to what you want.

    You probably want to have /home on a separte partition (as the default installation will do).

    So please:
    1. show us why you think /home is snapshotted;
    2. to increase our knowledge so we can help you in moving /home to a separate partition by showing
      Code:
      fdisk -l
      and
      Code:
      ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid
      .


    BTW, your fstab shows that you have no separate partition for /home, but it also shows no subvolume for /home, thus it is very unlikely it will be snapshotted.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9

    Post Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Then you say that it "shows up in your snapshots". So please tell us, better SHOW us why you think so.
    This is why I think it's being snapshotted, I may be wrong:
    Code:
    # ls /.snapshots/160/snapshot/home/eiboaa/
    .bash_history              Desktop     .hplip                       .ssh
    .bashrc                    Documents    bin                        Downloads             .nv          
    .cache                     .emacs      .inputrc                     .pki                         
    .color                     .esd_auth   .java                        .profile                        .thunderbird
    .config                    .fonts      .kde4                     .recently-used                  .xim.template
     .gnome      .local                        .xinitrc.template
    .cups                      .gnupg      .lyx       .y2log
    .dbus                      .gtkrc-2.0                       .y2usersettings
    if it wasn't snapshotted I would expect /.snapshots/160/snapshot/home to be empty.
    For instance

    Code:
    ls /.snapshots/160/snapshot/opt/
    returns nothing, even though /opt is not empty, so I guess /opt is not in the snapshot.

    Now, if what I wrote before is confusing it is probably because I used the term subvolume wrong, so please ignore it. What I want to achieve is that the content of /home is not in snapshots, so that I can restore a snapshot without overwriting my home. How would I go about that?

    Code:
    # fdisk -l
    Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 232.9 GiB, 250059350016 bytes, 488397168 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disklabel type: gpt
    Disk identifier: 863085FE-EB46-49D5-9133-813A33A6C855
    
    Device             Start       End   Sectors   Size Type
    /dev/nvme0n1p1      2048   1023999   1021952   499M EFI System
    /dev/nvme0n1p2   1024000   1286143    262144   128M Microsoft reserved
    /dev/nvme0n1p3   1286144 362309631 361023488 172.2G Microsoft basic data
    /dev/nvme0n1p4 483522560 488396799   4874240   2.3G Windows recovery environment
    /dev/nvme0n1p5 362309632 467193855 104884224    50G Linux filesystem
    /dev/nvme0n1p6 467193856 483522559  16328704   7.8G Linux swap
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order.
    Code:
    # ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid
    total 0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Apr  7 19:11 25f8ff9c-2caa-4f99-ae95-bd81baf1852e -> ../../nvme0n1p6
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Apr  7 19:11 31bed850-e7ff-46e0-b11d-c14433790ebf -> ../../nvme0n1p5
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Apr  7 19:11 9CA43AADA43A8A32 -> ../../nvme0n1p4                                                          
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Apr  7 19:11 C439-6DC9 -> ../../nvme0n1p1                                                                 
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Apr  7 19:11 D0CE3A31CE3A1068 -> ../../nvme0n1p3
    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,728

    Default Re: Create subvolume for /home in snapper

    Thus Swap is on nvme0n1p6 and / is on nvme0n1p5.

    Not much space left on the device.

    I hope some btrfs guru will tune in to tell you if /home is snapshotted and why.

    BTW, what is nvme0n1 fir type of device? Not the common SATA/USB mass-storage.
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •