Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VMware/Win10 bridged network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    491

    Cool VMware/Win10 bridged network

    I have an openSuSE System with VMware installed and Windows 10 inside that. I "was" able to interface with my Linux system from the Windows 10 system back and forth UNTIL some of the latest Microsoft UpDates. I have a copy of my Virtual Machine "before" the UpDates and when I reload it the networking is fine. I tried to turn off the UpDates in Win 10 but I was ignored and they got put in again.

    Have any of you experienced this -and- is there possibly a fix on our side that I haven't found yet?? I run a LinWin system. Only because of a couple of programs, Homesite, Dream Weaver and TopStyle5. I'm old and can't change my ways so I still use those to create and edit my Web Pages.

    Thanks to all,
    -Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    13,295
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VMware/Win10 bridged network

    First,
    I recommend you post in the Virtualization forum since this doesn't likely appear to be a general networking problem
    (Maybe this post should be moved).

    When you troubleshoot any network connectivity issue whether virtualized or not,
    You should run your typical commands like ip addr (on Linux) or ipconfig (on Windows), run Ping tests, and specifically for Virtualization verify your Guest Properties are set correctly.

    Also,
    Generally speaking,
    Unless you have a need for other machines to connect to your Guest,
    You should set up your Guest with NAT, not Bridging, then your Guest configured as a DHCP client will automatically work everywhere with least amount of manual configuration... especially configured to Bridging networking.
    Common network troubleshooting includes things like testing using IP addressing, name resolution, verifying your assigned and configured network address is consistent with the network it's connected to...

    If you try the above and still have problems,
    Post again but with some detail about your Guest network settings and your troubleshooting attempts.

    Also,
    Don't know what you mean by "interface." Do you mean viewing your Guest using a Guest graphic console? Connecting to your Guest using some app over a networking connection? Something else?

    HTH,
    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    491

    Cool Re: VMware/Win10 bridged network

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    First,
    I recommend you post in the Virtualization forum since this doesn't likely appear to be a general networking problem
    (Maybe this post should be moved).
    Sorry I thought it was a networking problem since I couldn't access my local machine or my other ones.

    When you troubleshoot any network connectivity issue whether virtualized or not,
    You should run your typical commands like ip addr (on Linux) or ipconfig (on Windows), run Ping tests, and specifically for Virtualization verify your Guest Properties are set correctly.
    I performed all those checks the first time I had this problem. My "fix" at that time ended up deleting the Virtual Machine and replacing it with a saved one. I set, or so I thought, the Virtual Windows 10 to NOT accept any UpDates -but- Microsoft ignored my settings.

    Also,
    Generally speaking,
    Unless you have a need for other machines to connect to your Guest,
    You should set up your Guest with NAT, not Bridging, then your Guest configured as a DHCP client will automatically work everywhere with least amount of manual configuration... especially configured to Bridging networking.
    Common network troubleshooting includes things like testing using IP addressing, name resolution, verifying your assigned and configured network address is consistent with the network it's connected to...
    I do have a need to connect to the other machines. I have my WebPages in the public_html on my Linux Home page. I am using Homesite from withing Windows to edit the files. I also use a couple other programs. I have what I call a "LinWin" machine.

    If you try the above and still have problems,
    Post again but with some detail about your Guest network settings and your troubleshooting attempts.

    Also,
    Don't know what you mean by "interface." Do you mean viewing your Guest using a Guest graphic console? Connecting to your Guest using some app over a networking connection? Something else?
    Hopefully the above explains it. I have been sharing files between the two OS's for years. -AND- it worked on this Windows 10... until these latest releases. If you look on the Web you will see that others are having the same problem. I just haven't found any fixes..... yet.

    Thanks for your time and I may have to expand my Networking Knowledge on a way to use NAT here locally.
    -Chuck
    Hmmmm... this is interesting. It claims my message is to short and 10 chars....

    HTH,
    TSU
    Oh darn... it meant outside of the quotes.

    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    13,295
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VMware/Win10 bridged network

    From your Windows machine,
    Post the results
    Code:
    ipconfig
    From your openSUSE host
    Post the following
    Code:
    ip addr
    In your Guest directory,
    The .vmx file

    Also,
    Although it's not likely an issue you should also post the application you're running (Player? Workstation? Something else?) and the version (current supported are 12 and 14).

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    491

    Cool Re: VMware/Win10 bridged network

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    From your Windows machine,
    Post the results
    Code:
    ipconfig
    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::800d:fa51:d9d9:6de9%4
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.28
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:494:842:3f57:ffe3
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::494:842:3f57:ffe3%2
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    From your openSUSE host
    Post the following
    Code:
    ip addr
    Code:
    ctaylor@Dakotah-i7:~> ip addr
    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1
        link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 34:64:a9:20:40:ee brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 192.168.0.63/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global eth0
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fe80::3664:a9ff:fe20:40ee/64 scope link 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    3: wlan3: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 80:86:f2:c6:a8:18 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    4: vmnet1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 00:50:56:c0:00:01 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 192.168.228.1/24 brd 192.168.228.255 scope global vmnet1
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 scope link 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    5: vmnet8: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 00:50:56:c0:00:08 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 172.16.253.1/24 brd 172.16.253.255 scope global vmnet8
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 scope link 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    In your Guest directory,
    The .vmx file
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/vmware
    .encoding = "UTF-8"
    config.version = "8"
    virtualHW.version = "10"
    numvcpus = "1"
    cpuid.coresPerSocket = "1"
    scsi0.present = "TRUE"
    scsi0.virtualDev = "lsisas1068"
    memsize = "2048"
    mem.hotadd = "TRUE"
    scsi0:0.present = "TRUE"
    scsi0:0.fileName = "Windows7x64.vmdk"
    ide0:0.present = "TRUE"
    ide0:0.fileName = "/dev/sr0"
    ide0:0.deviceType = "cdrom-raw"
    ide0:0.startConnected = "FALSE"
    ethernet0.present = "TRUE"
    ethernet0.connectionType = "bridged"
    ethernet0.virtualDev = "e1000"
    ethernet0.wakeOnPcktRcv = "FALSE"
    ethernet0.addressType = "generated"
    usb.present = "TRUE"
    ehci.present = "TRUE"
    sound.present = "TRUE"
    sound.startConnected = "TRUE"
    sound.virtualDev = "hdaudio"
    sound.fileName = "-1"
    sound.autodetect = "TRUE"
    mks.enable3d = "FALSE"
    serial0.present = "TRUE"
    serial0.fileType = "thinprint"
    pciBridge0.present = "TRUE"
    pciBridge4.present = "TRUE"
    pciBridge4.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
    pciBridge4.functions = "8"
    pciBridge5.present = "TRUE"
    pciBridge5.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
    pciBridge5.functions = "8"
    pciBridge6.present = "TRUE"
    pciBridge6.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
    pciBridge6.functions = "8"
    pciBridge7.present = "TRUE"
    pciBridge7.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
    pciBridge7.functions = "8"
    vmci0.present = "TRUE"
    hpet0.present = "TRUE"
    usb.vbluetooth.startConnected = "TRUE"
    displayName = "Windows10x64"
    guestOS = "windows9-64"
    nvram = "Windows7x64.nvram"
    virtualHW.productCompatibility = "hosted"
    powerType.powerOff = "hard"
    powerType.powerOn = "hard"
    powerType.suspend = "hard"
    powerType.reset = "hard"
    extendedConfigFile = "Windows7x64.vmxf"
    ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:0c:29:4d:c3:cf"
    vmci0.id = "-1664301038"
    uuid.location = "56 4d 66 c9 ad 28 1d 70-0c 37 63 b8 47 4d c3 cf"
    uuid.bios = "56 4d 66 c9 ad 28 1d 70-0c 37 63 b8 47 4d c3 cf"
    cleanShutdown = "FALSE"
    replay.supported = "FALSE"
    replay.filename = ""
    scsi0:0.redo = ""
    pciBridge0.pciSlotNumber = "17"
    pciBridge4.pciSlotNumber = "21"
    pciBridge5.pciSlotNumber = "22"
    pciBridge6.pciSlotNumber = "23"
    pciBridge7.pciSlotNumber = "24"
    scsi0.pciSlotNumber = "160"
    usb.pciSlotNumber = "32"
    ethernet0.pciSlotNumber = "33"
    sound.pciSlotNumber = "34"
    ehci.pciSlotNumber = "35"
    vmci0.pciSlotNumber = "36"
    scsi0.sasWWID = "50 05 05 69 ad 28 1d 70"
    usb:1.present = "TRUE"
    ethernet0.generatedAddressOffset = "0"
    tools.remindInstall = "FALSE"
    vmotion.checkpointFBSize = "33554432"
    usb:1.speed = "2"
    usb:1.deviceType = "hub"
    usb:1.port = "1"
    usb:1.parent = "-1"
    tools.syncTime = "FALSE"
    softPowerOff = "FALSE"
    toolsInstallManager.updateCounter = "21"
    usb.autoConnect.device0 = ""
    mainmem.useNamedFile = "FALSE"
    serial0.startConnected = "FALSE"
    checkpoint.vmState = ""
    monitor.phys_bits_used = "40"
    migrate.hostlog = "./Windows7x64-07ac7cfe.hlog"
    vm.genid = "-1859385405837972435"
    vm.genidX = "-1799833197867695149"
    numa.autosize.vcpu.maxPerVirtualNode = "1"
    numa.autosize.cookie = "10001"
    toolsInstallManager.lastInstallError = "0"
    ide1:0.present = "FALSE"
    floppy0.present = "FALSE"
    usb:0.present = "TRUE"
    usb:0.deviceType = "hid"
    usb:0.port = "0"
    usb:0.parent = "-1"
    unity.wasCapable = "TRUE"
    Also,
    Although it's not likely an issue you should also post the application you're running (Player? Workstation? Something else?) and the version (current supported are 12 and 14).

    TSU
    Hi TSU2, Sorry I don't know or remember your name, but here is the info you requested. AND I must say that it is NOT the copy that doesn't work. I read your message AFTER I dumped the bumb one and replaced it with my UN-updated copy. I have since found some info that Microsoft themselves have produced a program that will let you be selective on UpDates:
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/block-...-in-windows-10
    and
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ling-in-window

    Thanks for your concern and help,
    -Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    13,295
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VMware/Win10 bridged network

    First,
    In the Windows Update section, you can configure blocking specific updates. No script needed unless you prefer to use a script that issues the specific blocking command you want.

    You might be interested that one of my Win10 machines (not virtualized) this month received a Patch Tuesday update this month(Apr 10 2018) that killed web browsers' use of DNS. Everything else besides web browsers worked, including using IP addresses and using nslookup to query DNS servers, even populating the name cache. Even using an alternate web browser and cache (using the Tor Browser Bundle) worked. Only solution was to roll back the machine to prior to Apr 10, 2018 using VSS restore points, uninstalling the patch did not fix the problem.

    Regarding this month's MS Security patch (Patch Tuesday), there has been plenty of speculation and advice about removing or replacing the NIC drivers, but at least my personal investigation revealed the problem is a very specific part of the MS TCP/IP stack (Web browsers accessing the name cache) so would not be related to any NIC drivers. I can only speculate that maybe for some installing new NIC drivers might re-install the stack, but who knows for them... I only know what I saw on my machine.

    If you suffered what I'm describing, no amount of troubleshooting would have helped.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •