Graphics Card - Nvidia update

Hi,

I recently set up a brand new computer and set up the graphics card from SDB:NVIDIA drivers - openSUSE Wiki

YaST

1. Open YaST, then click Software Repositories.
  2. Click Add (in the bottom left), then select Community Repositories.
  3. Select NVIDIA Graphics Drivers, then click OK.
  4. Go back to the YaST Control Center and click Software Management.
  5. View > Repositories > NVIDIA
  6. Choose the appropriate driver: x11-video-nvidiaG02, x11-video-nvidiaG03 or x11-video-nvidiaG04
  7. Press Accept.
  8. Restart your computer.

It worked well but then as I am a noob, I got lost in other installations and to resolve the situation, re partitioned my hard disk and reinstall Leap 42.3 in the hope that I can get back to where I was before the failed installation.

After the re-installation, from the YaST instructions above, I got to step 2 but was unable to select Nvidia Graphics Driver in Step 3. I think the problem is that the “Window” is truncated - I saw part of the contents and didn’t get to see the whole window contents. The last line I was able to see was “Download repository description files” I couldn’t see the “OK” although the window was maximised. I can try the zypper options as a workaround but I am curious why this occurs when it was perfectly fine during the first installation.

Thanks for help!

In KDE/Plasma, you can also move a window by holding the Alt key and click-drag anywhere on the window.
That way you should be able to move it up and reach the thins at the bottom even if it’s too large to fit the screen.

Or run YaST in “text mode”, e.g. by typing “sudo yast” into konsole or xterm.

I can try the zypper options as a workaround but I am curious why this occurs when it was perfectly fine during the first installation.

Maybe you used “nomodeset” during installation, or are booting to “recovery mode”?
Or maybe there are remnants of the nvidia driver left, was this a completely fresh installation?