Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: problems connecting usb card reader/usb stick/hard drives

Default problems connecting usb card reader/usb stick/hard drives

Hi all, I'm new to Suse, have come from Linux Mint. I am having problems with connecting card readers with CF cards, USB sticks to my computer, once plugged, I select open with file manager and then I get an error message pop up saying malformed URL, if I close that and then open Dolphin I find that the reader is mounted and available and its contents can be read. Is there a way to set my system up to to stop the error message and to also allow the card reader to remain visable in Dolphins menu once it has been safely removed so I can just click on it to remount rather than having to unplug and then plug in again to make it visible? I have a similar problem with internal extra hard drives, when I try to open them I get the message ' An error occurred while accessing 'Home', the system responded: The device is already mounted: Device /dev/sdb1 is already mounted at `/run/media/aj/drive2'.' I'm running Tumbleweed, everything else, Nvidia, Broadcom wireless etc seems to work OK now after a little fiddling around. Processor is an Intel 5930K, mobo is Asus x99 delux with 32 gb memory. Any help gratefully received but I please remember that this system is totally new to me. Adrian

Default Re: problems connecting usb card reader/usb stick/hard drives

Hello and welcome to the openSUSE forums.
    ... I select open with file manage ...
    probably means that you use a desktop. Which one (KDE, Gnome, ......)
    It also probably means you get a pop-up from where you make that choice "Open with file manager". Is that correct?
    Henk van Velden

Yes, I'm using KDE Plasma desktop, sorry for the omission.

Adrian