Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: no sound after installing software from Packman

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil - MG
    Posts
    66

    Default no sound after installing software from Packman

    After installation of multimidia packages from Packman repositories I lost the sound. The sound was working fine before that. The first thing I tried was to uninstall or reinstall all packages changing the provider to openSUSE when possible, but it did not work. The packages are listed bellow

    Code:
    k3b  ffmpeg  lame  phonon-backend-vlc  phonon4qt5-backend-vlc  vlc-codecs  libdvdcss2  libxine2 
    h264enc  x264  x265  gstreamer-0_10-plugins-bad  gstreamer-0_10-plugins-bad-orig-addon
    gstreamer-0_10-plugins-base  gstreamer-0_10-plugins-ffmpeg  gstreamer-0_10-plugins-good
    gstreamer-0_10-plugins-good-extra  gstreamer-0_10-plugins-ugly  gstreamer-0_10-fluendo-mp3
    gstreamer-plugins-libav
    My system is:
    Code:
    # uname -a
    Linux linux-7l6l 4.4.120-45-default #1 SMP Wed Mar 14 20:51:49 UTC 2018 (623211f) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Looking in yast2 sound configuration there are two sound devices: 9 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller as device "0" and GM204 High Definition Audio Controller, as "Not configured", but my alsa information script says that both are installed (it may be found in http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=54...dc8ef0f869964f).

    Also looking in VLC menu Audio/Audio Device I see only one option for GM204 High Definition Audio Controller Digital Stereo (HDMI).

    The output of lspci, amixer and aplay are shown bellow:

    Code:
    # lspci -nn | grep -i audio
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 9 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller [8086:8ca0]
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GM204 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0fbb] (rev a1)
    Code:
    # amixer
    Simple mixer control 'Master',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Playback 0 - 65536
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback 52429 [80%] [on]
      Front Right: Playback 52429 [80%] [on]
    Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
      Capabilities: cvolume cswitch cswitch-joined
      Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Capture 0 - 65536
      Front Left: Capture 10589 [16%] [off]
      Front Right: Capture 10589 [16%] [off]
    Code:
    \
    # aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC1150 Analog [ALC1150 Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC1150 Digital [ALC1150 Digital]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    I have tried to install the nVidia drivers but, after many trials and tribulations I gave up and stick to the nouveau drivers for now. So I am thinking that the nVidia sound device is not working because the drivers are not installed. I just do not understand why the motherboard sound device is not working.

    At this point I am tempted to reinsntall the system again...


    I thank you in advance for any help anyone can offer. It will be very much appreciated!
    Leap 15.1 KDE5.55.0 Gigabyte H97-D3H i7-4790 3.60GHz 16Gb GTX 970 HP LaserJet 1020 Flatron E2350V

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil - MG
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    Sorry!

    I forgot to say that the test sound the 9Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller works fine and I can hear the music.

    Thanks!
    Leap 15.1 KDE5.55.0 Gigabyte H97-D3H i7-4790 3.60GHz 16Gb GTX 970 HP LaserJet 1020 Flatron E2350V

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil - MG
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    Ok. I solved the problem in yast2 sound configuration settings. I took some time to understand why the sound test played fine but the sound player applications did not. I simply had to define the motherboard sound device as the main sound device...

    I beg your pardon for bothering you.
    Leap 15.1 KDE5.55.0 Gigabyte H97-D3H i7-4790 3.60GHz 16Gb GTX 970 HP LaserJet 1020 Flatron E2350V

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil - MG
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    Quote Originally Posted by belzonte View Post
    Ok. I solved the problem in yast2 sound configuration settings. I took some time to understand why the sound test played fine but the sound player applications did not. I simply had to define the motherboard sound device as the main sound device...

    I beg your pardon for bothering you.

    OK, forget the previous message. Today morning I started may computer and the sound was losta again. I tried setting the mother boadr sound card as the main sound device, but this time nothing happens...

    I am without sound again...

    If some one can help me I would be very thankfull!
    Leap 15.1 KDE5.55.0 Gigabyte H97-D3H i7-4790 3.60GHz 16Gb GTX 970 HP LaserJet 1020 Flatron E2350V

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    You were talking about nouveau and nvidia and that confused me. The nvidia in the context of your audio configuration is for HDMI. Are you attempting to obtain sound via HDMI ?

    What test are you using to assess your sound is working or not working?

    You also noted sound worked in YaST test sound but did not work otherwise. Sometimes that indicates a permission problem, but given your ON again, OFF again reporting about sound functionality, one other speculative cause of an intermittent sound issue is the HDMI device and Analogue device switching randomly when booting.

    Please, if sound is not working, run that diagnostic script ( /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh ) as a regular user and again share the URL/web address here.
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil - MG
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    First of all, I am gratefull for your help!

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    You were talking about nouveau and nvidia and that confused me. The nvidia in the context of your audio configuration is for HDMI. Are you attempting to obtain sound via HDMI ?
    .
    Well, as I said in a previous message, when I click on the "Audio>Audio device" option on the VLC menu I see "GM204 High Definition Audio Controller Digital Stereo (HDMI)". Since I disabled the nVidia option I see now "Internal Audio Analogic Surround 5.1". The driver for both devices is snd-hda-intel.

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    What test are you using to assess your sound is working or not working?
    .
    I am using "yast2>hardware>sound>run" sound test. I am also trying to play a mp3 file with VLC. Actually none of the options produce any sound. Yesterday I could hear the test sound from yast2 but no sound in VLC or other application. After some trials I could hear VLC playng music and I thought the problem was gone, but today morning the sound was gone.

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Please, if sound is not working, run that diagnostic script ( /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh ) as a regular user and again share the URL/web address here.
    .
    HTML Code:
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=12b0051b9e2d598a3872f1a51d0ad168db34dfc6


    Thanks for your help. I hope you can shed some light on this problem.

    I think that I will have to re-install Leap 42.3 again and try to install the midia codecs and add-ons. I must be getting old 'cause it never took so many tribulations to install a new version. I am using linux since 2000 and SUSE since version 8.1 (2005?).

    Thank you.
    Leap 15.1 KDE5.55.0 Gigabyte H97-D3H i7-4790 3.60GHz 16Gb GTX 970 HP LaserJet 1020 Flatron E2350V

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil - MG
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    I am posting the output of the pavucontrol command. There is a lot of Gtk warnings that may help to solve the problem:

    Code:
    # pavucontrol
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:68:35: The style proper
    ty GtkButton:child-displacement-x is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will b
    e removed in a future version
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:69:35: The style proper
    ty GtkButton:child-displacement-y is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will b
    e removed in a future version
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:70:34: The style proper
    ty GtkCheckButton:indicator-size is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will be
     removed in a future version
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:71:36: The style proper
    ty GtkCheckMenuItem:indicator-size is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will 
    be removed in a future version
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:73:46: The style proper
    ty GtkScrolledWindow:scrollbars-within-bevel is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore
    . It will be removed in a future version
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:76:30: The style proper
    ty GtkExpander:expander-size is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will be rem
    oved in a future version
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:83:29: The style proper
    ty GtkStatusbar:shadow-type is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will be remo
    ved in a future version
    
    Leap 15.1 KDE5.55.0 Gigabyte H97-D3H i7-4790 3.60GHz 16Gb GTX 970 HP LaserJet 1020 Flatron E2350V

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    Quote Originally Posted by belzonte View Post
    Well, as I said in a previous message, when I click on the "Audio>Audio device" option on the VLC menu I see "GM204 High Definition Audio Controller Digital Stereo (HDMI)". Since I disabled the nVidia option I see now "Internal Audio Analogic Surround 5.1".
    For all I know this could be a vlc specific issue. I do not recommend using vlc to test if one's basic sound is functioning.

    Quote Originally Posted by belzonte View Post
    I am using "yast2>hardware>sound>run" sound test. I am also trying to play a mp3 file with VLC.
    ...
    I could hear the test sound from yast2 but no sound in VLC or other application.
    Again, this could be a VLC issue. Which 'other' application? VLC is not good for testing basic audio - and I since you don't name the other application, I can't say if they are also misconfigured.

    Try a basic test , such as copying/pasting the following into a konsole/xterm (as a regular user) :
    Code:
    aplay -D hw:0,0 -vv /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    Do you hear anything? Do you get any errors in the konsole/xterm?

    If no sound, try the same but this time with root permissions? Does that yield any sound? Again, any errors in the konsole/xterm.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    Quote Originally Posted by belzonte View Post
    I am posting the output of the pavucontrol command. There is a lot of Gtk warnings that may help to solve the problem:

    Code:
    # pavucontrol
    
    (pavucontrol:2261): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk.css:68:35: The style proper
    ty GtkButton:child-displacement-x is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will b
    e removed in a future version
    
    I think unrelated.

    Quote Originally Posted by belzonte View Post

    HTML Code:
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=12b0051b9e2d598a3872f1a51d0ad168db34dfc6

    I note this in the dmesg:
    Code:
    [   10.696090] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: can't find IRQ for PCI INT A; probably buggy MP table
    [   10.696115] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: can't find IRQ for PCI INT B; probably buggy MP table
    [   10.696118] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Disabling MSI
    That might indicate another problem. That is not an nominal entry.

    Again - please try sound tests that I recommended above.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: no sound after installing software from Packman

    I note also your PC has an ALC1150 ... recently a user was trying to get HDMI sound working (different from you) where their PC had an ALC1150. They ended up writing a bug report.

    The solution? They had to 'kick start' it by booting to another OS .... You can read about it here: https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...dia-HDMI/page2 in post #64 and #65 in that thread.

    I suspect thou, their problem is very different, as their 'dmesg' in the script output had no similar errors.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •